We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful locations in need or Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful locations in need or Renovation”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is our second visit to this property. The location is exceptional accross the street from Lido Key Beach and just a short walk to St. Armands circle. We enjoyed both. We stayed in one of the suites on the 7th floor Beautiful panaramic view of the beach. The service in all areas was good. The property in very dated and over due for renovation which we were told would begin very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you and we are pleased you enjoyed our location and the great views from the seventh floor. We are working to improve and will do our best to keep our guests informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    422
    203
    83
    47
See reviews for
322
455
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for four days to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel was very clean and especially our room. Kara and Adam at the front desk were really great. They made sure everything was perfect especially for our anniversary. They added a special touch. The Rooftop restaurant had a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. The name of the chef was Paul and he was very nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights, had a balcony facing the water, it's almost like being on the beach which is just across the street and it is not a busy street, which for the whole area pedestrians have the right away and they do stop for you. Looking at the maps etc it looks like you have to walk away to get to St Armands but you don't. The map crossing a bridge is really just a canal, it's no more then 2 blocks to all of the shopping etc, especially if you go out the back door across the parking lot. The hotel was very clean and all of the employees very friendly. We went last week, I don't know if it was a seasonal thing but I parked under the tree and the next morning the car was completely covered in some kind of crystal sugar looking substance. We won't eat at the rooftop restaurant-too expensive and bland tasting food-had breakfast the 1st morning.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonl33333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I struggled with rating this hotel as it has so many great things that stop it being average but the hotel is in dire need of some TLC in the rooms, especially the bathrooms. I would echo what other people have said as its in a beautiful location that's perfect for the beach, pool and if you stay on the each side its a fantastic view especially for the sunsets. The shopping / eating area at St Armands is 5 mins walk, the hotel staff are lovely so with a bit of a make over these tired rooms and bathrooms would turn it from an average to an excellent. As it was with the tired decor and battered furniture its hard for the housekeeping staff to make it pristine as there is little they can do in the bathroom, frayed carpet and ripped curtains
I believe they are planning a modernisation later this year so check when you book as it will make all of the difference

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view as this will make a world of difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are working on the TLC - making those improvements that will greatly enhance your experience of our hotel. We do hope you decide to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are only halfway thru our stay and we are so happy we chose this hotel. The folks here will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. The road in front of the hotel is not a busy street so crossing to the beach is a breeze. If you tire of the beach, the tiki bar and pool are very relaxing. We are so close to st Armand's circle, that we have eaten there every evening so far. This beach and location couldn't be better and our room is exceptional! Make sure you get a beach front room, the sunsets are spectacular!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front for the sunset and coffee on the balcony in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireside3351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and there is only one issue that we had that could be easily resolved. There is no fan for ventilation in the bathroom thus the mirror was covered in steam after our showers. This was the only problem..everything else was wonderful. The location, staff, food and nice to have beach chairs available in the lobby as well as big towels for guests. We would definitely return knowing that this is an older property lacking in colorful upgrades, but it has character.

Room Tip: Always ask for and get high floor gulf front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location!

If you are planning a Florida vacation, I highly recommend the Holiday Inn @ Lido Beach. I'll start of by saying this place is not a resort. If that's what you are looking for, keep looking. It is relatively basic hotel with some minor condition issue common with a beach hotel. Being a Holiday Inn, it is dependably clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. The staff was pleasant and professional. Paul at the front desk gave us dead-on dinner recommendations. What made this hotel a great choice is its location. It is on one of the prettiest beaches I've seen in Florida. There was a ton of wildlife. We watched dolphins from the shore and sting rays race in between swimmers. The water was clear and clean looking. Just beautiful! The hotel is also within easy walking distance of a pretty boutique shopping district. Lots of great dinning options, and every meal we had there was delicious! It was great to enjoy ourselves and not have to worry about parking or driving home. The hotel was decent, but we will come back for the location. A microwave and fridge in the room would have been great, as eating out every meal is expensive and not particularly healthy. The hotel dinning area looked only so-so and we went elsewhere. Spring a few extra dollars for an ocean side balcony. The view was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cackleberry-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,104 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
206 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing