We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are they really going to remodel this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had a three night stay here for a conference at the first part of February and find this one of the strangest renovations for a hotel I’ve ever seen.

First, I have to mention the staff is great and they are trying to make do with what they have. The breakfast crew was great, things were brought out fast, friendly, and efficiently.

Now onto the bad. This hotel looks to have been built in the 70’s and was probably last remodeled in the late 80’s from the décor. It is worn out, from loose tiles in the lobby, A/C systems in conference rooms that couldn’t keep proper temperature, rooms that have overdone stucco walls that needed scraping, worn out & dirty carpets, completely worn out bathroom, etc. And to top this all off, the room rate was near $200 a night for this. This property should have been closed down for a few months and completely gutted & redone from ground up, or at least redone one complete floor at a time.

But during my stay it appears that they are going to try to do something on the cheap and not really carry out the renovations this property really needs. The parking lot was full of shipping containers, which you would expect for something being remodeled.

The last day of my stay the interior designer showed up with a work crew and they started unloading the furniture from the containers. I was thinking they must of finished some floors which would be a big plus and it would be interesting to see. No, they started moving in all of the new furniture into all of the floors, and my room was one of them tagged to be done the next day.

OK, my room needed to be completely gutted, even the sliding door was in bad shape. But they were going to move the new furniture in and subject it to damage moving it out again to do the rest of the work? It didn’t make sense unless their plan is to not do the rest of the work, or they are sure making a lot of double work for the crews. Even if all they were going to do was paint, carpet & furniture you usually do the paint first, not the furniture.

I’m hoping that they had some situation where they had to reduce the amount of containers in the parking lot and they really are going to gut each floor. They could of rented self- storage units or a warehouse to store it off site if that was the case. I didn’t see much other work going on or work crews on site like painters, which didn’t leave me a positive feeling that they were going to do more than the furniture.

Until this hotel is fully remodeled, I’d stay at a different property.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel until it is remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MFRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We regret that your stay was disrupted by our furniture moving. We assure you that was only to get the containers out of our parking lot. We fully intend a complete remodel of the property, with as little disruption to guests as is possible. We will have a property as special as our location and our team by the end of the year. We do encourage you to give us a call regarding our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. However, it is a seedy, run down example of a hotel where very little money is being spent to keep it clean and modern.
The rooms are dark, somewhat dirty, and old fashioned. The bathroom alone is a good reason to look elsewhere. We had bugs on the sink, mold on the floor, etc.
During our stay, the hotel lost electricity for over three hours. In addition, if you are not in the parking lot by 7:00 pm you will probably not find a space for your car.
I am surprised that Holiday Inn executives have not stepped in to either correct the physical liabilities of this hotel or remove their banner.
My advise; go elsewhere!















I will say the staff is friendly and cooperative. But they can not make up for a hotel that should not even carry the Holiday Inn banner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyBethanyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are in process of addressing the condition of the property at this time. And look forward to presenting a new face to all of our guests very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Another return trip to St Armands and the Holiday Inn.

Beautiful views again from the Gulf view room. Our room was ok, clean and quiet. There was a wedding at the hotel when we stayed, but we didn't notice them. Staff are good especially around the pool and the bar.

The contractors were moving in when we stayed in Oct 2013 so hopefully the rooms will be a little better if we return again later this year.

Bar menu is good with a BBQ during the day, restaurant views great for breakfast. Worth having a Holiday Inn buffet breakfast at least once during your stay just for the view of the beach as the sun comes up.

Once again I fully recommend this hotel, even if it is a little dated it's still one of my favourites!

Room Tip: Gulf view, a few floors up. Check out the sunset time and stand on the balcony before going out in S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Che77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you. We have made progress since the fall, and are working to make the property as special as its team and location. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We spent our last 3 nights in Florida at this hotel mainly for its location close to the beach and St Armand's square. There were no rooms with sea views available so we were at the back of hotel which meant we never had any sun in our room. The room size was ok but in bad need of updating( the hotel is going through renovations), it was clean but dull. The pool was great and the staff were all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We regret that we have not completed all renovations as of yet. We are working hard to make this a great hotel for you! We do look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff at this location are truly wonderful, it is like coming home each March. At the front desk there is a wonderful lady by the name of Jean Ade who has taken excellent care of us for years. We absolutely love her!!

The Sunday Brunch is marvelous - with a terrific wait staff who carters to all your needs.The negative about this resturant is the morning buffet never changes its menu - this needs to be addressed. Over all this restaurant is very good with a staff that are truly the best - warm, caring and very efficient!!

Also we must mention the people who took care of our rooms; they did a wonderful job - we were very pleased with all of them.

Over the years we have seen many things change - we lost the gift shop as well as, the van that used to drive us short distances - a wonderful plus for everyone. However we do have a love for this lovely little hotel and its warm, welcoming staff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellowsnowdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The staff was wonderful, hotel was very clean--however the bathroom was so small you had to side step in there. We had an end room so maybe it was smaller than the others. View of the ocean is magnificent .

Room Tip: Do not get an end room and not sure if it's worth the extra charge for an ocean view since in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Great! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were at the Holiday Inn for three nights at the end of January. The reason we chose to stay at this hotel again was ONLY for the location. I reviewed this hotel after staying over Christmas in 2010 and I’m sorry to say that it has just gotten worse. The hotel is supposedly undergoing a renovation, but that doesn’t excuse the room they gave us; the room simply should not have been in the rotation.

The bed was comfortable enough but everything else about the room was grungy and dirty with old beat-up furniture. The bathroom was the worst. The vanity appeared to be held together by layers of caulk. Broken tiles on the baseboards, moldy shower stall. Just not good. The lobby was fine; the lobby bar never seemed open. Since we were visiting family we didn’t use the restaurant or the pool facilities.

The location of the hotel is still great – a short walk to St. Armand’s Circle and across the street from beautiful Lido beach. Our unfortunate room did have a spectacular view of the gulf – but we had opted for the gulf view and paid extra for this. If you choose to stay, make sure you ask for, and get, a renovated room!

Room Tip: As for a renovated room overlooking the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

We are working hard to improve our hotel for our guests. This includes updating our guest bathrooms as well. We know that you will see a difference upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
963 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £175 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing