We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but desperately needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, but desperately needs attention”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

While the location of the hotel is great, (across the street from Lido beach and within walking distance from St. Armand's Circle), the hotel itself is in poor condition.
The check in was easy, (I used my Priority Club points for a quick family get-away), and was given a "deluxe room" with a city view. I was a bit disappointed when I saw that their definition of "deluxe" simply meant that the room had a mini-fridge. Not a big deal, but then my wife discovered several pubic hairs throughout the bathroom. In the hotel's defense, I didn't contact the front office about the cleanliness, (when just ended a long drive and just wanted to rest).
That night we learned the the bedding was cheap and felt as if it had been washed in salt water.
We tried to make the best of it, but the next time we are in the Lido area - we are definitely going with another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drufasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2009
Thank you for your comments. I regret to learn that your room had cleanliness issues. Let us assure you that is not our standard or expectation. We are in process now of updating the property, including replacing all beds. We are working to make the most of our location and earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    407
    198
    82
    42
See reviews for
306
443
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights for my husbands 30th, I emailed the manager and asked for a room on a high floor and for a fridge to be in our room. The check-in was fine, and the room was on a high floor but no fridge so I rang reception and a fridge was brought up straight away. I asked at reception for two champagne glasses and she was very helpful and wished my husband a happy birthday and gave two small bottles of champagne someone had given to her, this was a nice touch. The room was slightly dated and the bathroom was tiny, the balcony needs some TCL as does the outside of the hotel it's ugly, the location and the views of the beach were fantastic, pay the extra for a sea view room. I really hope the holiday inn completes a face lift of this hotel this was not a cheap hotel to stay in but looks very cheap. It is only a five minute walk around the corner to Armands Circle, where you will find some lovely restaurants and try the ice cream at kilwin's it was so good. On our first day we went to sit by the pool, we were told my a women at the gate to the pool entrance there was filming going on and could we please keep this in mind and stay at one end of the pool! We found two chairs and sure enough filming was taken place in the one and only pool and all you could hear was the directer "the Dude" telling his crew where to stand, jump and splash as they jumped in the pool and no we couldn't go in the pool. Even though it was funny to watch as this was a low budget film it had the comic factor, but in the heat of the afternoon sun we just wanted to get in the pool without getting dirty looks, the pool was not big enough for filming and for it to be open to paying guests. We went back in the hotel for a drink and when we entered the pool entrance we were told to wait as they were filming, to this my husband asked how long and the man said 5 minutes, my husband told him we were on holiday and didn't want to stand and wait to go sit by the pool, so he let us in and they hadn't even started filming they were too busy telling each other where to stand, jump splash! Stay at the hotel for location and views.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo25neal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2009
Thank you for sharing your experiences with our hotel. Perhaps you will be in the film! We are working hard to improve our facility for our guests, and know you will see a difference on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Myself and my husband stayed here in march '09, i was pregnant so we needed somewhere close to amenities etc. Great location, beach oppsoite hotel is lovely, sea great for swimming, and views and sunset fab. The hotel give free sun chairs for beach ona first come basis, so get them early but very handy. We loved that it was a 5 min walk to St Armands circle, with great restaurants (a little pricey compared to if you drive into sarasota), but at least you can stroll back to hotel and also have a drink and not worry about the car.
The receptionists at the hotel were not awfully friendly, and bordered on rude. The rooms were better than i expected after reading reviews, we also had a balcony sea view which was nice. Room could do with updating, but was clean. Had a fridge which was a bonus.
For the money you are paying, and it was pricey, the hotel and rooms are not worth it, but the location is. so thats the toss up. While the stay was really enjoyable, we stayed in 6 hotels in florida, and this was the most basic, but not the cheapest, however would recommend for location, beach, etc, pool ok not very big, but fine. Just don't expect great comfort or luxury!.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your March stay. We are currently working to improve the hotel, and know you will be pleased if your travels bring you this way again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

The hotel is older but has been remodeled nicely. This is as close to the beach as you can get on Lido Key for any kind of reasonable rate. St Armands is full of great shops and restaurants - all in walking distance. The value here is great - its not a high-end beach resort but you get prime beach and night-life access.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_and_GFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 30 May 2009
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with our property. We are working to improve the guest experience in our hotel, and will continue to provide you the best value on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The hotel is a little outdated and could use some remodeling, but it's right across the street from the beach and with walking distance of the main circle where shopping/restaurants are located. The pool is nice and has a pool side bar which is always nice! Definitely reasonably priced, especially if you can settle for a room on the non beach view side.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfmitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 30 May 2009
Thank you for your compliments! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are working to improve the guest experience in our hotel, and will continue to provide you the best value on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

You can't get a better location then this! The beach is beautiful and the view from our room was great. St. Armands circle just a short walk. But..... There when we came back late and were getting ready for bed, we found a roach on the table, and then later 2 more on the wall, between that and the Air condition not working very well, made for a sleepless night. The rooms are in need of a good cleaning and paint too. We also noticed several people from the beach walking through the gate and using the pool that were obviously not hotel guests, but the staff did nothing. When I complained about the roaches, I received a $50 credit for my room and the front desk lady was very nice and apologetic. The place has so much potential, the have a 5 star location and a 1 star hotel. I also think that dinner was very good in their restaurant, and the view was amazing. But now I wander if there are roaches in the dinning room as well, and I am sure there are. The food was great but the furniture in the restaurant, horrible! They need new management, to come in and clean it up. Someone that can see the gem in the mess and fix it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridalocal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2009
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our hotel. It is very unfortunate that you had a bad experience with the accommodation, and we want to assure you that your's is not the usual for this property. We are working to improve the hotel, and know you will be pleased if your travels bring you this way again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at this Holiday Inn using points for two nights. The location of this hotel is terrific within about a 5 minute walk from St. Armand's Circle. Considering how difficult it is to park anywhere near St. Armand's Circle or the beach on the weekends, being able to park at the hotel and walk was nice. The hotel is located directly across a two lane road from Lido Beach. The road isn't very busy and is easy to cross. Lido is relatively quiet compared to some other beaches along the west coast especially on weekdays. The hotel provides free beach chairs and towels to take out to the beach (first come, first serve). It's a nice extra. We were upgraded to a gulf front room upon our arrival. The room is a decent size and includes a 27" TV, table and chairs, coffee maker. No refrigerator in the room. There are some plastic chairs on the balcony which is a nice spot to enjoy the sunset. Housekeeping was very good. Room decor wasn't anything upscale, but appropriate for the setting. Free high speed internet service is included. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
Thank you for your kind remarks of our hotel - we are especially happy to hear from our Priority Club guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing