We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B-E-A-utiful Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a B-E-A-utiful Hotel!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at this hotel, we were made welcome and the check - in was fast. We were offered help with our luggage. The hotel pools were fantastic and we loved walking on the beach and swimming in the sea. This hotel has a fantastic gift shop and every saturday night there is a buffet with live music in the lounge. The food is also great in this hotel. (We had Breakfast and Lunch) This hotel is just minutes away from the heart of Sarasota and St Armands Circle, which is a great place for shopping. This is the perfect hotel for a family holiday.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    552
    306
    117
    75
See reviews for
480
541
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When decided on this hotel last minute. First let me start off with the good. GREAT location. The beach is essentially part of the hotel. The pools are excellent and has a great tiki bar. If you looking for something convenient to the beach a great price this is it. We went here with 3 small children. Rooms were average size.

The bad!!! As soon as we walked into our room we got hit with a big dose of mildew. I guess its to be expected being in a hotel by the beach. We found black mold on some of the reading material left in the room and in some corners near the bath room. Fortunately we only slept in the room and didn't spend any significant time in it.

Aside from the bad we had a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Old Florida at its best. Next to a wild life area and one mile to up scale shopping. You can not beat the location on Lido Key.

Large rooms with baloneys that over look the Gulf of Mexico. Heated pools! Tiki bar and restaurant. Laundry room, Ping-Pong and shuffle board.
We rented bikes from the hotel and within a couple of minutes were at the famous St Armands Circle. We also rented kayaks, paddle boards and a catamaran.

No need to fill your car with beach stuff as everything is there for you. A small fee for umbrellas but chairs and towels are free.

Clean beach, spotless hotel and friendly staff make this a great choice when in Sarasota FL.

Room Tip: We prefer the top floor as the view of the Gulf is the best from here. They also have a lot of hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights recently. We chose it for the cheaper than other rates. As previous people have commented, place is in desperate need of updating. Kinda felt like we were back in the 70s but it was not a big deal. Room was clean and had a view of the water. Liked having a fridge in the room. Only drawback was that we shared a deck with our neighbors who were loud and obnoxious. Would have preferred private balcony. A little leary about eating in their restaurant but the food was delicious. Pools were clean and spacious. Not really in walking distance of St Armands, but a very short drive. Lounge reminded us of Howard Johnsons with dark paneling and naugahyde bar but loved the bartender and drinks were well made. Definately would go back but will bring my bell bottom jeans. Peace out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resqwldlfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Listen to kids outside play. easily hear the couple next door in all their sexual exploits. Don't bother calling for another room or for security...non-existent! Old school motel...think dressed up Howard Johnson's. The price here is tempting. Don't fall for it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We had a gulf view room and what a view! Free sunbeds and drop off/ pick up service to the Circle was appreciated, it's a 20 min walk. Lido key is great, especially walking along the beach. Staff were extremely friendly and maid service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach location is great, but I would not recommend this hotel. Beds hard as rocks and there was mold in the shower. Got ill after eating at their cafe which automatically charged me 16% tip on terrible service. Pleasant front desk staff and housekeeper, but the facility needs major updating. Getting to walk in the beach at sunrise is the only thing that kept this one night stay worth it. Also, too far to comfortably walk to St A. Circle. Also, be forewarned that there is scant lighting at night to keep from confusing the sea turtles...a good thing for the turtles, but not for security.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,058 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
185 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing