We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stop in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Gembloux, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stop in this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Happy to leave this... Hotel... Erm Motel. Don't stop here. Rooms are old-fashioned and if you have the chance to get one of the several rooms as I had, you will get a splendid sight on a parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    536
    291
    111
    70
See reviews for
455
516
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Last few days of our holiday a great place to spend them... Location perfect right on the beach.. Sunset amazing.
Rooms very tired but very clean and everything you need from safe to iron to fridge !
Pool was heated which is such a bonus the staff were great but Kelly made our holiday ! Fantastic bar tender works soo hard and makes the best piña coladas !! and the entertainment at the bar had us in fits would go back again and wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcandlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We chose this property due to such a favorable rate and great location on Lido Beach. Just minutes from St. Armand Circle and at a very quiet end of the Key. Reviews said hotel was friendly, clean and had a wonderful beach. So true! 3 food venues, free parking, great location and a pro-guest staff (all except the pool bartendress who was a bit unfriendly). From a special room request by phone prior to arrival, to the front desk staff, to the beach cabana attendants, we had great experiences. Room was extremely clean, pillows and sheets seemed new (read prior pillow complaints), although mattress was very firm. Everything worked in our 2 rooms. Hotel was 3 star and met those expectations for a much better price than others along the beach. Yes, could use refurbishing, bathroom was older and small, but for the price, it was a great stay. Loved the 2 large pools, pool bar with free snacks during happy hour, amazing beach and reasonable cabana/umbrella rental. Free beach lounges and newspaper too. They upgraded us from no view to a room on the courtyard, with a small patio area and courtyard with seating and nice areas to sit day or night, which added variety. We loved our stay and hope to return. Stayed here many years ago and it was just as enjoyable this time around.

Room Tip: End rooms with gulf/beach view, of course, have magnificent sunsets. Everything was quiet in our so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dzine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is located right on Lido key beach. You can walk to St. Armands circle, which is a little over a mile away. The hotel was clean, and the staff was great. The food at the hotel restaurant was good.There are two nice pools, and they keep their beach area clean. Beach chairs and towels are free. Like the other reviews, I have to say that the hotel is dated. The bath area was tiny, I could barely close the door when standing inside the tub/toilet room. There are no drawers in the bath vanity, so you will live with your stuff all over the counter top. I would suggest updating to include some rooms with kitchenettes. There is only a mini-fridge in the room, so you will likely be eating out all of your meals. That can be difficult if you have specific dietary restrictions. So all in all, a good stay. If you have nice weather and tend to not spend a lot of time in your room, you will be just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyezduzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We usually stay at luxury properties... and as we arrived, checked-in, and eventually entered our ocean view room, I began to worry. As it turned out, the only items that truly justified my concern were the paper thin towels in the bathroom. Beach and pool access were extraordinarily convenient. Parking was fine. And the beach was terrific.

Yes. The rooms are dated and very basic -- though roomy with flat screen TV's. The A/C worked. Everything seemed clean. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. The bed was quite comfortable. And as dated as the place looks from the street or the rooms, from within the pool area, it's a great layout and you don't really notice it. And who spends their beach vacation in a pool lobby or room anyway?

We enjoyed the pools, the beach and the 3 minute drive to St. Armand's Circle for meals, etc. We never attempted to eat at the hotel. (There are basically things to do in every direction without spending more than 15 minutes in a car.)

The ocean view was marred from inside by the dated windows and terrace door, and the terrace was shared, so think twice before you pay more for an ocean view. However, now that I now what I'm in for, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff is accommodating. The rooms are clean but only on the surface. Updates in all aspects of the room are needed. The gounds and beach are well kept. It's a big space but much updating is in need for the price they charge guests.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wonderful views, food, service, staff !!!
We had a huge wedding party
Everyone was thrilled!
Fresh flowers in shiny clean lobby
Eggs Benedict were amazing
Great food
Staff sooo accommodating!
People have been working there for a long time- they are happy. Family feeling

Room Tip: Courtyard and beachfront king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elissa1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing