We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Had a room facing the sea on the top floor – which was an excellent position – you could listen to the waves crashing on the beach at night whilst going to sleep – blissful. Had a balcony as well which was great.

Rooms were clean and fine (bathroom could perhaps require some attention – but was clean and functional). The hotel does have a certain ‘60’s’ feeling to it – but we really liked that – it seemed a little retro! - and comforting!

Swimming pools were fabulous for the children.

Buffet breakfast was plentiful and the coffee excellent.

Service was hit and miss.

The reception staff not particularly friendly (or that helpful) on arrival.

Bar staff excellent, as was half of the restaurant staff. Had a slight disagreement with one of the waitresses who did not believe my daughter was 10 years old and wanted to charge her the adult rate for breakfast (in fairness my daughter is tall for her age), that said I noticed her grumbling and telling (and pointing us out) to other members of staff. When I approached her and offered to fetch my daughters passport so that I could confirm her age she seemed to warm and said it was okay.

Plenty for kids to do at the hotel.

Warning though – there are stingrays in the shallow waters of the sea. Not sure if it was the time of year we stayed – and I guess it’s similar right up the coast? I don’t know – but to be on the safe side we stayed in the pool – which the children were more than happy with.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigOwl2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

I am excited that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you felt right at home here on the island. You are absolutely correct that the views are amazing and listening to the waves is a definite way to relax on the beach.
I have taken your comments about your dining expereince to the appropriate manager and I would like to apologize personally as this is not the customer service we aim to achieve.
On behalf of myself and the rest of the management staff, thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will join us again for another holiday in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came to visit a relative who was staying here for 2 week vacation. She met us in the small lobby and we went to her room to visit for a short time. Adequate furnishings, but dated appearance.Two double beds nicely appointed with bed furnishings. Small sitting area in the room, and a refrigerator (maybe 4 ft high) in the room. Pools were in use by guests and looked clean and with plenty of lounge chairs. We ate a light lunch inside in the hotel restaurant and were told the menu was going to change the next day, so some items on menu were not available. Food we ordered was nicely prepared and nicely presented. Average restaurant pricing for Sarasota this time of year. Good outdoor accommodations beachside, with umbrella tables and chairs on wooden floor, ending directly at the sandy beach. The Gulf was calm and beautiful Our visit here was only about 6-7 daytime hours. We did not walk the beach nor swim in the Gulf or the two pools. Hotel was sold recently, so it is possible that there are renovations in the plans of the new owner. This is a prime location in Sarasota. Because we were only visiting, we had no idea of room rates or usual services.

Room Tip: Because of possible renovations coming due to recent sale, check if reno is in process or completed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your recent comments about your visit to the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach. I am please to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and I will be sure to relay the message to the staff. We have recently just updated our menu's and are grateful for the positive feedback.

Thank you again, and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel has just been sold to a new company so it may change.
If its boutique or sophistication you are looking for, keep looking! On the other hand if you want a splendid Gulf side location with dolphins swimming past and two very available swimming pools, then its worth a visit. The rooms, pool or gulf side were a good size and splendidly looked after.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. We didn't fancy the restaurant, it lacked variety and atmosphere, but close by at St Armand's circle there is a fantastic range of restaurants, well worth visiting. The sun sets were terrific.

Room Tip: Pool side or Gulf views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate your comments in regards to your most recent visit with us. I have forwarded your comments on to our management team in relations to the quality of your accommodations. We are happy to hear that the atmosphere we are able to provide with our location on the Gulf of Mexico was more than adequate and we take great pride in the service that we are able to provide. I will let the staff know of your comments as they take joy in knowing that they are being recognized for their hard work!

Thank you again and we hope to be of assistance to you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Paid for a pool view and got view of stairs. Asked for a room change and they gave me attitude. "Well, we are busy.". Room has very old furniture and lamps. The grouting is dirty. Hair on the old chipped tiled bathroom floor. Baseboards are dirty. Refrigerator sits right on the carpet. No electrical upgrades to accommodate your cell phones. The lamp base was broken and worn from years of use. The air vents are yellowed and greasy from years and years of use. Too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We strive to provide the best in service and I apologize that the property wasn't to your standards. I have relayed your comments to each of our managers so that in the future we can avaoid any complications that may arise during a guests stay.

Feel free to contact me directly in regards to your stay and I will be more than happy to speak with you.

Thank you again and we hope to see or hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel on Lido beach should take advantage of it's prime location and create an ambiance that reflects the "Helmsley" reputation, grace, comfort and luxury. If that is your expectation stop, do not pass go. Rather, the hotel has all the charm of a roadside motel; rooms are dark, worn, small and tired. The rooms are arranges around the central 3 story parking garage so be prepared to hear the comings and goings of vehicles all night, pleasant dreams! Expect the cheapest of thin synthetic blankets and tissue thin towels in the bare-bones bathroom. Hard beds, and rudimentary appliances make this a place merely a pass through, there is nothing to make you want to spend any more time then necessary. Yes, there is a pool with a restaurant serving low quality "breakfast food" but seriously, a few minutes up the road is the St. Armands circle with shops and restaurants galore, so it's a no-brainer. The spirit of Leona hovers over the poolside as you can expect to pay for any amenities like towels, yes towels. The only upside to this place is it's a few steps to the beach, other then that don't expect anything beyond the cheapest quality pn the motel scale. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigcallefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your honesty in regards to your stay at the Sandcastle. I am disappointed that you found the property not to your standards. I have informed management of your comments and we will take your thoughts and concerns seriously in the coming months as we transition from the Helmsley Sandcastle into the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach.

Many new and exciting changes will be taking place and we hope we can WOW you on your next trip to the area.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Enjoyed a 3 day stay at the Helmsley Sandcastle! The hotel is a little dated but the location and and service more that make up for it! Our room was right on the gulf and we had beautiful sunsets every night. And...the food was outstanding. We enjoyed both the restaurant and also room service. Will definitely make a return visit!

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champion27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We enjoyed a week at this hotel. Be sure to get a room with a view as the room we booked on line had no view and the staff switched us to a room with view of courtyard and beach for a small fee. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. We would definitely stay again. Our room had two double beds and the mattresses were very comfortable. We extended our stay an extra day and hated to leave.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was perfect with a good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,204 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £130 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing