We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights 2nd week in March 2014, this was our 4th stay, already looking forward to our next one.
Firstly people say that the rooms are rundown or outdated, the rooms are fine. The furniture may not be brand new but in our room it was all in good condition. The room was always clean and had everything in it we needed. We asked and got a court yard room. Our personal favorite. Great for our 2 year old to play outside. Not that we spent too much time in the room as there is a very lovely beech just steps away, which is more important than the state of the room furniture.
The staff are all great nothing was too much, especially Chris the housekeeper and the 2 men with gray t-shirts on that were always around to help people. Sorry don't know their names, 1 I asked about the dog that used to live in the hotel, hope they get the praise they deserve.
St Armands is nearby and well worth a visit, nice shops and places to eat.
The overall feel of the hotel is very relaxed and we felt happy and secure here. Even the other guests were all very friendly. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone.
You get what you pay for and I was very happy with what i paid.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sandcastle Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you bring your family back for a fifth time.

Again, thank you for the business.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    539
    293
    112
    73
See reviews for
462
524
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

You cannot beat the location of this resort. The beach is literally steps away and not super crowded. St. Armand's Circle is not too far away and the free Lido shuttle is quick and easy. Glenda in the dining room is a fabulous server. The beach crew is great. The pools are nice. Not so great - if one more person asked me for a tip, I would have screamed. That, and the phrase 'Not any more,' about old offerings vs. current offerings - take your pick of start time and free appetizers at the pool (started at 5 not 4 pm and NOT free), Luau's, house salad with entrees, paying entree prices for appetizers at dinner, gift shop closed for first 2 days, parking, etc. Apparently nothing is the same, but some staff don't know it and tell you the wrong information, or voice an opinion about how it hurts their tips. What was really NOT cool was the indoor water feature in our room when it rained, and hearing how old the hotel was and nothing could be done but offer some towels and an extra ice bucket to empty when the water fills up. Then having one person at the front desk telling us we'd get compensation, and upon check out hearing that the person who told us had no authority to give it to us. At least every guest we met was nice - whether family, couple, group attendee, return guest. Note about taxis - VERY expensive in Sarasota. If you can't find what you are looking for grocery wise in St. Armand and don't have a car, the Route 4 SCAT bus picks you up across from the hotel and drops you off there. If you take to 1st & Lemon, there is a Whole Foods right there. With traffic and neighborhood, best to go in the morning or early afternoon.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view room. Ask for one toward the middle of the resort - the rooms on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citysprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am sorry to hear of your experience while staying here at the Sandcastle Resort and want to apologize for our lapses in service. The resort is addressing the items you mentioned and will continue to work at upgrading our property as well as our service levels.

Again, I do apologize and hope you will give us another try.


Regards,
Eddie Sipple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We checked in middle of the evening, it was dark, having just flown over from Dublin, via Newark. If we had stayed here 20 years ago it would have been fantastic. Have they spent any money on it since then, I doubt it. It is a run down property that we think was going to be sold to be developed or rebuilt into apartments. Staff were at their best - average, food from the bar or in the restaurant again - average, Pool Bar - not even average! However its position on the beach - wonderful ! Our room, at the back overlooking the car park. Could have done with a room overlooking the beach and maybe one with a balcony, had it been offered. Would have gladly paid the difference. Upon enquiring the following morning, told 'we are full' what a load of Bull. Thankfully we were only there for 5 nights, before heading down to Miami and a cruise on Ncl through the Panama. There are many restaurants nearby, not within walking distance though, thankfully we had a car. Would we stay there again? I don't think so. However would we stay in the same area again, a big definite Yes!

Room Tip: Check out the rates for a front, upstairs, balcony rooms. They are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in our property and I do apologize for that. We are working on upgrading the property, as well a the service levels; so we may have a product you can be happy with and would consider visiting us again.

Thank you for the business and again I do apologize.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

OK, look, this property is old, but its not run down. My mom is old, and she's not run down either.....just old. My kids say I'm old, I am....I'm not run down tho.

Here is what you get, a clean property, decent staff who seemed to care, on the beach, like right on the beach, two heated pools, lots of chairs, a restaurant, a bar, a small basic out door bar, clean rooms, a basic lobby, free wifi everywhere.

Here is what you don't get. You don't get fancy, you don't get wow, except the beach view, you don't get over priced drinks or food, you don't get wild night life....oh and you don't get great access to the one computer in the lobby. My only complaint. The one computer to print out boarding passed has full internet access, so guests will sit there forever looking at the internet. I would suggest they put the software on there that only gives you access to airline check in sites. This was annoying and no one from the hotel monitored this. I finally gave up and set my alarm for midnight and went over then to print my boarding pass.

And someone said no shopping? Well that's correct because this place is on the beach, and shopping is just down the street at St Armand's. Yes they are quaint, boutique shops...I sure don't want all the chain stores I can get back home. And the "traffic problem", well coming into Lido Beach there was never a problem, only on Saturday between 4 and 7 was it packed trying to get out of Lido Beach.

There are not many options here, oh someone said Holiday Inn. Its not on the beach. I paid $215 a night, which included taxes at the Sandcastle.

Room Tip: A pool view room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SigEpGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding our resort. I will share them with the staff so they can see how you rated your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Again, thank you, and we hope you will visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Sandcastle Resort is a quite modest place in a fancy neighborhood....and much preferable to some of the fancy places nearby. We wanted to stay on Longboat, and this was one of the few places on the beach with rooms in March at less than $300/night. We spent five days at the Sandcastle, and had a great getaway. The beach is heads and tails above the Ritz Carlton's beach next door, which is so small the beach chairs with their white towels are crammed in. Lots of space and some nice shady thatched huts on the Sandcastle beach, with eager attendant to get you chairs and towels. Two large pools nicely heated also available if you don't want to swim in the cold (in March) Gulf waters.

We stayed in a poolside room, which actually afforded a partial ocean view. The best part of the room was that it had a good size fridge, since we like to keep fruit, yogurt, cheese, and other snack items. It was okay size, but had two double beds sted of a queen or king. The thing we missed most was some kind of balcony to sit and have snacks and drinks.

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel restaurant. Modest, but always very nice food. And you can sit outside with a view of the beach and ocean. Breakfast was the best--a small buffet for $12. I loved the scrambled eggs (never over done) and there was always a nice sweet item or two, either waffles or blintzes, along with excellent muffins. The restaurant is important because, during the busy season, you don't want to venture out if you can avoid it since traffic is so heavy and backed up. We had dinner at the Sandcastle a couple nights and, once again, food very good. I had an excellent grouper sandwich one night. And the small poolside bar was okay--they had happy hour with 29 cent chicken wings a few times.

My main complaints were with the wifi--it was terrible. When I mentioned it to the hotel clerks, they just kind of nodded, as if they had heard it before.

Overall, though, a very nice, well maintained, modest hotel.

Room Tip: I'd opt for at least a poolside room, on higher floors, to avoid the noise around pool. Ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the resort. I will share your thoughts with our staff and we will look at the wifi situation.

We do hope you will visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff is not the greatest. The bartenders by the pool are by far the worst, with the restaurant staff at a close second. This may have something to do with the property switching ownership in February '14. Trust me we heard all about how awful it's been! The only thing that saved the service at this resort was BRAD & DAVE. BRAD & DAVE work the beach area and they provide 5-star service. The beach is best on Lido by far and it has a family friendly atmosphere. We will stay again next year!

Room Tip: Just a heads up that if you Priceline or Hotwire you will get the North View rooms or parking garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quesarah68136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I appreciate the comments regarding our resort. I am sorry to hear of the lapses in service levels at the pool bar and restaurant. I will share these comments with the appropriate staff, so we may improve our service standards. I will also share with Brad and Dave your comments regarding their service.

Please accept my apologies and I hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Norh view room was dirty, mould, peeling wallpaper, stained tiles, hair in the bath, rusty bathroom fittings. Complaints produced little evidence of improvement. By the second week I was told the room had been 'deep cleaned' ....never.... old problems remained. What standard are they working to! I was expected to pay for an upgrade. When a ceiling tile collapsed it took 2 days to fix. Even the fridge had a broken frosted up icebox.
The holiday was booked with Saga. Is this the standard of a 3 star establishment? I think not.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I apologize for the condition of your room as well as the lack of a timely response to address your issues. That is not the experience we want our guests to have.
I will take your comments and share with our staff so we can make the improvements necessary to prevent this from occurring again.
Again, my apologies.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Preferred Hotels, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing