We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property but well kept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 11 April 2014

They have done a great job and keeping this property well maintained. I thought it was a bit pricey but now having been to Lido Beach, everything is expensive. Loved our ocean view balcony. A corner unit gave us extra light. The shuttle bus to "the circle" was invaluable.
Do take a kayak trip with Sea Life Kayak Adventures which launches just across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean View Corner unit
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neicey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the resort. We are glad to see you found our property to be clean and well-kept.

We do hope you plan on returning to our resort. Again, thank you for the comments.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I cannot say enough about this place, it is wonderful. A big thank you to Adam at the front desk for helping with my reservation, Matt S and Sherry and all the front desk staff. The resort is nestled on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach, and ALL of the staff there are very nice and will go out of their way to make your vacation stay comfortable. Every person I encountered, Missy at the Tiki Bar, Rose in housekeeping, Dave at the beach are friendly helpful and kind, which is a huge bonus when you are traveling. If you are looking for a five star resort, this is not it, but it is clean, comfortable, beautiful and right on the beach. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the crashing waves and white sand beach with friendly staff in an old style beach resort. To me there is nothing better. I will continue to return year after year, it is definitely worth it!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staceyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding the resort; and most importantly, your feedback regarding our associates.

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance for a return visit by you to the resort.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had lunch and drinks at the Sandcastle beach bar yesterday. Food was good and Missy was a great server! She had us laughing at her stories and jokes. We were surprised that at 1:00, more people were not at the bar...in days past the bar was ALWAYS crowded! I recommend going to visit Missy, she makes any occasion fun!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for visiting our beach bar and thank you also for the comments regarding Missy. I will pass along your thoughts to her. Missy has a great personality and does have many people returning to visit her.

Again, thank you for the business.


Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This property is in an excellent location and has an absolutely wonderful beach! Extremely close (walking distance) to St. Armand's circle for shopping and dining. Rooms were not fancy--but we had a spectacular ocean view. I understand this property has been sold--if they update the rooms (especially the bathrooms), this could be a really amazing property. My only real complaint would be the bartender at the outdoor pool bar. She was rude and could not have been slower if she tried. All in all, wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room--well worth it! Crack the little window in the door and you can fall asleep w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remartin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the pool bar bartender. We want your interactions with our staff to be friendly and genuine; and we will address this issue.

We hope you return to visit us again.


Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Helmsley Sandcastle for five nights. The staff was nice and accomodating. We particularly enjoyed Missy at the bar. Earl, the piano man, was entertaining and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and fine. Hotel has new owners and could do a couple of minor things in my opinion: Update the bathrooms with single shower faucets and a fan; Update the restaurant to be less of a supper club and a bit more fun and tropical; Get a better menu; Get a food funner for the pool bar -- Missy had to leave the bar everytime food was ready (really stupid process). Also, speaking of food, update the carry out from the 1970's heavy plates with the awful room service plate-covers. Just give me the food to go -- not where I have to bring a cart to carry it. Other than that, and these are minor things, the hotel was nice and we enjoyed our stay. I hope they keep Earl but they could also bring in a little more lively entertainment to keep the kids and teens entertained. It is definately a hotel who's long-term (40 year plus) guests have run the show.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I will pass along to Missy and our Food & Beverage staff your observations.

Thank you for the business, and I do hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

our first room was not very nice but we moved to a beachfront room and it was great, we could look out from 2 sides of the room and see the beach/waves. Got to see some string rays in the shallows. Our room did not get serviced one day, they were very appologetic at the front desk but had no one around who could clean it at 6:00 pm when we got back to the room and found it not cleaned. But overall they were very nice and helpful and the stay was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sandcastle Resort. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, but I do want to apologize for the lapse in service regarding the cleaning of your room.

I do hope you visit us again soon, and let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family and I stayed 4 days/3nights. When we arrived, first time in the Lido Beach area, and I didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews. You won't get fancy fountains, elaborate fixtures, or fancy furniture. It is truly a Hotel frozen in time…reminded me of “Sunny Motel’s” from The Adam Sandler movie Bedtime Stories. The Beach is lined with high rise condo’s and right next door is the elaborate Ritz Carlton. But, this hotel is special. It is not filled with pretentious people. It was filled with families. Families who are there to enjoy the beach, eat breakfast next to the pool, and enjoy their vacation. We walked the beach several mornings and aside from the public beach areas, this is the ONLY beach property with PLENTY of beach front space for playing in the sand, building sand castles, and lounging in your chair WITHOUT being right on top of the person next to you.
We paid extra for the beach view, and it was worth every penny. GREAT budget conscious hotel. There are no nearby stores and very few places to eat unless you drive/walk over to St. Armand's Circle, for Shopping, Dining, Entertainment and much more. Stop at the Publix on your way in…there is a frig in the room (a feature that is hard to find.)

Room Tip: Beach front room is worth the money.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaciekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay on the beach and had a great vacation.

I hope you will visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £128 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing