We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed 14-16 Apr and had a great time.
Previous Trip Advisor reviews made us a little nervous and whilst the property was a little dated it was clean and tidy.
Our son loved the two swimming pools and the beach was well maintained with free beach towels, no hawkers trying to sell stuff and sea was as warm as a bath!
Definitely would revisit again if we came back to the Sarasota area

Room Tip: We stayed in room 356 which has great sea views and balcony where you can chill and watch the sun go...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We appreciate the comments regarding your April stay. We are glad to hear you had a good time while on Lido Beach and at the resort. And yes, the sunsets are spectacular here.

Hopefully, you decide to return and visit again. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance, when you decide to return.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    552
    307
    118
    76
See reviews for
482
541
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went to the Sandcastle in October 2013 and absolutely loved it. Rachel in the bar was so nice, she even tried to teach us the rules of American Football/Baseball, totally wasted on us Brits. Spent 14 nights here and had no complaints at all. That's why we've booked to go back in November 2014, can't wait :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissieafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass along to Rachel your thoughts; I am sure she will be most appreciative.

We look forward to seeing you in November.

Regards,

Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It was so welcoming and laidback. We took our whole family to hang out at the pool and watch sunset and it was so relaxing and enjoyable. My parents came with us and they were amazed at how nice it was. We had cocktails and appetizers from the friendly bartenders. The kids loved the pool and were entertained the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for bringing your family to the resort. Yes, the sunsets are quite spectacular here; we are glad you enjoyed the view.

Let us know when you plan to return again. Thank you for the business.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My family just stayed here over Spring break. we had such a wonderful time!! The staff from Adam and Lynn in the office to Dave and Scott on the beach, to the wonderful wait and bar staff, this hotel could not have been friendlier. The beach is white and wonderful!! The shuttle every 5 minutes to the circle kept our car from ever moving once we got there. The rooms were clean and the food delicious! The best part for us, were the free bikes that you could take for a 3 hours each day to ride the Key. Wonderful stay, wonderful people. Thanks Adam, you ROCK!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and got a corner room, great view of the gulf and an extra window!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhoadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the resort. I will pass along to Adam, Lynn & Dave the nice comments you made regarding their service.

I do hope you return soon to visit us here on Lido Key.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. Food is great, location is fab. Rooms are also what you expect from a hotel of this type. One of the best features of this hotel for me was the shop as it sells lovely items handmade from shells. Ivanka is fantastic as she was very helpful and willing to serve. Missy was also very friendly at the bar and Zoe was helpful in the cafe! Will definitely be retuning to this hotel next year.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us; especially the ones about Ivanka, Missy & Zoe. We will pass along your thoughts- they will appreciate the kind words.

We do hope you return and visit us again.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

They have done a great job and keeping this property well maintained. I thought it was a bit pricey but now having been to Lido Beach, everything is expensive. Loved our ocean view balcony. A corner unit gave us extra light. The shuttle bus to "the circle" was invaluable.
Do take a kayak trip with Sea Life Kayak Adventures which launches just across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean View Corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neicey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the resort. We are glad to see you found our property to be clean and well-kept.

We do hope you plan on returning to our resort. Again, thank you for the comments.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mills Wi
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I cannot say enough about this place, it is wonderful. A big thank you to Adam at the front desk for helping with my reservation, Matt S and Sherry and all the front desk staff. The resort is nestled on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach, and ALL of the staff there are very nice and will go out of their way to make your vacation stay comfortable. Every person I encountered, Missy at the Tiki Bar, Rose in housekeeping, Dave at the beach are friendly helpful and kind, which is a huge bonus when you are traveling. If you are looking for a five star resort, this is not it, but it is clean, comfortable, beautiful and right on the beach. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the crashing waves and white sand beach with friendly staff in an old style beach resort. To me there is nothing better. I will continue to return year after year, it is definitely worth it!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding the resort; and most importantly, your feedback regarding our associates.

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance for a return visit by you to the resort.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,060 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
186 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing