We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front office staff/facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed for eight years at this hotel and have always had a great time. Front office staff, (Adam Simard) was most helpful with all questions. Staff treated everyone in professional manner and as it was the Suncoast Offshore Grand Prix, there were many guests. We will stay
again at this resort and recommend to everyone. Stephen Weeks, Realtor.

Room Tip: request gulf front room, walk out on to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I will pass along your comments to Adam Simard; I'm sure he will appreciate them.

Again, thank you for visiting us and we do appreciate your business.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I spent 4 nights here in June 2014 with a friend. Yes, the rooms are a little tired and need some cleaning, but you can't beat its location. We counted 25 steps from our room, down the stairs and to the sandy beach. Wow! The beach is gorgeous, and the guys working the area are quick to set up a beach chair and umbrella for you wherever you want it. This same crew was quick to help us check out bicycles (cost included in resort fee), give out pool noodles, and generally help with any questions or needs we had.

The Sandcastle is about 1.3 miles from St Armand's Circle, so it's overall location is fantastic. The private beach never felt crowded, even when a wedding was taking place and had its guests staying at the resort.

If you're looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't your place. If you're looking for a perfect beach location (which is where you'll spend your time) and a place to lay your head at night, check this place out. One tip- the walls are thin, so wear earplugs at night if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smccreary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sandcastle. I will pass along your thoughts to my fellow associates, especially the Pool & Beach crew.

Again, thank you for the business and look forward to having you return.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed there for one night on June 21st. We arrived a little early but we were able to check in. the room that they gave us had a LEAK! we waited about 30 min for maintenance to come. we thought they fixed the problem only to find out that the leak was BACK. we asked if we can change rooms since it was still early but the front desk refused saying that they were sold out. I understand them being sold out but they could have given us a different room while they fixed our room.

The beds were SOOOOOO uncomfortable. it made it really had to sleep, my back and neck was hurting.

understand that you get what you pay for, this isn't a fancy resort, it's and old building and it feels like an old building. Holiday Inn is probably better than this resort but IT IS right on the water. so location-wise it is really good.

I wouldn't stay there again mainly because of the beds but if you're looking for a simple resort and aren't really planning on being in the room, then this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are only doubles... NO KING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle. I am sorry to read that we did not deliver the product and service you should have received. I do apologize for our shortcomings and we are addressing your comment here at the hotel.

Again, my apologies and do hope you return soon.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A good place for a get away. The location of the hotel is very good, right on the beach and a five minute drive from the shopping and business area. Beach view was really good but the bathrooms need some serious upgrades. Corrosion on taps and our room had a bath with large cracks in it which, If you wanted to take a bath, could definitely deter you. This was the major down side.

Room Tip: Room with beach view was great, location of hotel was great as well. The rooms definitely need some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I want to thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort on Lido Beach. I apologize for the condition of the bathroom and have forwarded your comments to the Maintenance and Housekeeping departments so they may address the issues.

Thank you for the business, and hope to have you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Myself and 3 girlfriends went first weekend of June 2014. The rooms were clean and spacious but very outdated. We had a plastic/leather couch in ours. But most disappointing were the bathrooms lots of mold in the grout and missing ceiling tiles, etc. Staff at the tiki bar was outstanding. The cleaning crew was a bit slow on cleaning rooms and responding to requests. Not much security surrounding the resort minimal lighting and night and all the restaurants and bars close at 11 pm. You have to go downtown Sarasota to do anything after 11 pm. But we were right on the beach and it was gorgeous and we had a great time. But if you're looking for great accomodations don't stay here!

Room Tip: ask for a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLoverMarch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for visiting the Sandcastle Resort. I apologize for the condition of the bathroom and the lack of a quick response to requests from the Housekeeping staff. These issues have been forwarded to the Housekeeping manager to address.

Our lighting, especially on the beach side of the property, is kept low during turtle nesting season, May through October.

We thank you for the business and again apologize for our shortcomings. We do hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just leaving after our fourth stay. My wife loves the access to the beach.
Rooms are clean and comfortable although somewhat dated and the amenities are good.
The lack of adequate coffee making facilities with only 3 bags per room and one small bottle of water to share personify a mean spirit that pervades this years experience.
Staff perform adequately but overall our opinion of the resort has fallen and it's unlikely that we shall visit a fifth time.
Somewhat overpriced.
We limited our use of the lacklustre bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59dennisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with parts of your stay. Our goal is make your stay a positive and enjoyable experience.

I do hope you will consider a return visit to the resort. If I can be of any assistance, please let me know.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The beach access was great, impossible to be any better. But the following items are factual and disappointing when we visited in June 2014: 1. ants in our room, they wasted no time getting into our bags. 2. The chain style lock on our door was missing and I put a chair in front of the door at night for the extra security. 3. Stains on the carpet left me feeling that the room wasn't as clean as I would like. 4. The bathroom was tiny and way to small for my wife and I to bathe our small children.


Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I apologize for the issues you had while staying at the resort. We take your comments seriously, and they are addressed by the respective departments. The associates of the resort do want all our guests to have a great experience while staying with us.

Thank you for the business and again I do apologize.


Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,200 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £130 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing