We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed at the Helmsley Sandcastle for 2 nights 11-12 May. Did wish we had upgraded to an oeanview as the room was a little dark overlooking a small courtyard at the back of the hotel. However, the room was very clean and well serviced. The staff were very polite and courteous. The beach is excellent and you can request loungers and umbrellas (at a charge) on the beach. Both pools were clean and well maintained with an ample supply of free towels. The breakfast was delicious and catered well for young children. The hotel is in a quiet location and ideal for those choosing a relaxing break. At the pool bar around 4.00 pm they have a selection of free Hors d'oeuvres. Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely setting and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubysaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

My Husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at the hotel. We were reccomended to the hotel but told to expect the rooms to be a litte dated. My first reaction was this was more than a little dated but after settlng in I realised that the room was immacuately clean and very well equiped. When I saw how near the beautiful beach was the decor seemed far less impotant. the room was cleaned and plenty of fresh towels supplied daily. A good buffet brekfast was available at a reasonable price. The only thing I would be aware of next time would be the extortionate price of a phone call home. My husbands father was really sick so we made two calls home of 7mins at the cost of $105 so beware! Overall the room was really good value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed at the Sandcastle while traveling from Miami back to Canada. We did not have reservations, but we landed a fantastic deal with a large room facing the Gulf. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel provided a shuttle service to a local shopping/dining area. A few disappointments: no continental breakfast (to dine within the hotel was a bit pricey considering it is a 3* hotel), the "fitness facility" was a joke, and a personal dislike is having carpeting in a hotel room that is located on a beach. Otherwise, great place to stay if you want peace and quite on a lovely beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitchic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We just returned from two nights at the Sandcastle. We were given a two for the price of one upgrade to a gulf view room and loved it. There was a shared balcony which was a little awkward but we spent most of our time on the lovely beach. Had drinks at the bar and restaurant and staff was great. The mini fridge, coffee pot, hair dryer was great. We would go back for sure and look back with fond memories. Also met some very nice people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Stayed at the Sandcastle for 4 nights at the end of April in a Gulf View room. As other posts have said the decor of the room is dated, but kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. All the staff we came into contact with are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant does a very good buffet breakfast.

We did not particularly like the shared balcony of the room.

The hotel's location is it's key point. The beach is wonderful, soft white sand. We made good use of the palm roofed cabanas as the sun was very hot.

The hotel facilities are very good and this hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudCestrian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Have just returned from an enjoyable 2 week stay at the HSH - all in all we had a pretty good time. Comments about the 'tiredness/outdatedness' of the bedrooms are to be fair accurate, with bedrooms more USA motel style (Days Inn springs to mind) than modern hotel. However, the rooms are equipped with most of the day to day things you are likely to need and are kept very clean by the housekeeping team. The location is perfect for beach lovers and there is a very relaxed feel about the place, which may not be the case if it was more 'up scale' and goes some way to compensate for some of its minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

The rooms are a little dated (decor seems very 80s) but they are immaculate. Price can't be beat, neither can the location, right on the ocean and only a short distance from St. Armand's Circle. Lots of bang for the buck, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellefior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,204 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £130 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing