We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful beach but room entrance scary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at the Helmsley for one night on our this our first visit to Sarasota. We are a family of five with three kids. We asked for a gulf view and did get one but ours was the first floor in the two storey building. The room's entrance was facing the parking lot and since we were on the ground floor, it really spooked us. Although the view was spectacular, it was not the best of the gulf view rooms.The room was very small, but we payed for a roll away. It would have been too small for a week's stay. What was important was that the beach was gorgeous and the room was clean. We also enjoyed the pools. We would return but not to this particular room. The woman serving at the pool bar ignored me while I sat and waited to be served. She chatted with two gentleman while I waited and waited. Not the friendliest bartender I've encountered. The check came with a 15% gratuity added and not knowing this I tipped her, after which she perked up and thanked me.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mominparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this hotel. The two pools were nice and we liked the restaurant there. We didn't even have to leave the hotel for anything except to do a little shopping. The rooms do need some updating as well as the outside of the resort. I think it could look lots nicer, however we got a good deal and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatorgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Having just returned from this hotal we found it highly reccomendable. The hotel is clean
with good sized rooms that are a tad dated decor wise but perfectly acceptable. The beach front location was superb and the staff very accomodating. My only slight gripe is that though the food was very good perhaps the menu could be more varied. Overall though
we thouroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prontoessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

After a week in Orlando, with the hustle and bustle of the parks, it was a pleasure to spend a week relaxing at this hotel.
This hotel is a little gem, the staff very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean, as was the hotel overall. Decor needs to be updated, but who spends their time in the rooms, when there's a beautiful beach outside.
Will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marble25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We took lodging in at the Helmsley Sandcastle Resort. Upon arrival I checked and found the lobby very appealing, complete with a tropical fish tank as a backdrop to the guest services counter. The staff was very friendly and efficient. I had booked us a standard room for two nights for only $260 (including taxes). A great bargain for a beachfront resort. After checking into our clean room we headed to the beach. We walked down the hallway and found sand. Literally only 50 steps from the beach. It was perfect.
The beach was very clean and the waves were mighty. A storm had just passed through and it made for an exciting day in the water. Next time I would get a gulf view room.

http://www.joreviews.com/travel/sarasota-fl

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This was our second stay at the Helmsley and we will definitely return again. Previous week was in Orlando so we needed a relaxing place to get our breath back for the second week of our holiday from the UK. Recommend upgrading to a beach front room giving great views and sounds of the Gulf - hard to beat sitting on the balcony watching the sunset and the dolphins !!!
Rooms are a little dated, somehow that fits in with the overall ambience of the hotel, but well equipped and spotless clean like everywhere else you go in the hotel. Food is well priced and all staff so helpful and friendly to make your stay enjoyable. Proximity to beach (great walks in either direction but especially south to the nature park) and St. Armands Circle (for great shops and restaurants) and almost daily sightings of pelicans, dolphins and other wild life from the beach make the hotel a great place to stay. Only negative point is lack of better internet access - one terminal in reception, slow connection and expensive. if you stay here you will want to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed over 4th of July weekend. My husband and I, and my son and his family. We live in Sarasota and stay at The Sancastle every year to enjoy the fireworks and boat races. Yes the hotel is a little dated but the employees and location more than make up for this. The food is very inexpensive, 8.95 and 4.95 for children for the breakfast buffet. Dinner offers everything from burgers to steak. The beach is just beautiful and the rooms are very clean. The rooms are a good size for a family and have nice size refrig., especially if you have an infant and need to store baby food ect. They also supply a nice size crib. The very best part of this hotel is the way you are treated. The employees are very professional and friendly. From the front desk to bartenders, maids and beach attendants we were treated better than in many high end resorts we have stayed in. I am sure if you book your stay at The Sandcastle you will come away very happy!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunset777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
951 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Sarasota
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £126 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing