We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, truly pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Astoria, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, truly pet friendly”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for part of my family vacation.

I was very pleasantly suprised with the room. The room layout is a little odd, you enter into a vestibule with faux hardwood flooring - the sink and vanity are here, not in the bathroom. I figured this was part of the "pet friendly" design.the lobby and elevator vestibules have this flooring instead of carpeting.

The room had all the amenities of the much more expensive hotel I stayed at for the other half of my trip....refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. The room was pleasantly designed in an inexpensive but attractive retro modern design. The lobby had this same theme and was a very pleasant place to hang out. The pool areas was also nice.

Most ot the guests had pets which made for a friendly atmosphere in general, but if you don't like animals this is not the place for you. The breakfast isn't well stocked and they only serve until 9AM, that was a downside--------as well as the lack of restaurants in the area.

This place was WAY nicer than I expected for the price and I would recommend it highly, especially to pet owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    244
    130
    74
    47
See reviews for
270
248
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

You may not get all the fluff and stuff as you do at the higher priced hotels. But you will get a clean room with a comfortable bed and a light breakfast included. Remember, this is a pet friendly hotel chain so you will hear some barking and see pets coming in and out of the hotel. Having said that, why would anyone want to pay more at those other places? It is NOT on the beach or even in walking distance, for that matter. But it is located a short car ride away from most everything in the area. Bottom line; you will not find a better place for the money paid!!

Room Tip: East side rooms face the highway whereas west side rooms might have some kind of water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubytoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here two nights while attending a family wedding. Everything is fairly new and basic but very clean. The hotel is located right on 41 and a short drive to many places to eat, and there is a Subway right off the parking lot if you need. We chose this hotel as it was $25-$30 less than most comparable hotels in the area and included a decent (waffle maker, yogurt, cereals) free breakfast. It is a pet friendly hotel, and it did not smell like others I have been to. The only downside, we had a king with a pull out sofa, which turned out to be a sofa sleeper chair. It was OK for my 18 year old, but I wouldn't expect an adult to be able to sleep in it. They don't offer rooms with two queens and a double is not an option for us.

Room Tip: Try Mi Pueblo Mexican if you are up for a 10-15 min ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildCatWmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for a one night trip to Sarasota. This is a great value in the arts district and very close to old downtown Sarasota, which is a very nice evening or late afternoon designation. The quality of the room, service was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was ok, but lacking in fresh fruit. Overall would use this hotel again for reliability, comfort and value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcannaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 December 2012

In Canada most Hotels are in the 125 -150 range or the cheaper ones are the old style one level motels .So I was a little leary at trying a hotel for 69 a night in Sarasota . I was very pleasanly surprized . The location was very good the complementary breakfast was great (waffles and boiled eggs) . The room was also nice and clean . The hadn't ungraded to flatscreen tv's yet but it was addiquite . I'd stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

About a mile from downtown ($8 cab ride one way) and can walk to the parks. Rooms are average for your 2-3 star hotels- no thrills but bed was comfortable and continental breakfast was standard. Would definately stay here again. Our Cable reception was spotty but can't beat the free wireless. Pets are welcome by the hotel but not by this traveller with dogs barking at 7 am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinner-For-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Sarasota
214 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Sarasota
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Address: 1803 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-8338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!You deserve a day at the beach. Choose the La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota facing the Sarasota Bay as well as overlooking Long Boat Key, and you'll find yourself just a short drive away from Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beaches. Conveniently located just three miles from Sarasota-Bradenton Internationa...see morel Airport, this tropically landscaped hotel is near several popular attractions including the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, John & Mable Ringling Museum, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, and Ed Smith Stadium home of the Cincinati Reds Spring Training Camp. Offices for Boars Head Provisions, Florida Power & Light, Waterside Catering, and Wellcraft Marine are also located nearby. Ringling School of Art & Design is also located nearby. Guests will enjoy a refreshing heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Each spacious guest room features free high-speed wireless Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, voice mail, data port telephone, expanded cable channels, and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sarasota
La Quinta Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Sarasota
Sarasota La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing