We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Middleburg, United States
1 review
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The bathroom was dirty and no water pressure in the shower. The coffee maker was basically a hot water heater caked with calcium build-up. The freezer was too small to use due to the amount of frost build-up. The microwave barely fit a take-out container in it. One very small complimentary bottle of shampoo, but no other hair/cleansing product. Two flimsy paper cups were the only drinking vessels. The desk chair was all stained. On a better note, the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    239
    129
    72
    47
See reviews for
265
244
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I generally seek out La Quinta Inns when we travel but were a little disappointed this time. The room overall was clean but on closer inspection of the bath and sink area we found several hairs scattered around. I went out into the hallway where there was a housekeeping cart we had passed on our way in (and got a dirty look from the housekeeper when I had to move it a bit to get by with our bags). I wanted to ask for a couple of extra washcloths to clean the sink. I could not find the housekeeper so I helped myself, just in time to be scolded by her as she came out of another room, even after I explained myself. I did not appreciate the attitude. Also very poor selection at breakfast. Fruit was gone by 8:00am and not much else available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Since we normally travel with our golden retriever we chose to stay at a La Quinta even though we were pet less this time. Knowing this is a pet friendly, I believe they do the best they can to hide any odors that may be left over from a pet. Our room, ground level, was clean and met our needs.
We did not participate in the morning breakfast, other than the coffee. We would stay here again with or without our pet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's great for pets, if you want to smell and see them all the time and there is no charge for them. Not so great if you want quiet. Hard to accommodate families of 4 or more only (2) double beds. Can sometimes smell the pets throughout the hotel. WiFi is good and free, but phone signal sucks no service. Some beds are not so comfortable, mattress not good. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Regenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in July. When traveling with our dogs we always stay at a La Quinta because of their pet friendly policy. The bed was a bit soft for our taste and the breakfast was the usual carb heavy offering. Nothing remarkable and nothing horrible. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very well located and staff very nice and friendly. The room was clean. Breakfast room was crowded, basic, not bad. If you are not pet friendly this is not a good option. Dogs run unleashed and nobody cares.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug56Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Coffee pot broken, old refrigerator and microwave. Dirty furniture, pull out bed has old old nasty mattress, broken bed frames. Hallways smelled like sewage. No sheets in the room. A/c not working correctly room extremely hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
4 Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#24 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Address: 1803 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-8338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!You deserve a day at the beach. Choose the La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota facing the Sarasota Bay as well as overlooking Long Boat Key, and you'll find yourself just a short drive away from Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beaches. Conveniently located just three miles from Sarasota-Bradenton Internationa...see morel Airport, this tropically landscaped hotel is near several popular attractions including the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, John & Mable Ringling Museum, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, and Ed Smith Stadium home of the Cincinati Reds Spring Training Camp. Offices for Boars Head Provisions, Florida Power & Light, Waterside Catering, and Wellcraft Marine are also located nearby. Ringling School of Art & Design is also located nearby. Guests will enjoy a refreshing heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Each spacious guest room features free high-speed wireless Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, voice mail, data port telephone, expanded cable channels, and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sarasota
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Sarasota
Sarasota La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing