We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Recommend This”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Would Not Recommend This”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is convenient to the RIngling Museum and to the marina/downtown area. The staff is friendly. Parking is free. Those are the only positives. Location is in a marginal area. Both the hotel and our room had a very stale, off odor. Air conditiioning was very loud and made an obnoxious, gurgling noise. We had to turn it off and keep the window open, to the tune of the traffic on the busy street. Carpeting, upholstery, bed cover and bed skirt were stained and badly needed replacing. We would not walk on the floor in our bare feet. Walls are very thin and easy to hear what's going on in the adjacent rooms. TV is old but cable channel selection was good. Room had a frig and an old microwave. No room safe. Very small bathroom; newer vanity area but it is in the general bedroom area. Bed was very soft. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    244
    130
    74
    47
See reviews for
270
248
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed here for one night. We had not stayed in a La Quinta property for many years and actually expected it to be very basic. We chose it because it was about the only chain hotel in the area that would take our Golden Retriever. However, the rooms are clean and we felt safe. The staff were friendly and eager to offer advice and help. The location, just north of downtown Sarasota, is very convenient. Especially for those traveling with pets, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Comparing La Quinta with several motels in Sarasota we have decided to stay in La Quinta. For just a few dollars more you haver a great place to stay.
For dining go to Armand Circle, just 10 minutes by car. Close by is Amalfi, a pizzeria and they deliver in the hotel. We have been in the restaurant but we will not go there again.
Across the street is a chinese take away, or "dine inside" :)))) The food is good and not too expensive. Give it a try.
We are so happy with this hotel that we have booked a week La Quinta in Ft. Myers in advance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlknigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa flo
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The room was very clean and modern looking. I was very impressed. The room was a lot nicer then a lot of the more expensive rooms that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gator101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I would chose this motel in a heart beat even if I did not need a pet friendly stay. I was amazed at the quality and now I know why they were booked at 95% capacity in the middle of the week off season. The recently renovated hotel was bright with gleaming wood floors and nice overhead lights/chandeliers which created a very welcome foyer to guests. All staff members were friendly and pet lovers. A special thanks to Keith, behind the desk, for his warmth and information on the surrounding area. Rooms were very large with a couch, small refrigerator, microwave, desk, very nice bathroom (the shower had hot water with a great strong shower head). The refrigerator and closet could be concealed with curtains if desired.

No motel restaurant, but a nice little minimal complimentary breakfast area with coffee, waffles, boiled eggs, bagels, yogurt, cereal, etc. Across from the parking lot was a Sub way so food was within a walk to the parking lot. I walked my shepherd quite a bit in Centennial park and another smaller and closer park. One could drive to town in about five minutes.

When I called ahead to inquire of their pet policy, the woman answering exclaimed, "We love them"....this panned out to be the truth! No fees and no deposits for pets-when I called Indigo, down the road a bit, they had a non refundable $150 pet fee per stay!

Definitely the best value of any hotel that I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

After our stay at the Valdosta La Quinta this is a bit of a let down but only because last nights stay far exceeded our expectations. Pet friendly and we are so happy our long trip cross country is over. A few nights here and then we can move into our new home! The suite is nice but no door for the bedroom so a bit loud and the only AC is in the bedroom so the living room is a bit warm. Breakfast so-so but anything is welcome (and it's free!). I would highly recommend this hotel; especially if you are traveling with pets.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Don't understand the Spring 2010 Review. Just returned after a 5 day stay there. Granted it was "off season" but the accomodations were excellent! Very clean, an accomodating staff,great pool area. Location...SAFE. Didn't encounter one bug!
Negative: NO sit down restaurants in the area even for a decent breakfast . Need to DRIVE to Bradenton or go Downtown....only fast foods available in area.
Hotel directly on 41 South. Stay off 41 between 3P til 7P. Traffic speeds like the Autobon.....reckless,discourteous drivers. Maybe the "Fla. lifers" are tired of the Tourists!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Sarasota
214 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Sarasota
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Address: 1803 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-8338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!You deserve a day at the beach. Choose the La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota facing the Sarasota Bay as well as overlooking Long Boat Key, and you'll find yourself just a short drive away from Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beaches. Conveniently located just three miles from Sarasota-Bradenton Internationa...see morel Airport, this tropically landscaped hotel is near several popular attractions including the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, John & Mable Ringling Museum, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, and Ed Smith Stadium home of the Cincinati Reds Spring Training Camp. Offices for Boars Head Provisions, Florida Power & Light, Waterside Catering, and Wellcraft Marine are also located nearby. Ringling School of Art & Design is also located nearby. Guests will enjoy a refreshing heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Each spacious guest room features free high-speed wireless Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, voice mail, data port telephone, expanded cable channels, and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sarasota
La Quinta Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Sarasota
Sarasota La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing