We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't want to believe the rumors but they are all true!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suntide Island Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You don't want to believe the rumors but they are all true!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just recently got back from an amazing trip to florida-despite the disappointing part of the trip which was at the Suntide. Yep I, like many of you, did not want to believe the negative reviews on this site. I thought people are too critical and maybe over sensitive. I then figured with a four star rating and a quick analyzation of the system that at least it would be on the beach and clean. So I went with it, exchanged my timeshare and planned my trip. I knew that for the most part that staying in this place was going to be simple and low maintenance. The problem was upon arrival that low maintenance was an overstatement. Figure somewhat clean grounds, no housekeeping what so ever, and two days a week towel trade in. No help anywhere, not on the beach with chairs, not in your room for some fresh linens, and definetly not found in any single area at this timeshare/hotel or whatever you may call it. (By the way you have to clean your room, towels and linens must be removed and brought down otherwise a hefty fine along with a giant key! Yep you will get a $65 fine for loosing that.)
What you do get - a nasty woman that obviously hates customer service and hates you! Then on some days when she's not in you get her evil step brother- dare not to ask a question he will snap at you and give you the same miserable attitude. And if by any chance you ask for a late check out be ready to get the worst attitude, sarcastic overtone and an abrupt answer immediately. Yep no maintenance and no customer service. You will get a few messages though about the rules around the ever so disgustingly cloudy pool. People partying until midnight? perhaps. But who cares. It wasn't a problem because with the doors shut and air on you can't hear anything. You also get some beat up lounge chairs, a bunch of warnings and what not to do, and a bunch of broken barbecues. Yep, good luck going around the complex and trying each one you may be in luck with a functioning bbq in front of someones door? Yes door- thats the genius construction and development you get at this hole..I mean resort. No matter where you are situated don't think you will have any view except of a huge staircase and cars.
I was optimistic and we enjoyed our stay in Sarasota. Sarasota has wonderful restaurants, many things to do and see.
My kids had a good time even though the pullout bed wasn't a bed at all but a bunch of springs- don't depend on a good nights sleep. Try not to get a one bedroom and overall don't stand in front of your room anytime near checkout even if you are waiting for your hubbie to park in front of the complex, walk up and down the 18 steps with everyones luggage and bags and strollers, while you watch the kids in front of the vacated room. Because what will happen is you will be charged $50 dollars and you will have no warning at all.
I don't know how to make this clear enough- don't make the mistake i did- i have been to so many beautiful places in and out of the USA. But this is not one of them---I repeat NOT! Its one of the worst hotels on Lido- I think theres a bigger dump next to it-but overall all the other hotels are so much nicer. Stay next door at the lido beach resort- Its a million times better in every aspect. When you go there you will see friendly people, caring staff and some real customer service.
Unfortunately the rumors were true and I had to see it to believe it- I hope I spared your time and convinced you not to waste your money here.

Room Tip: none…they're horrible and tiny. Beds are small. No views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The sun tide is a great place to stay if you want something laid back, relaxed, whether you are using it as a place to retreat to or to launch from. It's close enough to the beach to walk, it's actually on the beach, but far enough away to get away from it for a little. The pool was good and the jacuzzi was equally nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in a 2BR/2BA - Unit # 215 and everything was great! This is not a fancy place, but it is very well maintained and managed. The beach is great and it's the perfect location for walking up to St. Armands for dinner and then burning off a few calories on the walk back (about 12 minutes)! They have everything you need: pool chairs, pool, hot tub, grills, tiki huts to sit in the shade, ping-pong, shuffle-board. If you have little ones that nap during the day, you may want to get a room as far away from the pool as possible - since it gets pretty loud during the day. This was our 4th stay & we can definitely recommend this place! Unit 215 in particular is great - as it has excellent gulf views (most units do not) during the day and refreshing cool breezes in the evening! I would give them 5-stars instead of 4 (close call) but like I said -it's not fancy & as a 2-level property; it does not offer the fantastic views you can get in a high-rise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MJones84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sun-Tide Beah Club on Lido beach in Sarasota Florida in April. We were walkins without reservations.We were very impressed by the unit , it's cleanliness, beach front location with direct acces and discretion of the guests.
We definately intend to return on our next trip to Sarasota if units are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 0udi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and i just returned from a week at Sun Tide Beach. We were very concerned, having never been there before, about some of the negative reviews. Our experience was 5 star. We didn't find any of the negatives mentioned and found many positives. Our room was over the office and we had a perfect view of the pool and beach. Only negative would be "no elevator", if you are on the second floor. Since my wife and I bring "everything we own" it did take some effort moving in and moving out, but it was worth it. We plan on returning to this resort. P.S. Each room has a designated parking place. We found this to be very helpful as parking at some of the larger resorts can be very frustrating.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to pool, no real bad locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eldoneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
289 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent 2 weeks here in March and really enjoyed the area. It is right on the beach, it was not crowded and there is no commercial strip so has a very peaceful atmosphere unlike other areas such as Treasure Island further up the coast. This property is a 10 minute walk to St Armands Circle, which is a lovely spot, and Sarasota is a 10 minute drive when the Causeway is not clogged with traffic.

The property itself is nice, the units are spotless and comfortable and it is right on the beach so the location is terrific. We did not find the staff rude at all but were asked to close our door once, even though it was open for about 1 minute to check out the weather. Our first week we were in unit 134 which I would never take again. It is larger than the the majority of 1 BR units but it has no actual windows so it is like being in a cave. It is an exception as the most other 1 BR units have a big picture window, just bad luck for us that we got it. Also, it only has a double bed, the others I believe have queens. Thankfully, for our second week we were in a standard unit which we found very comfortable.

We would recommend the Suntide but would make sure that you are not in 134 or a unit like it.

Room Tip: Not 134 or one like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We are owners who come from the Pacific NW each year for a month. We always look forward to the stay seeing friends and the FRIENDLY staff. The rules all have a purpose and are not difficult to keep and they keep our maintenance fees down. It's usually the people exchanging in that don't like the rules, although that is how we started visiting and then loved it so much bought four weeks.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the best view. Steps a little steep for older/infirm people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Sarasota
1,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Property: Suntide Island Beach Club
Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Hotel Class:3 star — Suntide Island Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suntide Island Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel
Suntide Island Beach Club Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing