We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Satellite Beach
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We checked into 3 rooms with our family for one night. Hotel is old and run down but for one not we figured we could live with it. At bedtime we found a bed bug on the pillow in one of our rooms. Then found another one in the bathroom. We went to office and was told they would refund the room. We then checked the other two rooms and found one in one of the other rooms. They said they would refund that room too. We did not see one in the third room but the people next to that room said they found one in theirs. We told them we were all together and expected all 3 rooms refunded. The manager came in and started screaming at us to get off his property and refused to refund our money. Then he called the police who were very nice and told us we didn't want to stay there anyway because there are Hookers that come over from the bar next door and a lot of drugs being done around there. Said the manager is so used to dealing with the druggies that is how he treats everyone now. He immediately goes to screaming at complaining guests. I've never been treated that way. It was horrible. He should have been apologetic at exposing us to bed bugs and the extra money it caused us to have to clean everything we took into those horrible rooms. As we were leaving he suddenly refused to refund the 2nd room because he said we brought the bed bugs with us and were just trying to get out of paying the bill. We had a year old and a baby with us who were both asleep and the last thing we wanted was to leave at 11pm after we had driven from Michigan. We were up until 3am cleaning everything before we went to a much better hotel, the suburban extended stay in Melbourne and it was cheaper. Then to top it off the one room that he said he would refund, he ended up charging us the following day for $100. No idea why or how he could do that when we weren't even there. I guess it could be because the guest room we were given had the toilet over flow and water flooded the room. How he could blame his plumbing problems on us is beyond me. Stay far away from this bed bug infected and horribly managed hotel! The police told us they were kicked out of the Days Inn program because it's so bad now. They said they are called there all the time. Drugs and low life's are wandering around the hotel all day and night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank fireflyfrommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel was cheap and clean. Manager was very friendly and welcoming. Offered free breakfast which consisted of cereal, muffins, toast, hot drinks, and juice. Got a good night's sleep and a good start in the morning. They have a decent pool and a beach volleyball court which is fun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Back for the 6th time. New landscaping and paint on the exterior. Wonderful comfy rooms and beds. Clean as a whistle. No bugs whatsoever except the outdoorsy kind and few of them. Large dog walking area around the entire property. It was cold but large pool kept at a comfortable temperature of 80 degrees. Still can play volleyball and shuffleboard right there at the motel. We cooked out at the large grill although there are many eateries in the area. Bus right outside our door so we can park the car and ride to the beaches or stores for pennies. Staff still very friendly and helpful. Price is perfect and affordable even with the pets.

Room Tip: Use the local buses to get around to beaches and shopping. Corner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattross2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We picked this Motel because we had a pet and stayed for 5 days. We had emailed the Motel requesting a downstairs room but received an apology on arrival that they were all booked. The motel has long term residents that have chairs out in front of their doors and appear to have the downstairs rooms booked. We smelled drugs and the tobacco smells rising up from the rooms below even though we had a non smoking room. Also resident in our room which we did not pay for were 2 palmetto bugs and some cockroaches which we evicted to a higher calling by going to the Local Lowe's and buying roach spray which we left in the drawer in room 226 for you if you are lucky enough to stay there. As we were there meeting our children we were only in the room from 9pm to 9 am.

Room Tip: Find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnsatbeach, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Also, sorry we could not provide you 1st floor room, as we were almost sold out due to Thanks Giving Holidays.

We do have many Snow Birds staying with us for long term, and they do enjoy Sunny Florida and beautiful weather by sitting out side, and yes it is their choice if they smoke out side their room.

You faced some Tropical Bugs, but did not report them during your your stay. I did some research and found that you were booked for 5 nights and you extended your stay for 1 more night, and still did not report them while renewing, and decided to go online to report them. Did not make any sense. Also you devalued the sleep quality, value and cleanliness which is MEAN when you paid only around $50+tax daily rate.

Having said the above, I can suggest only one thing, where ever you stay report your problems to management during your stay for you to enjoy the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights as we wanted a room to visit NASA.
The booking said it was Days Inn Satellite Beach, but it was actually Americas Best Value Inn, so a little bit confusing (as in April 2013).

The room was basic, Wifi is not constantly on etc, but it was ok.
The first night, we heard a big argument from one of the rooms in such a violent manner that we felt a bit scared,
especiall we had our kids with us.
The next morning, the hotel owner came to apologise for the noisy rough caused by one of the residents.

The breakfast was at the reception. You basically take whatever you want to your room. Basic cornflakes, instant coffee, some
muffins.
hotels in that area are all in all quite pricey and this was one of the cheapest in the area, so we cannot complain any more than this. :)
For about £45/night, the service is not as much as I would have wanted, but

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Tenten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnsatbeach, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Also, sorry we could not provide you 1st floor room, as we were almost sold out due to Thanks Giving Holidays.

We do have many Snow Birds staying with us for long term, and they do enjoy Sunny Florida and beautiful weather by sitting out side, and yes it is their choice if they smoke out side their room.

You faced some Tropical Bugs, but did not report them during your your stay. I did some research and found that you were booked for 5 nights and you extended your stay for 1 more night, and still did not report them while renewing, and decided to go online to report them. Did not make any sense. Also you devalued the sleep quality, value and cleanliness which is MEAN when you paid only around $50+tax daily rate.

Having said the above, I can suggest only one thing, where ever you stay report your problems to management during your stay for you to enjoy the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked this hotel through Days Inn but they had sold it to Americas Best Value Inn without informing us. I had difficulty finding the hotel because of the name change and when we booked in I received no apology. I had paid for the room 9 months in advance but because I did not have the same credit card with me they insisted that I have a refund and pay for the hotel again. I got the refund a couple of weeks later but was charges $2 by my credit card company. The room was fine apart from the state of the carpet which seem to make my feet dirty. I reported this and they said they would get it cleaned but to me it looked like it needed replacing. I don't think I will be using this company again and I am disappointed with Days Inn not telling us of the change over. It is 10 minutes walk to the beach and 15 minutes drive to the zoo.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible and in front if you want to use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanJames66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Satellite Beach
9.9 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#17 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
618 reviews
8.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay
#19 of 22 in Melbourne
101 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Melbourne
Candlewood Suites Melbourne
#17 of 22 in Melbourne
118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#21 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne

Address: 180 Highway A1a, Satellite Beach, FL 32937-2042 (Formerly Days Inn Satellite Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Satellite Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Satellite Beach
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Satellite Beach Hotel Satellite Beach
Satellite Beach Days Inn
Americas Best Value Inn - Satellite Beach / Melbourne Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing