We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capt Hiram's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capt Hiram's Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

This is also known as Key West Inn. This was our second trip to this location for spring break. Our first trip we stayed pool side with a patio. This trip we were river side with a balcony. Yes, the walls were thinner river side. But little much else to complain about. After we left here we ended up paying $200 a night in Melbourne Beach just north of Sebastian and got half the room with no breakfast included. We felt so at home here at Captain Hiram's. After dinner we went for a walk each night and felt safe with a lot of people doing the same thing. I recommend for breakfast Country Ham and Eggs restaurant on US 1 if you want a change from the continental breakfast at the Inn. Even if you have to wait it goes quickly and they even have a coffee pot for you while you wait. Also recommend Vic's Italian Restaurant, I think it's on Washington and US 1. As always the trip has to be a part of going to the Inlet of Sebastian. Great beach for every age .

  • Liked — Everything in one location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    104
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
72
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

After reading several reviews, we took a chance and booked this. One review in particular was pretty awful, and we were a bit nervous. Upon arrival, we're wondering where that person actually stayed! Our visit has been spectacular from registration through check-out. Rooms are large and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was very clean. We haven't gone down for breakfast yet, but I did read that it even includes breakfast meats - something most hotels do not do.

In addition, the inn is within walking distance of Captain Hiram's Restaurant (right on the intracoastal and one of our favorites) and Captain Hiram's Sand Bar.

Please don't hesitate to stay here.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sheri731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

This was a great choice for a "Girl's weekend." The motel is part of a property which also includes a riverside bar and restaurant area. The motel is very nice, rooms modern, spacious and clean. Only about 14 have waterfront views, the many others face parking lots, but the balconies look down on lots of greenery, it wasn't bad. Our building was 3 stories, with an elevator. The halls got a little noisy late at night as weekend partiers returned to their rooms, but that's what these weekends are for.
The pool area was clean, but there were not many lounges, and they were very hard, we would have liked cushions. Pool towels small but plentiful at nearby front desk.
The bar and restaurant area was very much like the keys. Loved the sand bar, with its casual seating and lively music. We especially liked all the food we were served in the bar and restaurant, thought it was well prepared, well served, and a good value.
The complimentary continental breakfast available at the motel was average, but on Sunday we had the brunch in the restaurant, we were very pleased with our mimosas and "crabby bennies."
There was a dock with rental boats available, as well as a tour boat, but we did not look into that. There is a good walking sidewalk paralleling the intracoastal that goes for about 2 miles, you can even walk to the Mel Fischer museum, as well as a few other bars and restaurants.
I recommend this motel and restaurant for anyone looking forward to a casual, relaxing visit.

  • Liked — Easy access to fun bar and restaurant area
  • Disliked — Pool area didn't have good lounges.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vet0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

This was our first holiday to Florida and Captain Hirams our first stop. We loved it , had a river front room which was very spacious, clean and had all the amenties you would expect. The front desk was very helpful and suggested a beach to visit at Sebastian State Park which we enjoyed. The Sand Bar was great as was the entertainment wished we had booked for another night and will definitely return next year.

  • Liked — The location and the entertainment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkrum57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

First the positives: clean room, great location, nice staff

Negatives: Walls are PAPER thin. We could hear the guy next door using the bathroom and every word of his cell phone calls which went on and on and on. We could hear every word of the couple having a knock down drag out fight several rooms down the hall. Unless you are staying at the Inn so that you don't have to drink and drive, you won't get a good night's rest. I kid you not, drunk people were laying in the halls, banging on doors, screaming, cursing, and one even made a sexaully suggestive comment to me. We tried to switch rooms, which didn't help. At 1am we checked out and went home. Unless you plan to get crazy drunk and stay up all night, this is not the hotel for you. I felt bad for the families staying there. I would have freaked if my kid heard the language and saw what we heard and saw. This inn has the potential to be a great place to stay, but I truly feared for my safety. My husband said he got a better night's sleep when he was in Iraq and we both agreed that we'd get a better night's sleep at home with our 6 month old baby. So that's just what we did. We left and went home.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

I used to live in Sebastian but now when I return I stay at the Key West Inn. I was already familiar with them as I often referred customers to the resort.

The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, and everything you need is there.

Their restaurant (Capt. Hiram's) across the street offers good seafood either inside or their lighter fare can be eaten at the Sand Bar. The back of the restaurant and the Sand Bar overlook the gorgeous Indian River near the Sebastian Inlet. Manatees, dolphins and once in a while a shark can be seen passing by.

There is musical entertainment most evenings - sometimes several different venues to choose from. They have smaller, more acoustic or older style musicians playing indoors and at the smaller stage outside or on weekends they often have rock bands.

Someone in another review noted something about not too many spring breakers but just enough to be fun. Most likely they confused Spring Breakers with the local skydivers. The restaurant is a favorite after jumping hang out for both the local jumpers and the many jumpers that flock to Sebastian from all over the world for the fantastic view of the Treasure Coast from the air.

Sebastian is a nice little getaway from Theme Park Florida. Get out on the water - you've got the ocean or the river to choose from. The beaches are not easy to get to as there are no bridges actually located in Sebastian to cross to the oceanside but the beaches are sandy and quiet. There are plenty of isolated spots to go to if you enjoy laying under a palm tree watching the waves crash without screaming children kicking sand on your blanket as they run by.

The Sand Bar will remind you of the Florida Keys but happily, the Key West Inn will not remind you of the small, old run-down, shabby overpriced rooms you generally find in the keys.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank freeflywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

Captain Hirams offers "Key West" atmosphere without the long drive to the keys or the outrageous prices of the keys. The location is in Sebastian, Florida alongside the once sleep highway US1. Nestled back off the side streets sits the resort with the restuarant directly across directly on the Indian River. The restuarants atmosphere is relaxed, the dress is casual, food oriented towards seafood, and a decent selection of beers and wine. Normally, when I go down there with the family we have the crab stuffed shrimp. Cooked in butter with crab meat it is one of those decadent 1000 calorie plus meals you feel guilty about after finishing your double chocolate cake, latte, and after dinner apertif. Ahhhh, the good life says I.

If your into salt water fishing there are several charter boats available for trolling, jigging for grouper, or fishing the inner Indian River for redfish and trout.

Around the corner is the Mel Fisher museum with a working restoration area, samples of gold coins, a short video, and other artifacts of Mel's gold hunitng days. The building is not very big but it offers a quiet one hour diversion and the opportunity to purchase gold and silver coins.

The rooms? Not bad offering nice decor, clean sheets, and a short walk to the bar.

If your looking for a bit of old Florida, relaxtion, good food, drink, and no worries plan on a night or two.

Cheers,

Freedompalmbay

  • Liked — Atmoshpere
  • Disliked — Cold bartender
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freedompalmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sebastian Hotel & Suites
15.3 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
15.2 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
13.0 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#16 of 26 in Vero Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt Hiram's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt Hiram's Resort

Property: Capt Hiram's Resort
Address: 1580 U.S. Highway 1, Sebastian, FL 32958
Region: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt Hiram's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Capt Hiram's Resort offers an island resort atmosphere right on Sebastian’s River Front. Our Sebastian Florida Hotel is designed to appeal to weekend travelers, fishermen, business travelers and long term guests. The Inn has King or Double Queens room types. All of our smoke-free rooms have private balconies, many overlooking the beautiful Indian River, Internet access with complimentary WI FI. Other amenities offered by The Inn at Capt Hiram's, include coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryer, iron and board, in-room safes, 43" TVs, and rich, colorful tropical décor. The free-form, heated pool is beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage. Coin laundry and vending machines are also available to our guests.Guests of our Sebastian Florida hotel enjoy full access to our other wonderful features, including the riverfront restaurant (serving breakfast, lunch & dinner) and 4 bars: the Bahamian-style SandBar complete with Bimini Beach, the Coral Bar and Scoops. We also have the Grand Stand Bandstand with great live entertainment 7 days a week, the Boatique Gift Shop, and our marina nestled on the Intracoastal Waterway has 60 boat slips available and you can enjoy deep-sea and river fishing; scenic river cruises on the Indian River Lagoon, jet ski and boat rentals, and kayak tours.All this and so much more, in one location - so what are you waiting for? Come to Capt Hiram's, where you can be lazy or get crazy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Capt Hiram's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt Hiram`s Hotel Sebastian
Captain Hirams Hotel
Captain Hirams Motel
Capt Hiram's Resort Sebastian, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing