We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but Pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capt Hiram's Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK but Pricy”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice place to hang out. Limited menu but good food in restaurant. Very pricy too. Rooms are pricy, plain, and our bed was uncomfortable. The property looks well kept and also appears to be a heavy party spot. All staff were nice and friendly. Excellent location right n the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Mgr K L, General Manager at Capt Hiram's Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Matt S,
Thank for taking time to share your experience and for your feedback. We apologize that you did not find the bed comfortable and although it's a personal preference, we normally get high marks in this area. During this time of the year for Florida is our "season" and our prices are higher. May through September we have lower rates; they do fluctuate depending on demand. We hope to see you again, and please do not hesitate to reach out to me beforehand; perhaps we can offer you a complimentary upgrade. Thank you again for choosing Capt Hiram's Resort!

Warm regards,
Karen Lufkin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    109
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
74
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We enjoyed Capt Hiram's. The room was great and the service excellent. The location was also very convenient. It was clean and quiet. Don't be worried about the live music at the Sandbar across the way, they stop playing at 10 pm.

By the way, the Sandbar is a nice place for a good meal and its right on the water.

The only thing we noticed about Capt Hiram's was the quality of the towels seemed a little low, (skimpy) and we eventually found the microwave; it was in the bottom part of the TV cabinet.

All-in-all it's an enjoyable stay with a very good staff.

Room Tip: The room we had was large with places to sit down, other than on the bed. It was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zcorwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice place, clean room and cheerful friendly staff. However, according to the web page I was expecting a river view room. I got a nice view of the parking lot. Also would be nice if they had coffee in the lobby. I don't trust the coffee makers in the room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask at check in if it's water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRBSTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Capt Hiram's Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello BRBSTAN!
Thank you for your kind comments. I apologize for any mis-communication in regards to the "river view" rooms. We have 14 RiverFront rooms that are directly on the river and because of their location, they are higher priced than our other rooms across the street in the Main Bldg. We do not offer coffee in the lobby because we have a full service restaurant that serves coffee all day. I am glad to hear that you would return again. Please feel free to reach out to me with your next reservation and I'll see about getting you that beautiful 'river view'! We appreciate your business and the feedback, thank you.

Warm regards,
Karen Lufkin / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This resort is very charming and it has all of the amenities of the big chains. The room was very clean and the balcony provided an extra surprise for my birthday getaway. I probably would have paid twice the price for a room like this during high season, and I am a local! Coffee, refrigerator, ice machine, toiletries....everything you need after a long day of fishing or shopping! Not to mention a short walk across the parking lot to the restaurant and "tiki-like" bar.Keep up the great job, Hiram's!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator1993_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a room right on the River next to Capt Hirams Restaurant and Bar. Always stay there when we are in Sebastian Fl. Room is clean and neat. We had room on lower floor, but prefer the 2nd floor for the views over river. Private balcony and sunsets and sunrises included! No charge for that. Love the room. The only thing is if there is some musical acts at the Sandbar, you have to watch out for parking for the riverfront rooms. We plan to be back before 5 so that we have our parking spot. Overall, its the best place to stay. You can kick back with a wine on your balcony and enjoy the view!!!

Room Tip: ask for a riverfront room, 2n floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magical5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We come to this resort every year and are never disappointed. It's an older facility, but clean and comfortable. Each room has a private deck or patio. Our room had a walk in shower, so if you prefer a tub, you'll need to check. Hotel facility includes river waterfront sand bar and sit down restaurant with gift shop. The bar is fun and active and the food is good.

Our room did not have a fridge or microwave, but they do have suites that may include them.

It's a great place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Florida to visit family and found Captian Hiram's to be a wonderful hotel. The prices were VERY reasonable the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sebastian Hotel & Suites
13.6 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
15.3 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#9 of 27 in Vero Beach
225 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 27 in Vero Beach
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt Hiram's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt Hiram's Resort

Property: Capt Hiram's Resort
Address: 1580 US Highway 1, Sebastian, FL 32958-3831
Region: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt Hiram's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Capt Hiram's Resort offers an island resort atmosphere right on Sebastian’s River Front. Our Sebastian Florida Hotel is designed to appeal to weekend travelers, fishermen, business travelers and long term guests. The Inn has King or Double Queens room types. All of our smoke-free rooms have private balconies, many overlooking the beautiful Indian River, Internet access with complimentary WI FI. Other amenities offered by The Inn at Capt Hiram's, include coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryer, iron and board, in-room safes, 43" TVs, and rich, colorful tropical décor. The free-form, heated pool is beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage. Coin laundry and vending machines are also available to our guests.Guests of our Sebastian Florida hotel enjoy full access to our other wonderful features, including the riverfront restaurant (serving breakfast, lunch & dinner) and 4 bars: the Bahamian-style SandBar complete with Bimini Beach, the Coral Bar and Scoops. We also have the Grand Stand Bandstand with great live entertainment 7 days a week, the Boatique Gift Shop, and our marina nestled on the Intracoastal Waterway has 60 boat slips available and you can enjoy deep-sea and river fishing; scenic river cruises on the Indian River Lagoon, jet ski and boat rentals, and kayak tours.All this and so much more, in one location - so what are you waiting for? Come to Capt Hiram's, where you can be lazy or get crazy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capt Hiram's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt Hiram`s Hotel Sebastian
Captain Hirams Hotel
Captain Hirams Motel
Capt Hiram's Resort Sebastian, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing