We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Ferndale Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sebastian
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferndale Lodge
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Two years ago, we had great success with a "mom and pop" motel in Prince Edward Islan, so we thought we'd give it a try with Ed and Joanne Moore, owners of the Ferndale Lodge, Sebastian, Florida. We are very pleased with our stay. The high ratings are completely merited. This is "Old Florida" on a beautiful treed two acres that butts up to the Indian River with a pier and rent-free canoes and kayaks. It is a peaceful setting surrounded by a residential neighborhood which was quiet at night There is a sidewalk all the way (1/2 mile) into the Sebastian town center where there are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and a nice riverfront park. The rooms are "of the period", but clean and well maintained. We lodged in the king-sized bedroom, with a full kitchen, for $70/night which I felt was a great bargain. The Moore's are gracious and friendly hosts. If you are looking for a Florida vacation with lots of tourists and close-by activity, this location may not be for you. But if you could be pleased with Pelican Island National Wildlife Reserve, the Mel Fisher and 1715 Fleet treasure museums, beautiful, wide beaches at Sebastian Inlet State Park and cooling your heels and and chilling out, Ferndale Lodge is what the doctor ordered.,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Ferndale for many years. Ed and Joanne (the owners) make you feel like one of the family which only adds to the wonderful experience. The lodge is right on the Indian River and the gounds are beautiful. Fishing is great and there is a cleaning table right at the dock. We're hoping to make the visit again this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseL33777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We brought our boat and used the dock. This is a great area for fishing and boating. This is not a party place, but we were not looking for that. Nice , clean and comfortable rooms. The owners are knowledgeable about the local area and very helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was Dan I first year what a wonderful place to stay. Great people! lots of things to do fishing canoe, kayak listen to great music while watching the moon rise.Sunrise is beautiful as well. Happy Hour! I don't think I laughed so much in a long time. We can't wait to visit next year and see everyone again. Thank-You Ed & Joanne

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicalewis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah Ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our room was overlooking the Indian River & one couldn't have asked for more!! The sky, birds,& dolphins never stopped keeping us in touch with the natural Florida setting. We were there to celebrate my sister's birthday with a cook out & games galore, and Ed & Joanne couldn't have been more helpful...Thanks Guys!!! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones that face the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King Ferry, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

It seems like yesterday but next year will be my eighth year at Ferndale Lodge. I consider it my second home and the Moore's as great friends. I started as a weekly renter and now I enjoy this little piece of paradise for 6 months. I am a lifelong fisherman who has visited and fished much of the Gulf and Atlantic coasts of Florida. You can do no better than the Sebastian area.

I do not wish to own nor do I want the bussel of big. I do not want gates and the healthy sprinkling of young folks and families gives this place real vitality not usually found in retirement areas. It is a pleasure to know that good friends return each year and that new friends are just a week or two away. I return each year knowing that a clean, quiet, comfortable, secure and convenient place awaits me.

The pier and boat dockage area are more than adequate to serve the 12 residential units. Blue Crab wander and fish come and go. The grounds and facilities give everyone room to mix or secure a quiet corner while enjoying the Florida sun in the yard that you don't mow.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

when arlene and i turn on to indian river dr. every march first for the last 8 yrs. it's like we're almost home. when we see the flag in front of the ferndale we're there. the strawberry short cake, the barbeque, the happy hour on the common ect. GREAT PEOPLE. what more can i say.
wally

Room Tip: if you call joanne and she has an opening that fits your time frame TAKE IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arleneandwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sebastian Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#16 of 26 in Vero Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
13.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
8.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Vero Beach
SpringHill Suites Vero Beach
#6 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Property: Ferndale Lodge
Address: 11450 S Indian River Dr, Sebastian, FL 32958-4755
Region: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonably priced, The Ferndale Lodge is a quaint "old Florida" style 12 unit efficiency motel located directly on the Indian River Lagoon in Sebastian Florida. Free fishing pier and boat dock. All units are one bedroom fully equipped air-conditioned rooms set up for two adults. No pets and no smoking in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Sebastian, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing