We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“intro to indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of India - CLOSED

Taste of India
Price range: US$0 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Authentic Southern and Northern Indian cuisine.A private room available for conferences or parties.Lunch Buffet with dine in, take out, delivery, catering on all occasions.Dinner menu offers wide selection of choices from different regions and tastes. Wine and Indian/ domestic beers available.
sinclairville n.y.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“intro to indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

we went with a group of 12. they took the time to explain and suggest dishes. even offered to adjust the spice level on all but a couple of dishes. the food was very good 11 of the 12 were very happy with the food, atmosphere and overall experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank retirednold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“reconsideration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

They fed us well with great food for well over a year and we miss them. We were twice a week regulars for the duration. Several reviewers, including myself, have been blaming their demise on the poor business climate for such a restaurant in Highlands County. The official line was that the landlord was raising the rent too high and they could not afford to stay. However some very new information has emerged. The restaurant and property are now for sale as a turnkey operation for the bargain price of $79,900. The restaurant operators could have bought the place with a mortgage payment that would have been a small fraction of the rent they were supposedly paying. The realty listing shows it being sold just as we remember it with Indian decorating and kitchen. The reasoning for their leaving just does not add up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haworthhoarder2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good things don't last forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just another sign of the times. Highlands County does not deserve this restaurant. Sorry to see this Great Restaurant! and these Wonderful People! leave this sad county. I hope that their new destination (Pembroke Pines) will welcome them with open arms. May their new business take off like a rocket ship and get the same reviews as they did in Sebring. We will miss them very much and hope to see them as we travel south in the future.

What a loss!!!

Best of Luck, always.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sadly, this town could not support Taste of India”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have enjoyed Taste of India Restaurant for the past couple of years. We were unfamiliar with Indian food but decided to be adventurous. We were greeted warmly by the proprietors, guided gently and remembered every visit since. It became one of our favorite dining places.
The restaurant developed a loyal following but apparently this rural area is not ready to support any restaurant that is not a chain or barbecue or a chinese buffet or hamburger.
We were disappointed to learn that Taste of India is closing in Sebring at the end of this week. The proprietors tell us that they will be reopening in Pembroke Pines.
Our loss will be Pembroke Pines' gain. Best wishes to these kind folks.
So sad

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runningfool262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A little expensive but very good. Fun to try all the different choices. We have only been there twice but look forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 
Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing