We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful way to spend a Day”

Highlands Hammock State Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sebring
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hammock Inn Restaurant is located inside Highlands Hammock State Park. It is known for it's tasty homemade food, friendly staff and Wild Orange Ice Cream & Pie. It features an "All You Can Eat Fish" Fish Fry every Friday night from 5-8pm. No entrance fee is charged for just a restaurant visit-Based on the honor System. Worth the trip!
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Wonderful way to spend a Day”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a great day at the Highland Hammock State Park recently. We enjoyed walking the many short trails that showcase Florida at its oldest, wildest state. The canopy of tall trees, hearing the wind blow through them as they sway, provides nice shade. There were lots of colorful fall leaves when we were there in early November. A couple of the trails feature a narrow boardwalk that carries you over wetlands. It is exciting to walk it and the landscape is beautiful. The highlight of the park is the State of Florida Museum for the Civil Conservation Corps, a work program begun in the early 1930s by President FDR. The website for the CCC gives details of structures and roads built by the CCC that are still in evidence at state parks around the state and country.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    135
    23
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you want to see Old Florida, this is the place to go. Beautiful swamp and hammocks. Not crowded. Wildlife and more. Don't miss the catwalk through the swamp.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - great atmosphere - interesting sights”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I liked this place very much. The weather was perfect and their wasn't a huge crowd of people, so the time was relaxing. We spotted a turtle, many spiders and some other very monotonous creatures. That being said, just because we didn't see more interesting things doesn't mean they weren't there. The two trails my wife and I took covered only a fraction of the total trail area in the park.
$6 parking fee.
Bike rentals from $4-6 per bike

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Riding through the park you will run into wildlife. Peaceful setting would come back. It was nice and my wife liked it also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerry557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful & woodsy SP”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My family has our reunion at Highlands Hammock SP every year. Just beyond the nice shady campground, there's a large air conditioned meeting room with a full kitchen and a playground out front for the kids -- perfect for our family reunion. There's also a "catwalk" thru the swamp where you can get a close up view of a large variety of native plants and the occasional gator and turtles. Very interesting and always a good way to walk off the family reunion buffet...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank casadelydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlands Hammock State Park also viewed

Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 
Sebring, Central Florida
 

Been to Highlands Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing