We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about dessert”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shame about dessert”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We met with friends to enjoy a lunch from the Christmas menu All of the starters and main courses were very enjoyable and nicely presented
Then came the desserts Many of our group had opted for Christmas pudding.When this was served we were amazed at the minute portions .The smallest portion of Christmas pudding we had ever been served.
Such a shame to skimp on the last course which most of us cannot resist
I suggest they revise these portions to normal size to avoid putting a damper on what was otherwise a lovely meal

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cliff037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really nice pub food and very friendly service”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

As two women, meeting up for lunch, and arriving separately it was lovely to be warmly welcomed and made comfortable at this friendly pub.

The food was very good too, we only had a salad and sandwiches but they were excellent - another visit is definitely on the cards

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic value”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I like to eat here on a visit from London with my husband and mother-in-law, who lives nearby. Last visit the beef roast dinner was the best I've had anywhere.

This time I had cod in beer batter. It was so big, I took half home! In a party of 7 we had 7 mains, 1 dessert and 4 coffees and the bill was just over £70. We all enjoyed our meals. Unbelievable value! Friendly staff!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 556Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent food and service in a very old charming pub. Visited twice in one week. Waitresses very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekygirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ring this Bell”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

"Best cod and chips for years",reports spouse when friends treat us at The Bell.

Sea bream with langoustine was my choice to follow a king prawns in a light tempura batter for starter.

The whole experience was just sublime and I wholeheartedly recommend a visit.

But you must reserve as other people seem to like The Bell as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

St Nicholas-at-Wade, Isle of Thanet
 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Minster, Ramsgate
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing