We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of The Horseshoes Inn

The Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Superb food, and run by people who care about their customers. Highly recommended. Sunday lunch is a treat but you must book as it gets very busy.

Helpful?
Thank John Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    43
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband & I had an excellent Sunday lunch at The Horseshoes last week when we were staying in the area. The roasts were very good & generous portions, The staff were friendly & welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebell211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in northumberland for a week and ate at the horseshoes twice. We just could not resist it. Everything was just right, food was brilliant with a great choice and the staff were welcoming and attentive. We would have no hesitation in recommending the horseshoes to anyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly unpretentious”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I had dinner at the horseshoes yesterday during our short stay in the area. The horseshoes just happened to be the nearest pub to where we were staying and what a lucky find. The place is simply lovely - instantly appealing with genuinely friendly bar staff and front of house restaurant staff who could give lessons on how to treat guests. Hard really to describe what it is other than to say they make you feel comfortable, at home almost, attentive without being overbearing. As for the food it reflects the rest of the place great tasting honest food all locally sourced and well cooked. We have already booked to go back tomorrow for steak night and we can't wait - Louise even suggested they would give us a lift home if we had too much wine - think that just about says it all about the hosts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just what a country pub should be.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Yet again a glorious meal enjoyed in this traditional English country pub.
Mark and Louise really do bend over backwards to make you feel welcome to their pub from a fantastic meal to an equally fantastic pint. This really is the place to stumble upon if you're on holiday in the region it's in such a nice village too, make a point in visiting in August for the scarecrow festival the pub and village are buzzing.
I arrived early for our meal, my wife and mother in-law following on later so it was nice just to sit and enjoy a quiet drink in peaceful surroundings and to chat to visitors, this was the time I used to look over the menu.
You know how sometime you may just fancy a particular thing to eat but it's not on the menu, well this was no problem at all for Louise who disappeared into the kitchen and came back and told me they would cook what I wanted, very nice too was that mackerel, the wife enjoyed stealing bits. My gammon was cooked to perfection with lots of it, I struggled to eat it all so tin foil was produced and a doggie bag created.
Again thank you Mark and Louise a nice time was had in such friendly surroundings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horseshoes Inn also viewed

 
Embleton, Alnwick
 

Been to The Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing