We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak night really worth a try”
Review of The Red Kite Pub

The Red Kite Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“steak night really worth a try”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Me &my husband went to the steak night &it was really good from the soup to the steak. Its really worth a visit. Me &my friend usually pop in for a sandwich when out walking

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COOKIE81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    75
    28
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The red kite flies again!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The new manager knows what he's doing.. Friendly place, good food and an ever changing selection of real ales, friendly staff and dogs are allowed.. All it needs is some nice weather to bring the beer garden to life!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdy2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All day food.......”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We've visited several times. The food is standard pub food but the place has a lovely atmosphere and is very dog friendly.
However disappointed that there big boards advertising food all day and every day doesn't include Sunday nights! Rather odd....

Helpful?
Thank Horty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good to bad again.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just when you have a great couple managing the bar, showing interest and wanting the pub to be successful they are moved on and the next manager changes the menu, options not improved, and depending which chef is working the food can range from good to awful. We have visited on many occasions, mainly due to location, however the lack of atmosphere, consistency of good food and a manager who us obviously only there until something better comes along we think it is time to call time on this pub that is full of unsatisfied potential.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Give it a wide berth!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited this place for lunch and have never felt so let down. As soon as we walked in we noticed how cold it was, there was no heating on so we asked for it to be put on, which it was eventually. The food arrived on cold plates, not a good start! My burger was more or less inedible, it was so tough and the bun tasted stale. One of the party had fish and chips and unfortunately the chips I had with my burger tasted of fish, but in all fairness they were not worth eating anyway. The sticky toffee pudding was the same texture as the burger (they must have tried really hard to achieve that). Their only saving grace was the wine, it was reasonably priced and quite good. My recommendation is: Avoid this place or waste your money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Kite Pub also viewed

 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Red Kite Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing