We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salt??”
Review of The Red Kite Pub

The Red Kite Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“salt??”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Latest trip to this pub / restaurant since my last visit a few years ago . Well what a mistake clod over salted chips served with cold vegetables with over heated meat . Staff are friendly and understand the issues raised.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    36
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, but excellent chips”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were a party who had been walking in the Derwent Park and this was a convenient spot for lunch. We had a variety of meals/snacks. All were delivered together by a cheerful waitress/barmaid and looked quite good, although the baguettes had a rather insipid appearance.

All were declared quite tasty, although nothing special, but the chips were really excellent, crispy on the outside and fluffy inside, and seemingly freshly prepared on the premises. The only specific downside was the peculiar taste of the leaves served with a baked potato.

Atmosphere was lacking, although there was potential to make it a really attractive venue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Used to call in at this pub when it was the Golden Lion - always good food . Not now.

We had what was styled on the menu "Tail of the Whale" , this consisted of two small tail ends of fish, tasteless chips that had an old oily taste , were soggy and overcooked , seemed to have been fried again (last nights ?) and a portion of cold mushy peas.

The surroundings were depressing. The guy behind the bar could not care if customers were satisfied or not.

This pub overlooks one of the nicest walkways in the area, lots to places to enjoy walking by the river or just sitting. It's not far from Gibside, the National Trust property. There isn't another pub nearby, so lots of potential that's wasted.

The Red Kite needs a complete refurbishment, and a change of staff .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful Food, Awful Serving Staff.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I went here for Sunday dinner with a friend and will never return.

After sitting down at a dirty table, we ordered our food and say and waited.

A couple who arrived and ordered after us, were partially served by one of the sullen barmaids, but his partner sat waiting for at least 10 minutes for her meal to come out. They also didn't bring the vegetables out until she had hers either.

I saw waitresses wandering around with plates of food, not sure who had ordered them and when they cleared the table from the large party that had eaten there prior to us arriving, one of them called was very vocal and profane in describing the mess left on the table.

Our meals finally arrived and the chicken roast dinner was actually a dry chicken breast wrapped in bacon. The roast potatoes were hard and the yorkshire pudding burnt! This was all sat in a congealed puddle of gravy. When they finally brought out the veg, it was a soggy mush.

Its a real shame that the food was so terrible. This place is missing a trick as its the only pub around for miles!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in here after an afternoon's shopping at the Metro Centre. Passed the smelly toilets on the way upstairs, not a good start.

Took a few minutes to get served, there were two bar staff, one was busy serving, the other busy doing nothing. The bar was dirty and has pools of beer on it. Eventually our order was taken we and went to find a seat.
All the tables had been used and not cleared, so we had to do it ourselves! A couple came in about ten minutes after us and had to do the same. Another ten minutes passed and their food came out. Before ours! Well his did, his partner's was nowhere to be seen. Her meal came with ours, a good ten minutes later.

What came was awful, cold veg, congealed gravy, half cooked roast spuds, reheated yorkshires, and dry as a bone chicken breast.

The lass that served us was miserable as sin and in a bad mood. She let the whole pub know. And was swearing as she cleared the other tables.
Absolutely shocking from start to not finishing our dinner. And we paid £20 for the privilege. Never again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Kite Pub also viewed

Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunniside, Gateshead
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Red Kite Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing