We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpredictable property owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachpoint Resort Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beachpoint Resort Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unpredictable property owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We hosted a wedding at this venue a few weeks ago. The property owner was extremely nice agreeable when we first viewed the property and decided to host our event there, but once our payment was made and our guests reserved all the rooms - it went down hill. The owner refused to sign a formal contract with us insisting he only does business based on verbal agreements, which was convenient for him since he kept trying to change the original agreement. He tried to increase our site fee months after we booked and with less than a week until our big day decided we could no longer have a DJ at the venue even though months earlier we were told we could. We were left scrambling trying to find a new wedding venue 4 days before our wedding and 2 days before our guests were set to arrive. He was so rude and unprofessional insisting that he didn't even need our business - funny thing, he changed his tune as soon as we started to cancel our rooms. With no alternative and our site fee already paid we reluctantly hosted our wedding here anyway. There is no office location here and when you pay your room fee the owner takes your credit card into his private residence without allowing guests to see where/what he's doing with your card. There are no reservation confirmation or receipts provided. Most of the rooms lacked basic kitchen items like cups, plates, etc and all of the appliances need updating. There was an old unused treadmill in the middle of the courtyard (guess they enjoy running outside without actually running anywhere?) and a foul odor coming from room #2 - we're pretty sure a dead animal is under the porch. The guests in that room complained to no avail - and don't even think about asking for extra toilet paper or room necessities; you'll be met with a quick eye roll and a huff from the property owner - but no toilet paper (pack your own).

This is really a shame. The location is ideally located with a close proximity to the beach and village - but with unprofessional and unpredictable management we will never return or recommend anyone staying here again.

Many of our guests stayed at the Tropical Breeze Inn (right next door) or the Sieata Resorts just a block away and had nothing but great things to say about both of these locaitons.

Room Tip: try Tropical Breeze Inn - Jessica was so great there. Even tried to help us find an alternate weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    27
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
43
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Good location, nice facility but the owner should invest in new equipment and a maid. Toaster and oven were broken, fridge quite dirty! Owner was living in one of the apartments, so it s not the best for him to keep privacy especially when he has argues with his wife, also on our last night he was making a party until 2am

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colorpoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you're looking for a place close to the beach AND close to town and you want the basic comforts covered, Beachpoint is a great option. We rented unit 7 (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) for my husband and I, our teenager and our toddler. The closets were big enough to put a Pack n' Play in (for quiet sleeping atmosphere). The bedrooms were roomy. The bathrooms were adequate (the master bath had a tub but the spigot didn't work so it was pretty much a shower, but the water was hot and the bathrooms were clean). The towels were a little thin, but they worked.

The grounds are great - full of flowers, grills are provided for guest use, there's a small koi pond and funky lights at night. It's easy to see how a group could come have a GREAT time outside at the tables - we ate out in the courtyard area several times just to soak in the weather. There are lots of umbrellas and shady areas as well as a few sunny spots.

Get groceries off the island to save money but there is a grocery store easily walkable if you do need something. The kitchen in unit 7 was small but more than adequately supplied with a blender, toaster, microwave, stove, fridge, etc.

Beachpoint will provide beach towels (make sure to ask for some if there aren't any in your room). They have tons of beach toys and chairs to take to the beach and even beach umbrellas. The beach is so wonderfully wide that it does get heavy trying to lug it all the way to the water but it's well worth it.

Walk into town for some Mini Donuts - totally worth it. We also enjoyed Taste of Germany (great desserts) and Bonjour (fantastic crepes).

Room Tip: Unit 7 is furthest from the beach, closest to town. Unit 1 is closest to the beach, but none of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatDianesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We'd stayed up and down the Florida Gulf Coast for the past few years, had finally settled on Siesta Key as being the nicest for us...beautiful beach, close to Siesta Village, easy access on and off the island. We needed more space than we had last year, because more of the family was going down. Booked Beach Point Resort, and we quite frankly weren't sure if we would like it or not.
In short, we were very happy! It isn't RIGHT on the beach, but it is just across a very quiet street from the beach. From the deck of one of our units you could sit and look at the beach and the ocean...very peaceful! We had 11 family members go down, so we rented both of the 2 bedroom units. One faced the beach, the other was in a building behind and upstairs. Both exceeded expectations.
First the (few) cons:
1. Bathrooms were small. They had tub/showers, sink, toilet, but not much room. Didn't bother us (we would rather have living space than big bathrooms), but it might be a deal for some.
2. Not the Ritz-Carlton. Rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, but, opening directly to the beach, they were definitely more "comfortable" than "posh". Some might want more granite and stainless steel, we prefer comfort, especially at a beachhouse.

Pros:
1. 60 steps to the beach access...270 steps to the oceans edge. My daughter and I counted. That's good and close, you'd be hard pressed to find too many units that are closer on Siesta Key
2. Very accommodating owner. Some revues said he is rude. I beg to disagree. Mike can be short with you, and he isn't one to spend excess time on idle conversation...but, if you need something, he is on it right away, and he is very helpful...just not too talkative, and maybe a little bit short sometimes. He keeps a clean, pleasant place to stay, and he quickly attends to your needs...I've stayed other places where the owner seemed nice, but I couldn't even get fresh towels, and the place was falling apart. I will take what Mike has to offer any day!
3. Easy walk to Siesta Key Village. Groceries, gift shops, beachware, restraurants, bars..everything just a couple easy blocks away. If you are staying on the beach, you don't want to have to drive all the time...at Beach Point, you don't have to.
4. Beach-funky decor. Love the colors, the nighttime lighting, the statuary (giant King Posideon). Just really fun place to stay. Nice having the large deck area to lounge around, grills to cook on...visit with neighbors. Just nice.

Yup, we like this place, and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on front face the beach, which is really nice. Rooms on back are a little more private, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljkdhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at the resort last night- great rooms (I'll get to that later), clean, friendly owner (mike)........ Check out time is at 11:00 am, we went to the beach, returned and allowed to park several hours after check. The kids needed to use restrooms, owners graciously stated , "feel free to use suite 2's bathroom ( ours was being cleaned I.e rooms)- FYI...... This was during Spring Break , one of the busiest times of the year. Great experience !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

There are too many nice people to waste your time with this guy. So rude and aggressive, STAY ELSEWHERE.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lovefoodandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Tried to make reservation for siesta key tri 8/12. The owner was so rude and unfriendly I asked if it was a bad time to call. He blurted he was busy and it is season. I said that was not a good reason to lose future business. He said He didn't need me to run his business. I hung up. very abrasive!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachpoint Resort Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachpoint Resort Cottages

Property: Beachpoint Resort Cottages
Address: 125 Beach Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2037
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachpoint Resort Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you vacation at Beachpoint on Siesta Key, you create memories. The eclectic cottages of Beachpoint are only 100 yards from the pure white, sugary sand of Siesta Key Beach. BeachPoint Resort Cottages is one of the very few vacation rental properties with direct access to a private area of the beach accessible primarily by foot or bike. Locals love this quiet and less crowded part of Siesta Beach. Our unique hotel offers eye candy everywhere: colorful cottages set in tropical gardens with vivid flowers, funky local art, large open sun decks and shaded courtyards. Gather with new friends in the courtyard, sunbathe on a deck with an ocean view, or hide away in a shady nook for a quiet read. You are just steps from the water and a short 2 minute stroll from Siesta Village, so you may never need to move your car! In the village you'll find a variety of restaurants and several bars featuring live music. You can shop with the locals for everything from groceries to clothes and shoes, books, souvenirs, and even hardware. And there's a US Post Office right in the local drugstore. All the conveniences are easily accessible, but Siesta Key maintains a feeling of old Florida. Locals treasure our pristine beaches which offer a protected habitat for native island birds, as well as the dolphins, manatees and other aquatic wildlife living just offshore. And each evening, locals and visitors walk or bike to our special part of the beach to see the best sunset views on the key. Once you visit the Beachpoint Cottages, you'll see why so many of our guests come back year after year to vacation with us on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachpoint Resort Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachpoint Hotel Siesta Key
Beachpoint Resort Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing