We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Florida Charm & Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachpoint Resort Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachpoint Resort Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm & Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beachpoint is our annual 'staycation' spot! It has all the charm of old florida/key west and is ideally located directly across from the beach. If you are looking for maid service, room service, and 800 thread count sheets -don't bother. If you want to wear flip flops 24 hrs a day, have restaurants and bars a stone's throw away and easy access to a beautiful beach -you have found your place! The patio / deck area has a definite Key West vibe. Plenty of tables, chairs, grills -great place to have morning coffee or grill out in the evening. Each room is a little different -some more kitschy than others- but all very welcoming. These are what beach cottages used to be like -and still should be! Great place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (5,6,7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asears515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    27
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
43
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I just love this charming resort. It is ideally located near sunset point, the old pier in Siesta Key. They are just adorable little cottages with fully equipped kitchens and just the right size property. There are bikes, toys, ice chests, beach carts, rafts, and even paddle boards available to use right on the property. I live in Sarasota near downtown and by far this is my favorite resort in Siesta to get away for a few days....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimiSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had a really great experience here. We got Cottage 4, which I was a little nervous about because of the murphy bed (I definitely did not want to sleep on a thin murphy bed mattress). We were really pleasantly surprised. The place has a lot of character and is very old Florida. Cottage 4 doesn’t seem to be the most luxurious cottage (some of the others seemed to be a little more updated), but it turned out to be very comfortable, very clean, and everything we needed to enjoy Siesta Key. In particular, the mattress was really comfortable and great to sleep on. The bathroom was a little small but seemed to be pretty recently renovated. A great part about Cottage 4 is the beach view – you can see the ocean from the porch, which was really nice.

The grounds and staff were excellent. The place has a lot of character, and the gardens were fun to explore and hang out in. Beachpoint Resort provides you with everything you might need to enjoy the beach – umbrellas, chairs, etc. When our first umbrella didn’t work, a staff member helped me pick out a sturdier umbrella and gave me the tool to dig a better hold. He was extremely friendly and helpful. The price of our room ($139 off season) seemed to be really good compared to other hotels in the area that are that close to the beach. The cleaning fee did seem a little silly to me (why wouldn’t that just be included in the price?), but that would probably be one of my only complaints.

Extremely close to the beach to the village, so we could walk everywhere, which was wonderful. I will definitely be staying here again, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 4 - again, beach view, but not the most updated cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Beachpoint Resort is our kind of place. With all the amenities of a one bedroom apartment to the ability to park your car and never drive the rest of the trip - all the pleasures of our family's vacation. A walk across the street will get you to the beautiful beaches and after a short walk to town, all the stores and restaurants are available for you to enjoy. This was our second time to stay at the Resort and we will be back! Mike always feels us welcome.

Room Tip: There are many different floor plans available. Check the website for floor plans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axeljarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beach point Resort was the PERFECT place for us. The resort and rooms were extremely clean, fresh, newly painted with a fun tropical theme in each of the rooms. We were able to cook our own meals, BBQ and if we felt the desire to go out we were only moments away from Siesta Key Village. The location of Beach Point in my opinion is one the best on Siesta Key as it is located at the quiet end of the beach (north end i believe) and only moments away from several restaurants and shopping and of course a breath away from the best beach in the US!
From the moment we woke up we had sun in several locations throughout the grounds however there is also ample shade, outdoor tables, tiki huts, twinkle lights, fountains, bird feeders, and fun art sculptures located on the grounds. It is a very private, interesting and quiet oasis. Available for rent are amazing roadster bikes and paddles boards and kayaks if you're up for an adventure. Beach Point provides free beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers and floatation devices if you require.
We stayed for a month and I have full intent of returning. Thank you Beach Point Point for making our time in Sarasota so relaxed and fun! See you again in August!

Room Tip: Trust what the owner recommends as he is extremely experienced! He picked the perfect room for us ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tannis121253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

THE AREA:
I planned a trip to Siesta key for a month - SOLO. From mid April to mid May 2013.
I had never been to Sarasota / Siesta Key before, so knew very little about the general area.
I began my search for accommodations about a month before I was to get there. I happened upon Beachpoint Resort on Google.
I had called numerous resorts, and most were run by third party management companies, with limited answers to my queries..
Beachpoint is owner operated. I called the owner (Mike) and he spent a lot of time with me on the phone, accommodating all of my repeated questions about his resort, and the location.
He informed me that there were differences between staying farther south on Siesta Key (closer to the large public beach), and staying at the north end, by his resort - and a quieter beach.
And there are BIG differences.
The south public beach may have facilities, but it is huge, crowded, and a generally full parking lot.
*But be sure to catch the Drum Circle here every Sunday evening.

The beach at the north end is stunning, with an ever changing sand bar. This beach is used by locals and tourists staying at the north end - and within walking distance. There is no parking lot here to accommodate throngs of people driving in from elsewhere.
It is quiet, safe and family friendly - and across the street from Beachpoint Resort.
I was traveling alone, and felt no issues leaving my towel and bag of valuables sitting unattended while walking and swimming. Ladies, you will not feel that old "do I look ok in this bikini?" stress at this beach.
I have seen Dolphins, Manatee and countless small fish and Rays at this beach. And an array of water birds, including Pelicans, Egrets and Cormorants.
It really is quaint, friendly, uncrowded and relaxed. Make sure you go to the beach for sunset, many friendly people attend.
Beachpoint Resort is also about block from Siesta Key Village, and the Village is where the charm of Siesta key is.
People staying near the south public beach need to find transportation to the Village, there is not much parking available around the shops and restaurants, mostly valet - and limited.
I was able to walk to and from the Village easily, and felt very safe doing so alone.
THE RESORT:
Beachpoint is exactly what you see. It is not the Hilton, it IS however, beachy, inviting, relaxed, friendly, and CHARMIMG.
From Neptune to the Mermaid, to the painted signs, you know you are in a place of creativity. The grounds are a mix of gathering places, with old Florida charm. The shaded courtyard is one of the best parts about this place. "If" you want to make yourself available, you can make new friends, and intermingle with other guests. I made some new friends, and even did some activities with them.
In fact, I inherited unused items (laundry soap, etc) from outgoing guests, and in turn, I did the same when I was leaving. People are just so relaxed and friendly here.
There are plants and trees, bird feeders, squirrels, and Mikes dog "Boy" to make you feel relaxed. There are even dancing lights in the courtyard at night to give added charm while you relax with a glass of wine.
There is onsite laundry, wifi, beach buggies that include a noodle, umbrella, and a cooler. There are also paddle boards and beach chairs. Very friendly and accommodating cleaning staff.
The units are quaint, clean, equipped with what you need, and invite you to feel at home. I stayed in Suite 5, a large efficiency - perfect.
The owner (Mike) is always puttering around, and will advise you on things to do, and places to go. But be patient, he is there to run his business....but will stop to socialize when he can. He is a wealth of information!!....and as charming as his Resort.
He is there if you need something - as opposed to a condo that you are entirely left to fend for yourself in.
I would and will stay there again and again.
Most of the people I met there were either multiple year repeat guests, or first timers that were pre booking their next years vacation before they left.
I can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Peggy-Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed here many times and offen occupy several units. We live in sarasota but enjoy long weekends at the beach. We always have a blast. The location and amenities are hard to beat
All units have a kitchen and we often use the grills.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfaulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachpoint Resort Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachpoint Resort Cottages

Property: Beachpoint Resort Cottages
Address: 125 Beach Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2037
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachpoint Resort Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you vacation at Beachpoint on Siesta Key, you create memories. The eclectic cottages of Beachpoint are only 100 yards from the pure white, sugary sand of Siesta Key Beach. BeachPoint Resort Cottages is one of the very few vacation rental properties with direct access to a private area of the beach accessible primarily by foot or bike. Locals love this quiet and less crowded part of Siesta Beach. Our unique hotel offers eye candy everywhere: colorful cottages set in tropical gardens with vivid flowers, funky local art, large open sun decks and shaded courtyards. Gather with new friends in the courtyard, sunbathe on a deck with an ocean view, or hide away in a shady nook for a quiet read. You are just steps from the water and a short 2 minute stroll from Siesta Village, so you may never need to move your car! In the village you'll find a variety of restaurants and several bars featuring live music. You can shop with the locals for everything from groceries to clothes and shoes, books, souvenirs, and even hardware. And there's a US Post Office right in the local drugstore. All the conveniences are easily accessible, but Siesta Key maintains a feeling of old Florida. Locals treasure our pristine beaches which offer a protected habitat for native island birds, as well as the dolphins, manatees and other aquatic wildlife living just offshore. And each evening, locals and visitors walk or bike to our special part of the beach to see the best sunset views on the key. Once you visit the Beachpoint Cottages, you'll see why so many of our guests come back year after year to vacation with us on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Beachpoint Resort Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachpoint Hotel Siesta Key
Beachpoint Resort Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing