We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystal Sands
Nearby Hotels
Captiva Beach Resort(Siesta Key)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Palms of Siesta(Siesta Key)(Great Value!)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Breeze Resort(Siesta Key)
US$307
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Spray Resort(Siesta Key)
US$223
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flip Flop Cottages(Siesta Key)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
31
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrescent beachsiesta key beachcondounitspoolsvacationsand
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We always stay at Crystal Sands when traveling to Siesta Key. They had a 2 week minimum but if you go during the off season you can book for 1 week. We love room 809! Very nicely decorated and spacious! I cant say enough for this place and the staff is more than friendly. The beach view is outstanding and we love the screened in balcony.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look through the pics. When we called to book the receptionist was so friendly and recommended the updated rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We rented a condo through vrbo.com from Morgan Properties. It was a completely remodeled 2 bed, 2 bath oceanfront unit. It was beautiful, the beach has the most amazing white, powdery sand. The beach and pools were not crowded and the location was convienent to the Siesta Key "strip" of restaurants and bars. Use the Free Cab service for the night that you would like to induldge, just give them plenty of advance notice before you want to leave. We loved SKOB, great live music! If you plan on renting here, do yourself a favor and use Morgan Properties. The condo was spotless and had many "extras" that you don't usually find in a rental. There were nice beach towels, a pop up cabana , cooler, beach umbrellas as well as a computer and printer. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ilovebonjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed 8 nights in this villa. 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, with open kitchen and living area. Pictures on Crystal Sands website is pretty accurate. It was comfortable, spacious, it had everything we needed. The furnishing was ok. The adjacent garage was very handy especially when it was raining. There is no view except other villas and it isn't that bright inside. But that's ok because we were out most of the time.

There are 2 pools to choose from, one of them literally just outside our door. This one wasn't too crowded most of the time. The other pool by the beach tends to get crowded. The beach is beautiful, great for kids. The sand doesn't get hot which is great for walking.

HOWEVER, cockroaches were an issue. We killed 2 cockroaches on 2 different occassions. We called the front desk and they called the exterminators quickly. They came and sprayed while we were out. It must have worked because we saw a dead cockroach a few days later. I asked how toxic the spray was (should I cover up food? what about the kids?) but was told it wasn't toxic. Hmmm....if it kills cockroaches, it can't be too innocuous!

Also, our A/C didn't work for 2 days but maintenance was on it right away, one of those days being a Saturday. We were impressed with the service. Crystal Sands also gave us a discount (one night's rate) for the the A/C problem and cockroaches. They also let us check out late (1pm) because there was no one else checking in on our day of departure. The front desk was very prompt and helpful. Can't fault them.

The condo units are nicer, I think. I visited 2 other units in the condo and they were furnished much better, higher end appliances. We choose the villa because we only wanted to stay 1 week whereas the condo units have a minimum 2 weeks stay.

Shop at the Walmart (about 10 minutes away on Tamiami) instead of the Publix. Much cheaper. Visit MOTE acquarium, worth it but the Sea Life Encounter cruise was questionable. GWHIZ children's museum was good way to kill a couple of hours for the kids.

We ate out just once down in Siesta Key Village at the Daiquiri Deck (I think that was the name), cooked inside the villa rest of the time. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant, food wasn't that great.

With the exception of the cockroaches (someone told me they come out during the rainy season everywhere) which gave me the creeps, it is a nice villa for a family vacation. A beautiful beach is just steps away (2-3 minute walk on the resort) and there is little to do except relax on the beach or swim in the pool.

Just make sure you shake out everything before you pack up to go home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TorontoSunvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed a week in a villa- more than enough room. Two pools- main one got more crowded but never too crowded. Both warm mid day though- the main one stays a little cooler from shade. More than kept five kids aged 9-20 entertained. Great beach for sunset photos. Staff nice from initial contact & thru stay. Liked that I was able to contact owner thru vrbo but book thru Crystal Sands. It is just over the southern bridge where there is a Publix 5 mins away- also other stores. Lounge chairs hard to come by in morn but ok by afternoon. Def would come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We were so happy with our condo. The building is very large and I was afraid of it being noisy but it wasn't. Chairs are provided but we decided to rent a cabana for $20.00 per day so we could get some shade. We have stayed at another propery in years past but this will be "our" place for all of our future vacations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynnesPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews