We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming but needs work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captiva Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming but needs work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Siesta key is a great place to get away and hotel was very quiet but the room Is very dated and bed was horrible. Think 1960's or 70's cabinets and stove and bathroom. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper or hole in plaster not sure which and hole in base board by shower. Never saw any bugs so they must have sealed it well from the outside. Kitchen furnishings were lacking.... One coffee cup, one bowl one spoon, and coffee grounds from previous guest was still in coffee maker which really makes you wonder how sanitized the kitchen was before we arrived. The kitchen sink faucet barely delivered a stream of water so again it makes you wonder how well things are getting cleaned. Never had hot water no matter how long anything ran. Best we could get is luke warm. Someone needs to investigate shower at beach. Very strong order of waste water effluent coming from shower...with all the heavy rain maybe there is a leak??

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaBeachResort, General Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks so much for youy response to trip advisor. We are really sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel We are updating the hotel right now and things should be awesome if you choose to return. We hope you give us a second chance please let us know when you call that you are return guest. Thanks, S Zaccari G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    108
    46
    35
    27
See reviews for
140
168
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a great stay here! We stayed in room 20, and I must say our room was very clean and neat the entire time! "The Big Show" kept our room very clean and she was so sweet and polite 2 us during our stay!!! We will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonBaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
ShannonBaby1, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. I am so pleased to hear that the housekeeping team and the Big Show were able to meet your needs. Thank you again for being our guest and we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 girls and I enjoyed our stay. The value of the Captiva is worth the trip from GA to Sarasota. The Big Show and rest of the staff... Very sweet! Comfortable, clean and kitchen is equipped. We walked to the beach via private path 3 mins time every morning. They provide u w a map of the area, Papaya brand toiletries and extra towels. Grill and pool on site.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Jessica F, Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that your family had such a good time. The Staff really does strive to make sure each guest receives the guest services that they deserve. I will make sure to give our team a pat on the back. The Captiva Beach Resort really is in a perfect location. I am glad that you and your family were able to explore our beautiful sun kissed beach. We do thank you again, and we hope to see you sometime in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples fl
Level Contributor
314 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I had a nice weekend at The Captiva motel. Yes, "resort" would be a stretch as it is a 60's style motel. Drive right up to your room if someone hasn't taken your assigned spot. Parking is ridiculous there, and it was amusing watching the front desk clerk try to sort things out when a car parked in the wrong space and the owners could not be found. Stayed 2 nights and no room service. Had to go to the front desk to get a clean set of towels. Shower drain clogged so dirty water up to my ankles. Told the front desk the first day and they said they'd make a note of it but nothing done.

Yes you do have a coffee maker in your room, but bring your own coffee and fixings, they don't provide anything. One of the workers, "The Big Show," was very helpful and a pleasure to speak with, but to many annoyances with the room to rate it better than average. Beach is a short walk away and bring your own chairs as I believe guest have to rent them. Might go back, the price was right, but manage expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Mrfuni, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our Resort is a bit older, but I am happy that you were still able to appreciate its unique charm. We truly do appreciate your comments and will be sure to let upper management know your thoughts on our guest parking. I am pleased to hear that you will be one of our return guests, and we look forward to impressing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in Room 29 which was a 2 bedroom unit, one bedroom had king size bed with tv and closet and another bedroom was smaller but had a queen size bed. There was a nice size kitchen as soon as you walk in to your left and then a nice size living room/dining room area. The bathroom was bit small for sharing with ~4 people, but it was fine. Shower water pressure was top notch and hot water did no run out. The place was very clean and the beds were very comfy.

There was seating outside the unit in a small courtyard, which was nice. The walk was less than 5 minutes to the beach. There is also pool nearby.

There is parking for one car per unit. Within walking distance there is a 7/11, drugstore, and a few places to eat, but overall you will need a car to get to siesta key village, or you can take the free (tips only) taxi.

My only complaint is that the resort charges a rental fee for umbrellas and beach loungers. Overall a fantastic stay. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAT3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
KAT3715, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing review. I am so happy to hear that your overall stay was fantastic. Our home sweet home room 29 really is spacious, and has everything you could possibly need during your stay. The housekeeping team really does do their best to keep our resort looking beautiful and clean. The courtyard seating really is a nice touch, and I that you were able to explore the key while you were here. We do thank you for being our guests and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a great couple of days. Our room was very tidy and big enough for our needs. The staff was very very helfpul and friendly. Especially Eryn did a great job and helped us a lot! Hope we can come back soon!

Regards from Germany!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Georg L, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay. The Captiva Beach Resort has a large variety of different room types, and I am pleased that you were able to find the one that fit your needs. The staff really does go out of their way to make sure each guest has a good time. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We couldn't say enough good things about our stay. The gorgeous powdery beach was a short walk through pretty landscaped grounds, the pool was lovely, plus the room was clean & comfortable! Had everything you needed. We would also like to add that Erin at the Front Desk, was so helpful right from the start..from our reservation itself, then throughout our stay....nothing was too much trouble for her. We has a great time and will definitely be returning!

Ron & Sharon
West Chester, Pa

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Sharon N, Thank you so much for your warm review. Im glad that the Captiva Beach Resort was able to be a part of your amazing getaway. The soft powder sand, luscious green landscaping, and clear blue water really do set the tone for a perfect vacation. The addition of the heated pool and our charming rooms definitely does not hurt either. Thank you so much for being our get, and we can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Property: Captiva Beach Resort
Address: 6772 Sarasea Cir, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2521
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing