We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My family and I booked a short stay in Siesta Key to celebrate my grandmother's 70th and my sister's 30th b-days. There were 12 adults and two small children. We are all experienced travelers who have been to five star hotels all over the world. Since we booked a bit late, there was no availability at the 4 and 5 star hotels so I picked this hotel on the basis of its reviews on tripadvisor. Needless to say, I was a bit nervous. We arrived at about 11am to find out that check-in was at 3:30. The woman at the desk sprung into action, checking us in and giving us access to one room right away and to the rest of them a full three hours ahead of schedule. Within 30 minutes of arrival we were swimming in the pool. At check out, they accommodated us once again by allowing us to kepe one room until 1PM, three hours later than usual. The rooms were neat and well-kempt and the beach is a short walk away. I can't say enough about the convenience of having a kitchen when traveling with children. The hotel has all sorts of nice extras, like beach toys and sunglasses for the kids; a BBQ/tiki area where we spent an evening together grilling and relaxing and cabana rentals on the beach. The worst part of our stay was leaving. I am immensely grateful for the professionalism exhibited by the staff and for the opportunity to enjoy a five star vacation at a three star resort. Kudos.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marshadirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,512)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Beach Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,295 - 2,301 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here for ten days in March, 2008. Selected property on a basis of prior Tripadvisor reviews which rated it No. 1 hotel on Siesta Key. Stayed in a room with queen bed, fold out sofa and full kitchenette. Room was cramped. Property is not on beach, which is a short ( aproximately 400 yard ) walk. Property pool is smallish but well kept. Cost approximately $290/night tax included.

Better alternatives in terms of location, price (if one stays at least a week) and amenities seem to be the on-beach high rise condos of which there are several. Property staff is friendly and helpful: housekeeping adequate.

Property grounds are clean, parking adequate. Outdoor grilling facility and full laundry facilities available.

Fundamentally, would not stay here again because of other apparently better price/value beach front alternatives. Contact local and/or national real estate organizations (eg: Remax) to explore such.

Siesta Key itself is terrific. Super white sand. Good shelling. Entirely swimmable if water were warmer, although many children and surfers seemed to be enjoying 70 degree water.

Try "Turtles" restaurant about two miles south of the property. Good food at relatively reasonable prices. Sarasota also an interesting town. Recommend Ringling Museum, Aquarium.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Paulw051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

What a great place to stay, half a block from the beach, close to good restaurants, and most important to us; non intrusive! It's not a multi-floor mega-hotel, but that's only one way to experience the beach. We are going to be in the Sarasota area again, and will certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ayari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My family and I wanted to beat the "Winter Blues" with a short get-a-way to sunny Siesta Keys, FL. Based on it's location and website, I chose the Tropical Shores Beach Resort for our short visit. This hotel in conveniently located off any main road making it safe and quiet to walk and enjoy the tropical surroundings. A very short walk to the beach was fun and safe for our kids, ages 9 and 4. There are also numerous shops an quaint restaurants withing walking or driving distance.

We were extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly staff, the excellent location, nice accommodations, great communications and overall stay. Except for some cooler weather that did not exactly cooperate with our trip, my family’s first adventure to Florida was great. My children especially enjoyed the heated pool(s), short walk to the beach, lush palm garden/park and beautiful coastline. My children were also thrilled with the wildlife they saw including, pelicans, dolphins, shore birds and assorted marine life.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Sarasota / Siesta Key area. The staff made our visit a memorable one and we hope to visit the Tropical Shores Beach Resort again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank us4luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We visited this resort in the fall. We were so excited to go to the beach and get some rest after Disney World with a family with four small children. I knew right when we entered the door it wasn't going to be a nice stay. The rooms were musty smelling, and even with lots of lysol, I couldn't get the smell out. We tried to sleep with the windows open, but it was noisy. I didn't sleep at all the one night we stayed. More importantly, though, the beach at this point reeked of fish, and the sand was extremely shelly. We moved up the beach a ways, and stayed in a very nice condo that we were very pleased with, for less money, RIGHT ON THE BEACH! I would say to beware of this place unless you are easy going, don't mind smells and low-class amenities.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank amyjotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, Property Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2008

We appreciate the feedback all comments that our guests take to post on trip advisor! In regards to the recent review posted from a guest that stayed with us this past fall:

1. The beach conditions in this area have been extremely favorable for the past several months. A few months ago we experienced some seaweed wash up on the beach (not unusual for a barrier island during a storm) however the county was fantastic about cleaning it up working right through the entire weekend! Not an idea situation, but beyond the hotel’s control. Our guest were able to move north just a little bit not to experience any of the county work or inconvenience that was occurring while the seaweed was hauled away. They were cheerfully refunded the balance of their stay and offered assistance to help secure other accommodations in the immediate area.
2. All cleaning products used at the hotel are environmentally-friendly Green Seal Cleaning Products for 100% of our service. These contain no known carcinogens, mutagens or other products that contribute to allergies or other breathing difficulties. All Green Seal products have received the highest certification and approval from eco-friendly organizations in Canada and the U.S. Lysol is not a common product that would be used in an apartment. In addition, in December 2007 our housekeeping staff was awarded the White Glove Award from Superior Small Lodging receiving a 100% score (out of 100%) for the cleanliness standards after an unannounced onsite inspection was performed. This past month another housekeeper was selected as the Housekeeper of the Month and will be honored in the area TravelHost publication. This award represents the level of her dedication and quality of work. Last year, another housekeeper won the same award at this hotel. We can assure you, we have a total commitment to the cleanliness and comfort of the accommodations at Tropical Shores. Renting 16,000 room nights a year, we won’t have every last detail 100% but we DO guarantee to make things right if, we in fact, don’t exceed your expectations! We are here to make sure you have a fantastic vacation experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

We just spent 4 great nights at Tropical Shores Beach Resort on Siesta Key. We had a great time and really loved the quaint resort. Our deluxe efficiency had two full beds, a futon and a fully equipment kitchen. The resort is on the beach side of the road and was just a short walk to the beach. Most of the units are ground floor level with reserved room parking right outside your door. Very convenient. The staff were just as attentive as any 5* Hotel (if not more so). While we had a car, we actually did not need one to stay here. A very nice grocery store, great drug store and restaurants were within a few blocks. We loved the location and the ambience of Tropical Shores. We will come back.

Stayed: February 2008
7  Thank susiejsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Based largely on TripAdvisor reviews, we (2 adults) booked 2 nights at the “Tropical Shores” in Siesta Key – at least, that was what we thought. To make a long story short – be very careful and specific about which property you are actually lodging at. It turns out that the Tropical Shores Resort apparently operates the Tropical Shores Beach Resort as well as the adjoining Tropical Sun property, and I still don’t understand the relationship between the different company names and the actual properties. The properties and the fee structure are different (we discovered “Sun” is considerably less expensive than “Shores”, and what we thought was a good value rate – we pre-paid for the room -- was not such a bargain). Cutting right to the chase: on arrival, we got placed in “Sun” and didn’t realize that we were in the less expensive property until the second evening. The signage, advertising, and promotion of these two properties do little to make the distinction clear. To be fair: I am not assigning blame to the property management, because we were too tired at check-in to look carefully, and we were too rushed at checkout to bother to contest the bill. I just hope that other readers will find this information useful.

Tropical Sun has a single level “motor court”-style layout, with parking right outside your window, and a common covered walkway between all rooms. It’s an older property, and you first open the door and are greeted with the scent of odor killer. We stayed in #156, which was a studio (two beds, futon, and a full kitchen). The first night we listened to the good old boys outside on the walk getting drunk and smoking cigarettes, two rooms down.

POSITIVES
Heated pool was warm in mid-January, especially the morning after they remembered to cover it the night before
Bath and kitchen were generally clean
Kitchen and dining area was fine for the two of us. Fridge, plates and cupboards were clean. Oddly, the fridge door opened on the ‘wrong’ side – a minor thing.
The beach was very nice, had plenty of shells, and the sand is unique. However: it’s about a 200 yard walk from the room to the first place where you could put down a towel on an empty beach. Wear sandals, because of broken or sharp shells. When we were there, seaweed tended to accumulate on the south side of the beach, so you may want to walk an additional few hundred yards to the north.
There is plenty of water pressure and fairly steady hot water in the shower.


NEGATIVES
The room and particularly blankets smelled of smoke. There is a “No smoking” sign inside, but chairs with ashtrays directly outside each room. Go figure.
The door striker was misaligned from the door frame, and it was extremely difficult to even open the door, let alone lock it
The toilet refills with a shrieking sound, loud enough to wake up anyone in the room that was sleeping without earplugs
When we arrived, there was an empty soda bottle that had been left under one of the beds
The front double-hung windows opened fine. The smaller and older rear aluminum casement windows were really hard to crank open or closed – the head of each bed blocked your hand from turning the crank. One of the window screens was out of its frame and couldn’t be put back in.
The shower drain started backing up after running the water for a couple minutes, and usually got a few inches deep. No leaks, because the tiled shower has a pretty high ledge step.

MEZZA-MEZZA
Bring your own AC extension cord if you want any spare outlets in the bed area to charge a phone, etc. Access to wall outlet plate in bed area requires moving a heavy bed back and forth.
The “beach” towels loaned at the front desk are actually “bath” towel size. Get extras if you can.
The two shower knobs, lack of an anti-scald valve, and the high shower ledge, in combination, might have accident potential for kids, elderly, or anyone unused to such a setup. You might want to have a family discussion about operation prior to first use.
We didn’t open the futon up, but it looks like it’d block the door a bit if it was.

EATS (see other TA restaurant reviews), SIGHTS
The free Siesta Key Visitor’s Guide (small, colorful tourist paper) was just fine for initially getting around
Short walk – City Pizza was OK. Clayton’s had a very good breakfast.
Longer walk – Big Al’s (back on mainland, right on route 41) – good value, typical American menu, LOTS of TVs
Short drive – Sweet Tomatoes, 4994 Tamiami Trail – chain salad bar restaurant. All you can eat, includes pasta, soup, bread, dessert, $10 adults, $6/kids. Good value. Quite crowded when we were there.

OVERALL
The experience was average for an older property, maybe a little disappointing in light of the reviews for the place that we mistakenly expected to stay in.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2008

We take guest feedback very seriously and were very concerned to read the review written by a recent guest. This guest reserved their accommodation on Expedia which describes Tropical Sun as being a less expensive option offering smaller bathroom areas. Furthermore the websites also go into greater detail of the different price point options. Tropical Sun is a very clean and well maintained. There is a large demand for families looking for less expensive clean accommodations while enjoying the beauty of Siesta Key. This property offers private beach access, a heated pool, free wireless internet in all rooms. Complimentary housekeeping, newspapers, coffee, gas grills, etc. Most people find Tropical Sun to be a treasure find in an area of very upscale expensive rentals with minimum stays. There are very few places around that offer daily stays at an affordable price in this area. Upscale high end condos are the norm. It is true that it is very clearly posted at checkin and in the rooms that smoking inside accommodations is not permitted. However, guests are permitted to smoke outside. And yes, it is possible that a previous guest may have negated to follow this and smoke in the room. This can happen at any hotel. But, the hotel goes through great lengths to overcome this when it happens including cleaning carpet, using ozone machines, etc. We do everything possible to create a smoke free environment. Our records actually show that that this guest checked in at 2:33 p.m. and there was never any mention during his entire stay that he was displeased, disappointed, or wanted to transfer over to Tropical Shores. Looking back, we actually had a deluxe accommodation available on January 18-20 (the dates of this guests travel) and would have happily moved him over had we had any indication that this guest was unhappy. Renting nearly 16,000 room nights a year we can’t promise that we will meet every guest expectations. But, we do promise to do everything possible to make things right for our guests. Our philosophy is very strong in believing that vacations are extremely important and it’s our job to make sure our guests are extremely happy. We will do whatever it takes to achieve that. We are very proactive in keeping our guests happy. But we have to at least be told there is a problem so we can make it right. For future travelers, we are also very excited to announce that Tropical Sun will be undergoing a major transformation later this year to include a complete remodel of all interiors. We are expected to start in June and be completed by the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: £114 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing