We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation - terrific hotel - great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Vacation - terrific hotel - great experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I found Tropical Shores through an Internet search and let me say that it was the find of the year. The setting is tropical with traditional and exotic flowers blooming all over. The bird sounds made you feel as though you were in a jungle. The room was spotless and we loved having the small kitchen for breakfast and snacks. The staff was terrific. My laptop had a problem and they not only found a pc repair for me leaving a notice on my door, they let me know about a drug store across the street that rented computer time.

You can BBQ on the grounds and there are several swimming pools to take advantage of.

And then there's the beach. With sand like powdered sugar and water like liquid turquoise, this is paradise. The price for our off-season vacation was very reasonable. The other guests were adults with a few young kids. Restaurants across the street and down from the hotel were good and the Botanical Gardens were spectacular. We will definitely come back to this location. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Liked — Very Tropical looking and only a minute or two from an incredible ocean
  • Disliked — Maid pushing cart or trash container near the room in the morning - very loud
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PapitoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,656
    603
    109
    33
    23
See reviews for
737
1,260
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2008

I have nothing bad to say about our stay at the Tropical Shores. It was awsome!! two days were not enough. The rooms were very clean, the grounds were like a picture. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The beach is like nothing I have seen. The sand like baby powder and never hot on your feet. Having the mini efficiency gave us the option to eat in and save if we wanted. Was nice having the in room coffee pot, I could fix my coffee and walk on the beach at my leisure. Complimentary news papers were nice too. Nothing could be better then the cool morning air coming off the ocean with a hot cup of coffee and the news paper to start the day. We had free use of the trolley which took us to Siesta Villiage were we could shop and eat and take part in the night life. You must experience Drumming on the beach which takes place every Sunday night at 8pm at the main beach. I am already planning my next trip, have told all my family and friends about the place and hope they will come also. There are also so many things close by to see and do.
GREAT PLACE!! GREAT STAFF!!, GREAT BEACH, !!
SEE YA SOON

  • Liked — all rooms had their own door to the outside, park at the door , beach was very close
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank living4sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My family and I booked a short stay in Siesta Key to celebrate my grandmother's 70th and my sister's 30th b-days. There were 12 adults and two small children. We are all experienced travelers who have been to five star hotels all over the world. Since we booked a bit late, there was no availability at the 4 and 5 star hotels so I picked this hotel on the basis of its reviews on tripadvisor. Needless to say, I was a bit nervous. We arrived at about 11am to find out that check-in was at 3:30. The woman at the desk sprung into action, checking us in and giving us access to one room right away and to the rest of them a full three hours ahead of schedule. Within 30 minutes of arrival we were swimming in the pool. At check out, they accommodated us once again by allowing us to kepe one room until 1PM, three hours later than usual. The rooms were neat and well-kempt and the beach is a short walk away. I can't say enough about the convenience of having a kitchen when traveling with children. The hotel has all sorts of nice extras, like beach toys and sunglasses for the kids; a BBQ/tiki area where we spent an evening together grilling and relaxing and cabana rentals on the beach. The worst part of our stay was leaving. I am immensely grateful for the professionalism exhibited by the staff and for the opportunity to enjoy a five star vacation at a three star resort. Kudos.

  • Liked — Serene and well thought out.
  • Disliked — No hot tub.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marshadirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here for ten days in March, 2008. Selected property on a basis of prior Tripadvisor reviews which rated it No. 1 hotel on Siesta Key. Stayed in a room with queen bed, fold out sofa and full kitchenette. Room was cramped. Property is not on beach, which is a short ( aproximately 400 yard ) walk. Property pool is smallish but well kept. Cost approximately $290/night tax included.

Better alternatives in terms of location, price (if one stays at least a week) and amenities seem to be the on-beach high rise condos of which there are several. Property staff is friendly and helpful: housekeeping adequate.

Property grounds are clean, parking adequate. Outdoor grilling facility and full laundry facilities available.

Fundamentally, would not stay here again because of other apparently better price/value beach front alternatives. Contact local and/or national real estate organizations (eg: Remax) to explore such.

Siesta Key itself is terrific. Super white sand. Good shelling. Entirely swimmable if water were warmer, although many children and surfers seemed to be enjoying 70 degree water.

Try "Turtles" restaurant about two miles south of the property. Good food at relatively reasonable prices. Sarasota also an interesting town. Recommend Ringling Museum, Aquarium.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulw051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

What a great place to stay, half a block from the beach, close to good restaurants, and most important to us; non intrusive! It's not a multi-floor mega-hotel, but that's only one way to experience the beach. We are going to be in the Sarasota area again, and will certainly be staying here.

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell,OH
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My family and I wanted to beat the "Winter Blues" with a short get-a-way to sunny Siesta Keys, FL. Based on it's location and website, I chose the Tropical Shores Beach Resort for our short visit. This hotel in conveniently located off any main road making it safe and quiet to walk and enjoy the tropical surroundings. A very short walk to the beach was fun and safe for our kids, ages 9 and 4. There are also numerous shops an quaint restaurants withing walking or driving distance.

We were extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly staff, the excellent location, nice accommodations, great communications and overall stay. Except for some cooler weather that did not exactly cooperate with our trip, my family’s first adventure to Florida was great. My children especially enjoyed the heated pool(s), short walk to the beach, lush palm garden/park and beautiful coastline. My children were also thrilled with the wildlife they saw including, pelicans, dolphins, shore birds and assorted marine life.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Sarasota / Siesta Key area. The staff made our visit a memorable one and we hope to visit the Tropical Shores Beach Resort again in the near future.

  • Liked — The location is excellent!!! Not beachfront, but just a short, safe walk...
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank us4luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We visited this resort in the fall. We were so excited to go to the beach and get some rest after Disney World with a family with four small children. I knew right when we entered the door it wasn't going to be a nice stay. The rooms were musty smelling, and even with lots of lysol, I couldn't get the smell out. We tried to sleep with the windows open, but it was noisy. I didn't sleep at all the one night we stayed. More importantly, though, the beach at this point reeked of fish, and the sand was extremely shelly. We moved up the beach a ways, and stayed in a very nice condo that we were very pleased with, for less money, RIGHT ON THE BEACH! I would say to beware of this place unless you are easy going, don't mind smells and low-class amenities.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank amyjotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, Property Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 13 February 2008
We appreciate the feedback all comments that our guests take to post on trip advisor! In regards to the recent review posted from a guest that stayed with us this past fall:

1. The beach conditions in this area have been extremely favorable for the past several months. A few months ago we experienced some seaweed wash up on the beach (not unusual for a barrier island during a storm) however the county was fantastic about cleaning it up working right through the entire weekend! Not an idea situation, but beyond the hotel’s control. Our guest were able to move north just a little bit not to experience any of the county work or inconvenience that was occurring while the seaweed was hauled away. They were cheerfully refunded the balance of their stay and offered assistance to help secure other accommodations in the immediate area.
2. All cleaning products used at the hotel are environmentally-friendly Green Seal Cleaning Products for 100% of our service. These contain no known carcinogens, mutagens or other products that contribute to allergies or other breathing difficulties. All Green Seal products have received the highest certification and approval from eco-friendly organizations in Canada and the U.S. Lysol is not a common product that would be used in an apartment. In addition, in December 2007 our housekeeping staff was awarded the White Glove Award from Superior Small Lodging receiving a 100% score (out of 100%) for the cleanliness standards after an unannounced onsite inspection was performed. This past month another housekeeper was selected as the Housekeeper of the Month and will be honored in the area TravelHost publication. This award represents the level of her dedication and quality of work. Last year, another housekeeper won the same award at this hotel. We can assure you, we have a total commitment to the cleanliness and comfort of the accommodations at Tropical Shores. Renting 16,000 room nights a year, we won’t have every last detail 100% but we DO guarantee to make things right if, we in fact, don’t exceed your expectations! We are here to make sure you have a fantastic vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing