We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but this is just a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This is one time that the reviews on Trip Advisor really misled me - I was expecting so much more based on all the great ratings I read. To call this a "resort" is quite a stretch. It is just a bunch of older motels with some recent OK upgrades - certainly nothing special. On the plus side, the beds were extremely comfortable with nice linens, and the room was clean if on the basic side. The beach is just a short walk away. The staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geegeeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, Vic Falck, Operating Consultant at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

We thank our guests for rating us 5 out of 5 on service and are glad that our recent guests found the beds to be extremely comfortable with nice linens! Siesta Key is a beach-casual area that offers one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Our accommodations are modern in décor’ with many nice updates. We have volleyball, shuffleboard, beach rentals, complimentary lounges, free wifi, computer access, housekeeping is included, and breakfast can be delivered to your room. There are two pools, tiki hut grill areas, and very pretty garden areas for socializing outside. Our office is open seven days a week with a full staff on property to assist the needs of our guests. Siesta Key caters primarily to beach-casual travelers. Our guests can come here without a car (if they choose) and everything from restaurants, to shops, grocery store, etc are all within walking distance. It’s a casual feeling but we really try to make it extra special! Our amenities, grounds, and private beach access hopefully provide a wonderful spot for singles, couples, and families to enjoy beautiful Siesta Key. We are committed to providing the best experience to our guests everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,174 - 2,180 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

This was our second stay her in two years. This years vacation was even better, the rooms were remodeled and super comfortable. The bed, bathroom, mini kitchen made the stay so much better. We used the outdoor bbq grill. The room is a 2 minute walk across the parking lot and driveway to the beach. The beach is so cozy and warm. You can rent umbrellas and chairs. The resort is small nestled within several other resorts. Location is close to movies, restaurants, malls, supermarkets and everything you could imagine. We went to Nixon groves and bought fresh fruit. This resort is about an hour from Tampa Airport but an easy highway drive. I wish I could move here it seems so quiet and nice. I am sure we will return next year. It was really cold on this visit and we needed our winter coats to walk on the beach, it didn't matter cause it was still warmer than Pa. Honestly, I can't say enough about this resort and I traveled to lots of places over the years.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My husband & I just returned from two nights at the Tropical Shores, part of the Tropical Beach Resorts on Siesta Key. We had a mini efficiency, which was small but had everything we could possibly have needed, including a 2-burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, IHome docking station, DVD player and tables for 2, both inside and out. The property was beautiful and very well maintained. Our room was very clean and attractive and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. It as a short walk to the beautiful beach. We loved the Island, the restaurants and bars, and the shell-hunting. We can't wait to go back to the Tropical Shores.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Really great find! We live in Sarasota, and wanted to do something special for our 15th wedding anniversary! A friend got married at Sara Sea last summer and the place looked so charming we thought we would try a little staycation for our big night! And we have one of the top ten beaches right here -- so why not enjoy it! We booked 2 nights at Sara Sea... right across the bridge from home, but it felt like we really went AWAY! The girl at the front desk was really nice and told us happy anniversary -- how sweet.... The room was elegant and modern/tropical -- not that cheesy bright stuff -- but rich and warm and comfortable! I would say Tommy Bahama's style. And there was a nice bottle of wine waiting for us -- not sure if they do that for everyone or just because I mentioned our anniversary! We took a walk on the beach before dinner -- at the french restaurant right across the street. And there is a cute little beach bar up the block -- we had the nicest evening -- and never got in the car! The bed was compfy with plush duvet and soft pillows! We had a very nice but small kitchen to keep some snacks. The hotel doesn't have room service, but does have a breakfast delivery service from a great little cafe -- we ordered the day before and it was on time -- and much yummier than your average room service -- and affordable too! We went to the beach and decided to enjoy a hobby cat sail boat rental from the service they have at the beach. A school of dolphin actually came to swim around our little boat! Then we took a dip in the pool -- all surrounded with flowering bushes ad foliage.... relaxing. We decided to grill our own dinner and enjoy the pretty picnic areas -- the grounds are lush and well kept! The grill ran out of gas -- I dialed the desk and with in minutes a golf cart sped up and "Frankie to the rescue" changed it with a smile... I said wow thanks for the quick service -- and he said that is why they call me "frankie to the rescue". I enjoyed a BATH -- which I only do in the cleanest of rooms -- nice up-scale toiletries offered -- and freshly remodeled and spotless! Another perfect evening!

The place is quaint and upscale-casual, remodeled and well maintained but keeps the "old Florida beach" feel with nice gardens -- but the staff really made the place... all smiling faces and the friendliest vibes!! Great spot -- I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GardenGirlie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, Dawn Van Lanen, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2010

Always delighted to hear one of our guests had a great experience! We believe this guest stayed at Tropical Sun Resort which offers new rooms with spacious bathrooms and bathtubs. All five buildings are together and there is sometimes confusion in the names. However, Tropical Sun has bathtubs and Sara Sea has class enclosed walk-in showers.
Please keep the reviews coming! We absolutely love hearing from our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

My wife and I just concluded a three-night stay at the Sara Sea Resort. We enjoyed every minute. We stayed in room 180 and found it to be very clean and comfortable. The room had everything we wanted, and all was in good working order. The bathroom was a little small, but it was no problem. The resort grounds and pool were immaculate, and the beautiful white-sand beach and blue-green ocean waters of Siesta Key were only a two-minute walk down a pretty tropical path. At the same time, good dining and shops were only a short walk from the Sara Sea. We'd recommend the Sara Sea to other couples looking for a great beach getaway. Be sure to catch the sun set over the Gulf.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I was disappointed with the location not having the ability to see the beach at all since the website map is deceptive. It is very congested with other "communities" so close by you don't understand where one starts and the other ends. Service was great and very accommodating. The website makes it appear much more upscale and larger than it really is, so the price paid was higher than I would have expected.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floorbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraSeaResort, Dawn Van Lanen, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

We are always pleased to read that another one of our guests felt they received great service and found the staff to be very accommodating. Our website content and photos are very specific to the property and very clear to the location, amenities, distance to the beach, and the fact that although the property is located beach-side and about 70 yards to Crescent Beach that all apartments are ground floor single story and do not have water views from the rooms. We hope that guests would find our web site fun and easy to navigate and find all the information needed to ensure that their expectations will be met based on the property criteria needed. There is also a FAQ section on our website which is very specific to questions regarding location and the property. We are also available seven days a week to answer your questions. We never represent that the property provides gulf views from the actual rooms. This posting made us really go through our web site to verify there were not any unintended misleading information and after much consideration, we feel very strongly that the web site is very content specific to the resort, location, and expectations but are always sincerely open to feedback on how to make things better. We are here and we are listening and we take all comments into genuine consideration. We thank everyone for posting reviews to let us know what we are doing well and areas in which we can improve. We love our guests at Sara Sea Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I bid and won on this resort on the Florida Vacation Auction Website and was skeptical at first as when you see on-line and then the actual you never know what you will get! This was PERFECT from beginning to end - from the Florida Vacation Website, the Resort Staff, the Resort, Room (Sandpiper King), the Beach! We stayed 3 days and 2 nights and wish it were longer!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new2traveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
703 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: £111 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing