We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ophelia's on the Bay

Ophelia's on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$39
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota's premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 27 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location is beautiful - especially to sit outside and enjoy the view.
The food is very good, a little expensive but worth it - although the dessert we had was just ok.
Tip is automatically added on to the bill - we would rather choose how much to tip based on service, but we must say that we did have excellent service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    229
    111
    54
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average food, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

You pay for the atmosphere here- beautiful outside dining. But the food is only average and the prices border on outrageous for the portions given. Just okay for a special occasion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob50rph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renchen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been in this restaurant at the easter weekend. The Restaurants location is beautiful. We instantly felt very welcomed and our waiter was very nice. The food was very good and in all it was a perfect evening. We would recommand it to everyone and we will go back to this place when we are in Florida the next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ursula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“going downhill quickly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Ok, so I have written many reviews of Ophelia's since 2007. Loved it when it was run by professionals, had professional servers, and wonderful food.
Things have changed. I wrote a review last month asking where the professional servers have gone. It was ok, but not what it used to be.
So this April, my birthday month, my "sorella" planned a birthday dinner for me on the 27th. It was a beautiful night and the four of us sat outside. Our server never identified herself, and was not the best we've had. Drinks were served, orders were taken and we were off to a great evening....
The prices are very high, but we have never minded, since the food was always top notch. Not tonight.
My partner ordered the pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon, about $31--pricey for pork tenderloin. He ordered it medium rare. When it arrived--two tiny 2 inch pieces--it was overcooked. The sides were minimal and he was disappointed. Two of us ordered the "hogfish"--tiny filets almost overcooked with disappointing sides. Another $31 entrée for each of us. The pork was taken back into the kitchen, and my partner sat there with nothing to eat. No comps here! No manager asking how things were. When the pork returned, it was still over-cooked...
As I mentioned before, Ophelia's has been our favorite for many years, but it has changed. We have heard from a former employee that it has been sold and hopefully, will be brought back to its former standard.
As an aside, we were also told by a former employee, that the valet service had been discontinued and replaced by a "cheaper" service. Well, we just found out that the other car driven by our guests and parked by the valet service on April 27, found a set of keys under their seat cushion, not belonging to them. When they called Ophelia's, no one seemed to have any information about a group missing their keys. Very strange, it seems. How did these poor people get home?
I guess that we were spoiled by delicious food, professional service, as well as the incredible setting at Ophelia's. How sad that the people in charge now have let it go downhill so quickly.. No wonder that Dan, Michael, and other servers have left Ophelia's for a better environment.
Stan and Jane had a fabulous place, but let it go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmk1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food great setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an upscale restaurant serving upscale food. The price is a little expensive but well worth it. I had the lamb it was very good and not to rare which is how most lamb is served. My wife had the grouper and it had a good flavor without alot of spice . Had a nice dessert and some wine. Sat next to the water as requested and the service was very good. I was impressed with the restaurant and its staff . Wife said the place was amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parfectgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing