We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Siesta Dunes Beach Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
Twin Palms of Siesta(Siesta Key)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Breeze Resort(Siesta Key)
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captiva Beach Resort(Siesta Key)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$205
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$698
US$584
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
50
16
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
16
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge decksecurity gatestayed in buildingnice pool and hot tubgreat condogulf of mexicotennis courtscovered parkingwasher and dryerbeen coming here for yearssiesta key in sarasotaslidersdirect accesscondo complexliving roomsecond bedroomplan to return
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Siesta Dunes in the past and always enjoyed ourselves but this time was different. Children were constantly hassled at the pool by the staff for stupid stuff and just as rudely as possible to the adults and the kids, no reason to put up with this!
The grounds were dirty, the pool was locked from all but one entrance and that entrance was generally blocked by a golf cart. The sun deck was roped off like a crime scene for the entire week and they finally replaced 5 boards on Wednesday, it remained closed. We had to stand in line for 20 minutes in hopes of getting beach chairs. Several guests reported getting things stolen. This place has gone way down hill. What a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JimmyJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you are keen on Theft and being treated poorly this is your place!

Rules, Rules, Rules…. This is the opposite of Outback “No Rules, Just Right” Every bare spot has a policy or rule posted and none of them are to benefit the guest. As if that isn’t enough they have a team of “security” in a golf carts that genuinely enjoy enforcing silly policies that they say are state laws, they are not. It is unfortunate that security is not working preventing the stealing and is instead focused on hassling guests. Our friends fishing gear was stolen as well as our snorkeling gear and management does not care.

Crowds and lines: The beach and pool are PACKED, and chairs are a huge problem. People queue up to get chairs in the morning, (picture) but the time is changed often. One-day 9:00 another day 10:00 making it difficult to plan your day at the beach. The 10:00 line up has so many disgruntled guests yelling at the arrogant disengaged staff it sounds like an Occupy Rally every day. The guests hate the policies at this place.

The pool doesn’t open until 10:00 and that is ENFORCED! This is not great for vacationing kids in and of itself. Additionally it will be randomly closed for a day or most of a day for bogus reasons, e.g. it rained yesterday so we are closed until 2:00 today.

Rubber Band Rule: you must wear a rubber band on your wrist even if it hurts, and if you lose one it costs $25, precious rubber!

Screw you on the float rule: your security deposit is held for 30 days after your visit. Why? It takes the business office that long to cut a check. Funny, when I paid they could process a credit card in seconds just like the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I began visiting Sarasota when one of the executives in my wife's office recommended Siesta Dunes Beach Condominium on Siesta Key and offered their apartment for our trip. We have been going back every since, for more than 30 years. When the apartment we had rented for several years was taken off the market, we found 8-205, which is owned by a couple from Ireland. All the amenities of home...two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, dining room, living room, screened in porch, lots of closet space. Who could ask for anything more? Oh, I almost forgot. The condominium is maintained in immaculate fashion with an on-site staff that caters to your every need. You can swim in the pool or the Gulf of Mexico (the water is 87 degrees when we visit in June and July), play tennis and walk the four miles of beach. Sarasota is a great town with many good restaurants, the Ringling Museum and Art Gallery, St. Armands Circle for shoppers and St. Petersburg right across the Sunshine Skyway than spans Tampa Bay. If you don't enjoy your time at Siesta Dunes, you don't have a pulse.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. It only matters if you want a Gulf view or need more room and beds for children and/or family. We prefer Building 8, which is farthest away from the pool noise and congestion. You don't have to look out your window to see the Gulf. You can talk out your door, take a few steps and jump into the water. How's that for living?
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We got married at Siesta Dunes on May 4, 2013. The grounds there are just amazingly gorgeous...I just felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. All of our guests who stayed on the property enjoyed the pool, beach and deck. We ate dinner on the deck several nights, which was very enjoyable.

My one major complaint is their policy on seasonal rate changes, and also the required $400 deposit (even for 2-night rentals). All reservations made in December were subject to a 5% "possible" rate increase. Why can't they just determine the rate change far enough in advance so that what you get quoted is what you pay? I have rented vacation rental properties all over the world and have never encountered a policy like this one. Also, why can't they just take a credit card number for "incidentals", like a hotel, instead of charging $400 for a deposit, which supposedly gets returned 30 days later (haven't seen mine yet!). A few of our guests did not stay here because of these policies.

Despite some less than stellar policies, we are happy we chose to get married at Siesta Dunes. The unit we stayed in was nice and clean (3-24B), but somewhat dated. The kitchen is new, but the bathrooms need some updating, and the place generally needs redecorating. The unit is on the market for $1.3M, and they definitely need to do some upgrades if they are going to get that price. We also were not aware of the large flight of stairs when we booked (no elevator in building 3, unlike most of the buildings). Had we known about the stairs we probably would've picked a different unit since my husband had knee surgery a few months ago.

I hope someday my husband and I can come back for an anniversary trip. We'll probably stay in a different unit though. We were sorry to hear that they won't be doing weddings any more, so we're glad we got in under the gun! To my knowledge, there are no other beachside reception locations on Siesta Key...it's a shame!

Room Tip: Look at their website - there are photos of each unit, so you can find one that suits your taste. All units are individually owned, so they all look different inside.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Visited Siesta Dunes from 4-18 of May and was not disappointed. Great location near the bridge connecting SK and Sarasota, close to all your needs (Publix, CVS, restaurants, Costco, shopping centers, golf courses, etc). Beach is amazing, pool is nice with its salt water filtration system (great for kids) and nice BBQ to grill dinner. Property is well maintained and has 24hr security. The only downside is that sound proofing of the units are under par. We had two different sets of visitors above our unit and could ear them walk and laugh. Maybe we were unlucky and got bad travelers both weeks... Next time we will rent a top floor unit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World_Traveler_YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews