We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sea Spray Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Tropical Breeze Resort(Siesta Key)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri at Siesta(Siesta Key)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
512
78
15
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
78
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towelsmanager bobacross the streetprivate poolbeach accessshort walkfire pitbeach cartsiesta key villagewashers and dryerspool toyswalking distance to the villagehoneymoon suitethe kitchenfree laundrychairs and umbrellasan umbrella
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a very clean well maintained property and our rooms were just as described on their website. The staff are friendly and helpful. They provide towels and face cloths but you have to wash them in the free washer / drier when you want clean ones. The air conditioner fans are noisy even on low speed but I was able to sleep well. It is about a five minute walk from the room to the beach. I appreciated the convenient parking. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #202 "Blue Herron" and it more than met our expectations.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in the Egret condo room 203. It is a one bedroom. Very clean, two A/C's, two TV's. There were three floors. We were on the second.
Only the TV in the bedroom does not get all the channels. We loved the comfortable bed, and sofa. There is a small outdoor balcony.
The kitchen was very nice. Stainless fridge and dishwasher. The hot plate was old and rusty.We did not use it and didn't need to. The laundry is free and very nice. The grounds are
clean and the pool looked very nice. Josh in the office was very friendly and helpful. He found me a hair dryer to use. Mario who was working there helped us out with some questions. We
enjoyed visiting with him. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only negative is the walk to
the beach. We had just come from staying at a place directly on the beach and missed it.
We loved being able to walk about 6 blocks to the village for shops and food. Very good
food. I even had my nails done at one of the salons there. There are more than one.
Siesta Key beach sand is like sugar and made from 99% quartz. Always cool.
It is fun to walk down the beach the public beach and get your photo taken by the
signs. They also have restrooms and refreshments.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. It just depends on what kind you want. There are several.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at numerous resorts and hotels on Siesta Key and this is definitely our favorite. We are Floridians and consider this a wonderful getaway location. The Sea Spray is in perfect condition and located across the street from an excellent beach area. The restaurants and live entertainment are just a short walk from the resort but not so close that you are in a party zone. The staff there is outstanding and we really liked Bob and Josh a ton. They helped with any needs we had and made both of our stays great. My only worry is that everyone finds out about this place and makes it difficult to get a room in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VLB0548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here for our honeymoon last year in June. We stayed in unit number 9 Sand Dollar. We would recommend it (mainly for location, facilities and cleanliness), but did have a few issues mainly affecting sleep.

Pros:
Location, location, location
Very clean unit apart from the BBQ, which was not at all clean
Provided beach towels, which was a nice touch.
The pool was superb in our unit for just the two of us.
BBQ provided (see negatives too)
Free internet that was a good speed
Laundry facility
Comfy bed
Well stocked kitchen

Cons:
Within the first hour there we received at least 5 calls from people enquiring about staying there.
We had to uplug the phone to get some peace, which is not ideal if you’ve given the number to family in case of emergency.
Sprinklers came on at 1am and were hitting the drain pipe outside our room very loudly, so couldn’t sleep till we went and repositioned it.
The unit next door’s porch light is right outside the bedroom window which is really bad planning as it lights up the bedroom.

Bob was helpful and friendly at check in, but was nowhere to be seen when checking out, which did cause a bit of a problem as the maid just walked straight into the unit to clean it when we were still there. We were all packed up and then found out that our flight had been delayed, so it would have been handy to have Bob around to ask if we could hang around a bit longer. The maid told us that we couldn’t though and had to leave, which is fair enough if someone else is checking in, but we were a bit shocked that no-one was there to check us out and had no idea what to do with the keys as the office was locked. I would expect an owner to want to enquire about your stay and wish you on your way.

Room Tip: Unit 9 is wonderful
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LizandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

So we stayed a week in unit # 9 with the pool. They were nice people here but we weren't happy enough that we'd go back. The room, when we first walked in, we thought "wow, this will be a permanent place to vacation at." Sadly, it didn't work out that way.
We started noticing things like dirt on the ceiling fan blades and the coffee maker didn't look like it was very clean when you opened the lid. The fridge had the bottom grill just sitting there but not attached. Small things but stuff you notice.
The pool was supposed to be heated to 82 and we were asked not to adjust it. I only saw it hit 82 once during the day and the rest of the time was 79 or 80. Small difference but certainly noticeable on a cool evening.
The entire pool area need to be cleaned up. There is a carpet or something balled up in one corner, the grill cover was sitting in a similar manner behind the grill instead of on it. The grill grates were rusted, and the foil ones purchased by the previous occupant were still there.
The whole deck needed to be powerwashed. The umbrella is broken on the patio table and to be honest, the pool area could desperately use some foliage. Maybe some hanging baskets off the walls or something. Even the island area around the heater should be mulched and have something planted around it instead of two tree stumps.

We really wanted to like this place and were psyched at the thought of having our own pool and maybe having found a place to return to each year. But those issues contributed to our general "meh" feeling about the place, There were two issues that absolutely ruined it for us.
The bed is a mattress sitting on top of a sheet of plywood. While getting up, my wife pulled a muscle and had a massage while we were in town to help alleviate the pain and was told she was in very bad shape and should take an epsom salt bath.
Simply put, the bed was not acceptable.

The nail in the coffin though was roaches . We didn't see any the first night and then saw three or four the second night and one was the biggest I think i have ever seen. We reported it the next day and the girl did tell us that they would bring an exterminator in and they did, the next day. While he was there he found a roach hanging in the bathroom sink at the overflow spot. He was using some kind of aerosol spray and gel and he used a fogger in our room.
By this point in time we were always scanning the floor whenever we moved about and were truly uncomfortable. Our last night was again roach night as we had a couple more.
I know it's Florida and there are going to be bugs. A properly maintained place though, you should never see as many as we did if in fact you see any at all. We go to Florida every year and have NEVER experienced this anywhere.

If you check my reviews I am fair and usually positive and leave good reviews. I just can't here. I would like to, as the people were very friendly and they have put a lot of work into it. But there are many minor things and there are a couple major ones that seal the deal for us.
I was told that they have a guest who usually stays at places like the Ritz but always stays with them when she is in town. I think that is a bit of a stretch. The bed was very painful after two days on it. You would not find this in an upscale place.

While we won't stay there again because of all this, the place does have charm and you simply
can't complain about the location. The walk to the beach is really just about two minutes! On our first walk in, we thought we had found our home in Siesta Key. It has promise, but needs a serious cleaning, some plantings around the pool area, better pest management, a bed that you are able to get up from in the morning and being able to get up without having to schedule a chiropractor visit and then it can truly be the "honeymoon suite" we were looking forward to.

Room Tip: #9 with the pool is the way to go if you're staying here
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank beerme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews