We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but could of been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, but could of been better”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This resort is in the perfect spot, it's walking distance to the beach and the village. The 2/br 1/bath room reminded me of an apartment. The pool & grounds are kept very nice, and they weren't crowded with people or kids. The kitchen was nice and stocked with what we needed & the bathroom towels were clean and super soft.

I only stayed at the resort for 1 night, and I don't think I could of stayed for a long vacation. I am particular when it comes to cleanliness. The doors and door jambs were dirty/grimy, the shower wasn't as clean as it could of ben, and I found a few stains on the sheets. In one room there were a handfull of dead ants on a windowsill that was behind the headboard. Considering I was only spending the night I didn't do much of an inspection. Although, these things stood out to me.

The staff was friendly, and I enjoyed my stay. Like I said before, I wouldn't stay for a long vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keusadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, General Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We appreciate your feedback and make every effort to make sure each unit is sparkling clean. We did have a recent change in cleaning companies around the time of your stay and not all units had yet had a thorough review and cleaning, but they all have at this time.

Whenever we find torn or tattered sheets or towels, we replace them with fresh and new sets for our guests. We want to make sure each guest is happy with their stay here, so never hesitate to contact the front desk with any problem or concern. We continue to upgrade and improve every day, so come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    74
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
219
229
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just stayed in unit #1 (Bird of Paradise) with my family (July 2012). The place was decent, had some pros & cons... I think with just a little bit more attention it could be very good.

Pros
- Josh, the manager, was awesome. He was very helpful, very friendly. He not only helped us with a few requests at the resort itself, but also gave us some great information for the town, where to eat, things like that.
- The location is great - it's a short walk to the ocean in a very private, no crowds at all, part of the beach. It is also just south of the public part of the beach if you want to walk up there (that part of the beach was PACKED when we were there). It's also very close to town - 3/4 mile.
- The unit we stayed in was pretty clean. Don't expect luxury, we didn't, it was definitely sufficient. Had a nice sized kitchen if you wanted to cook, full fridge, bedrooms were big. Living room a little on the small side but adequate for us (family of 5). Bathroom was clean as well, although the shower grouting could use a little more scrubbing - but was fine. No carpeting in the place - which is good. You can't help but track some of the Siesta sand into the unit, so having tiled floors made it easier to clean.
- free washer and dryers (3 sets). When we stayed the place seemed to be less than half full, only a couple of other families, so it wasn't crowded at all. We were always able to get a washer/dryer when we wanted it. I could see it might be harder to get one if the place was fully booked, but it we didn't have an issue.
- supplied beach towels. This was very helpful in that you don't need to pack any. They weren't the most plush towels ever, but were fine.

Cons
- they advertise that they have beach chairs/umbrellas to borrow, and they do but there were hardly any there and what was there were horrible. As I mentioned above, when we stayed the place seemed less than half full. It really seemed like there were 2 other families besides ours. Going out early in the morning there were only at most 7 beach chairs available. All of those beach chairs looked old, rusty... one was broken. Some mornings I was able to get 5 chairs, others other mornings only 1 or 2. If the place was fully booked I imagine we would never have gotten a chair. There were 3 beach umbrellas at most, none of them actually worked they were all broken/ripped. This seems like such an easy thing to fix - buy a bunch of chairs and umbrellas - for each unit, instead of storing them in a common room (maybe store extras in a common area in case you need extras). Or at least buy a bunch of new ones every year, or multiple times a year. This was a big disappointment, because these are things you can't pack yourself if you are flying down. We ended up buying some beach blankets from the local store and sitting on those.
- Pool... we arrived and the pool water was green. It also had some pieces of pool toys and such floating in it (which is probably more of a problem with the other guests not cleaning up after themselves). I assumed the water was salt water or something, since the water was green. My kids refused to go in the pool at all, it really didn't look clean (to Josh's credit, I never complained about the pool, if I did he probably would have done something, he was very attentive to the few things I brought up). The final day of our trip the pool cleaning company came and cleaned the pool. The water was then perfectly clear - not green at all. That disgusted us even more - so the water wasn't green because it was salt water, it was green because it was filthy. And who knows how many chemicals were poured into it to make it clear within an hour... They need to clean that pool more!
- They allow pets. We have pets, and I love animals. There was a family with a dog there when we were there - and this is the family's fault - but the dog would bark at you when you walked in the yard with it. Barked at my kids, the dog's owner didn't seem to care, just let the dog bark at my kids. Dog seemed friendly enough, didn't touch my kids, but it was frustrating to have it barking at my kids as we tried to walk by. I could see if there were more families, with more pets, this would be a bigger problem.
- this didn't affect us at all but was a little disconcerting... the managers are only there during the day. At night, there is no one in the office. They give you a phone number to call in an emergency, and I have to believe someone would come by quickly, but it is more comforting to know there is someone always on site in case you have an issue.

Overall - It was a decent place. Looking around (from the street) at other places near that location, it did seem as good if not better than most of the places. With a little more attention I think it could be much better. I'm also reviewing the Siesta Key beach itself in another post - this is not Sea Spray's fault at all, but it wasn't a great beach. We were going because of the "#1 beach in america" review, and overall positive reviews - but it was not a good beach. We wouldn't go back because of the beach. If the beach was good, I could see us going back, maybe to the Sea Spray, but overall I wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, General Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
We appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to improve our resort. All the items you mentioned have already been addressed, as improvement at the Sea Spray is always our goal. We are even adding beach carts to haul chairs and umbrellas to the beach across the street as an additional service to our guests.
We hope to see you again here at the Sea Spray, and if you ever have a problem, all you have to do is see our front desk and if it can be fixed, it will be done immediately! Thank you for your feedback....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perfect location, walking distance to the beach and to Siesta Key Village. Josh is very friendly and helpful. The Sand Dollar Unit # 8 is very clean, spacious and well equipped. Rates are very reasonable. We will come back here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with your family at Sea Spray and will be returning in the future. We consider it the highest praise when our guests wish to stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in unit #9, which has it's own private pool. Decent sized pool, no lap swimming or anything, but very nice to cool off in or lounge on the rafts that were provided. Upon check-in we were greeted by the manager/owner (?), who was very nice & gave us a tour of the property, which included another pool & free use of the washer & dryers. The unit was a nice size, clean, with a small oven/stovetop, microwave, coffee maker & fridge. Several a/c units kept the unit cool, although the one in the bedroom was a bit noisy. One of the few faults (and I'm nitpicking at this point), was that there were only 3 spoons & 3 coffee cups, which meant we had to run the dishwasher every night. The location was fantastic, the beach right across the street and Siesta Key Village, with plenty of restaurants & shopping, about a 10 minute walk. The beach (access 10) was also the least crowded, that we could see, the public beach being packed everyday & the beach at the village also very busy, so it worked out great.

Room Tip: Unit #9 has a private pool so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Sea Spray. Unit 9 is one of our most popular, as you mentioned, book early, since it has its own private pool. We will be sure to add some additional coffee cups and spoons to the kitchen per your suggestion. Sorry for the inconvenience. You are right that the beach access closest to Sea Spray is in a perfect location that tends to make it less busy than other areas of gorgeous Siesta Beach…a real plus! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We were in Siesta Key from July 19th - 22nd (which was not enough time). We stayed at the Sea Spray which is an awesome resort with a great location. Josh and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were a few blocks from the village and steps away from the beach. If we return to Siesta we will definitely stay at the Sea Spray again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We hope you will come back and see us…perhaps for a longer stay. So glad you found Sea Spray to be ‘awesome’! We certainly think it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Clean, modern and comfortable condo. We stayed in a 1 bedroom the week of July 2-9 and didn't want to leave. The beach and Village are within close walking distance. We had a great time watching fireworks on the 4th on the beach close to the condo! There were always plenty of beach chairs and other items for the beach. We used a couple of foam noodles from the pool and floated in the 84 degree Gulf, was definitely relaxing. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will stay here again in the future, hopefully we can stay longer next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank healinglinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Ah, you have found the only problem with coming to Sea Spray…not wanting to leave! It’s understandable. So happy to hear that you had a great vacation and will be looking to visit us again! Let us know when you’ll be back…we’ll have your room waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our second time staying here. We were a little concerned about the recent reviews about cleanliness since we did not have that problem last visit in September 2011. Those concerns are definitely put to rest as our room (Manatee #5) was spotless about arrival!!! Josh is a great addition to the staff and will help in any way he can. You truly lose all worries when you arrive there and just wish it would never end. Great location with beach access right around the corner. About a 15 minute walk into Siesta Key Village. Pretty much parked my car and did not move it until we left. Definitely looking forward to our next stay at this little gem.

Room Tip: Our room (Manatee #5) was pet friendly. Nice little pool area if you want a break from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Of course, we have to agree with you that Sea Spray is still the best place to stay on Siesta Key! :-) That is our goal! We are pleased that you had a lovely relaxing time and found everything up to your standards. Josh is one of our many treasures at Sea Spray. Thank you for your appreciation of his efforts. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

Property: Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing