We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude is Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attitude is Everything”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent an entire week at Sea Spray last week. We found the Sea Spray to be exceptionally family-oriented - free beach chairs, umbrellas, and carts; chest full of pool toys, free beach towels. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Yes, I would have preferred a beach view but it is not a long walk at all and the beach is quiet and beautiful. The proximity to the downtown area is great - short walk or bike ride... but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowds. Restaurants, ice cream, shops - all close by.

We had a unit with a hot plate vs. stove/oven. We used the hot plate and/or outside gas grill and cooked just about every day with no real inconvenience. Would suggest to the management the need for lids for cookware - covers help speed cooking time when using hot plates. I would also recommend more instructions at check in with regard to obtaining fresh towels, where to take garbage ... feel like we were constantly bothering someone with these questions and we did not get the introductory "tour" that others mentioned. Otherwise, everything worked out well for us.

Honestly, we had some problems with air and hot water that could have ruined our whole experience but Bob did all that he could to ensure that the issues were immediately addressed in a timely manner and the inconvenience was minor. (I understand that an electrical circuit had to be replaced to resolve the issues.) Things happen but it is how they are handled that makes the difference and management was quick to act.

We take a family beach vacation each year and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: You will hear upstairs foot noise if you opt for a ground level unit. The people above us were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. You mentioned something I tend to forget to mention. The chest full of pool toys. We have things for the beach too. Buckets, shovels and sand molds among other items. We just ask that you rinse the sand off those items at one of our two hoses before returning them to the toy chest.. We also like if you rinse the 99% white quartz sand off of your feet at the same hoses. If something is not clear, please feel free to ask any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    74
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
223
231
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godfrey, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Sea Spray Resort and were very pleased with the choice.
The proximity to both the beach and the village area was perfect. We stayed in a unit that was close to the complex pool, which was convenient without being too noisy.
As others have noted, Bob is great! He took the time to give us a tour of the grounds, answered questions and even though I'm sure that he's done it about 1000 times, did not rush through it.
I would not hesitate to go back to Sea Spray.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhigtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate when a "Senior Contributor", TripAdvisor's term not mine, appreciates what we are trying to do for our guests. Thank you for your recommendation to others to stay here. Also, thanks for the kind words about me. I just want everyone to enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family stayed here in June 2014 and just loved it! Bob was friendly and very helpful. If you didn't have it, he would see that you got it! What service! The unit was clean and very nicely decorated. The location is something that you just can't get anywhere else! Beach access 10 is just across the street and so easy to walk to. The beach location is not crowded and lovely! Lots of sand dollars to be found too! We loved that Bob has everything at your fingertips to make our stay a very pleasant and homey one! Beach carts with chairs and umbrellas, fully stocked kitchens, grills on site, lots of tables, chairs, and hammocks around a refreshing pool area, and wood for the fire pit to roast some s'mores! It just can't get any better than this my friends! We definitely will be back! The walk to town every night was a delight and made for great exercise. You will be very pleased with your stay! Thanks for a gem you have on Siesta Key!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLBound2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks you for your excellent review. You are right about the sand dollars. There are a lot around our beach access. The fact that there is no public parking near our beach access is why it does not get crowed. I liked your description "pleasant and homey". That means we are accomplishing what we strive for. We look forward to having you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On a spur of the moment, we booked a trip to Siesta Key and booked the Sea Spray based on great reviews. They were right! Bob and his staff were very kind and accommodating.

My husband and I enjoyed the hotel and the close proximity to the beautiful Siesta Key Beach. Each morning we took the beach cart provided by the hotel and stayed the whole day on the beach. At night, the location was within a 15 min walk to the great restaurants in the village section of the city.

We can't wait for our return trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad you will be coming back to stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and I. When we have great guests like yourself, it makes it easy for all of us to be kind and accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location is perfect. Only a 5 minute walk to an almost private stretch of beach. (if you walk down to the public beach, you'll see what a big deal this is) The village is a convenient 10 minute walk. We had 2 units for 5 adults and they were clean, quiet and very comfortable. We really appreciated the well stocked kitchens and the gas grills. The provided beach carts, chairs, umbrellas and full size beach towels were perfect. We even enjoyed the fire pit one evening. The grounds are beautiful. We used them as a background for our family portrait. Management was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. If we go back to Siesta Key, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. You absolutely nailed the reason public beach access 10 is such a nice part of our location. The access is just across the street from us. The ability to walk to the "village" in 10 to 15 minutes is also a great part of our location. Yes I have been upgrading our beach towels to over sized beach towels. Thanks for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottoes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything about this place was simply perfect!

*The grounds were gorgeous and laid out so nicely! There was a fire pit, plenty of areas to relax all around, several outdoor grills, laundry facilities, and even a hammock!
*The rooms were spacious, clean and bright. The pull out couch was surprisingly comfy.
*The staff was super-friendly with us and our 2 children! We got to know several of them on a 1st name basis by the end of our stay. One day we were having lunch and believe it or not, my son started shivering - I guess from just getting out of the pool and being wet in the shade. One of the maids brought him and my daughter fresh, warm towels from the dryer!!! :)
*The pool area was adorable and there were even toys that the children could borrow for pool or beach time. We NEVER found more than 1 family in the pool when we went. We never seemed to bump into other guests. We really felt as if we were the only guests there.
* The beach is just about a block from the hotel. The resort provides a beach buggy with an umbrella and chairs for daily use as well as beach towels. That sure made our packing a little lighter.
* The town is less than a 10 minute walk from the resort. You can find a little bit of everything there to eat. Our kids, 5 and 9 years old, rode their scooters each time we went into town for dinner and loved it!

To counteract some bad reviews.....
* Yes, staffing isn't there at all times BUT we were given a cell number for the owner and told to call him anytime if we needed anything at all.
* I'm very sorry for the family that stayed over Memorial Day and found the resort to be so noisy. That's very unfortunate that a handful of people can ruin your vacation and leave such a bad taste in your mouth for a place that was truly perfect in every way. We too had an issue one night. Apparently the people above us checked-in very early one morning with several children. We heard some stomping and running around and reported it to the owner the next morning. He took a personal interest in making sure the family was settled and that we'd have a peaceful night's sleep. I was very pleased with how he handled the situation.

Just a suggestion...
For anyone looking to shop on this trip for those tacky little tee shirts and souvenirs....we found the stores a little expensive. The owner told us to go to Walgreens for our souvenirs. He was dead on! I got 3 tees for $12, there were boogie boards, snorkels, goggles, beach toys, seashell necklaces, anything and everything!!!

So look no further and book this sweet little resort! I know you and your family will be pleasantly surprised and pleased!!! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 and found it charming with a comfy pull-out couch. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Wow Thank you for the great review! You really covered the Sea Spray experience. One thing you mentioned I did not even know about but it did not surprise me. The fact that one of our house keepers brought you clean warm towels for your cold child at the pool. The staff here is happy to be here and takes pride in what they do. We truly are the Sea Spray Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Sea Spray is nice, quiet very, very clean. We had our own private patio. The pool is relaxing and the three grills on site were fantastic. The beach is directly across the street and the Sea Spray provided us with a great beach cart which included chairs, umbrellas, and towels. It's a short 10 minute walk to the Village where there are great restaurants, shops, and happy hours. . Bob and management were fantastic! They catered to all of our needs. We will definitely be going back to the Sea Spray .

R&S

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sa19990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I liked your very, very clean comment. We strive to keep every unit as clean as possible. You mentioned our 3 gas grills. They are new this year. They are stainless steel and Charles, our maintenance person, cleans them every morning he works. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

Property: Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing