We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First week in May”
Review of Banyan Tree Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banyan Tree Resort
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took our very first trip to Siesta Key the first week of May and stayed at the Banyan Tree Resort in the "Figi" room. It was just the two of us and the room worked out really well. It was very quiet at the resort that week which was really nice. We pretty much had the pool to ourselves other than a great group of guys from Detroit. The room: Pros: Very clean, full kitchen, very bright. Loved the large screened in porch. When we were at the room (which wasn't often) we were sitting on the porch or at the pool. Charcoal grill was not cleaned out by previous renter but we were ok with cleaning it out before we threw some burgers on it. Cons: you are going to hear this I believe pretty much everywhere you go, the bed was not good. Queen size but pretty hard. We are used to a nice soft King at home so we are spoiled. Bathroom was small. Definitely not a room that two can hang out with while getting ready to head out. Other than that the room was perfect for the two of us. The pool: small but great off season. Rained for two days and the pool and filter was filled with leaves however my husband had no problem cleaning that out for the managers. He loves his pool! Location: Perfect! One block from the beach and about the same distance the other way to "The Village" which was cool. Very close to a convenient store. First day we drove into Sarasota to the Publix (about 10 minutes) however we could of probably got everything we needed for the same price within walking distance. Would we return? Most definitely YES.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traci2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our extended group recently stayed in the Marathon and Key Largo units at the Siesta Key Banyan Tree Resort. Although I found reviews of other units, none of this location (603 Beach Rd.) had been posted, so I thought I'd give a review of the accomodations for future travelers.

First off, the ladies that run Banyan Tree are very responsive and helpful. They answered my questions before and during our stay and provided good information about the unit and area.

603 Beach Road is a 3 unit building on the corner Beach and Calle Del Inverno. The location was great for us as there is a beach access right across the street, the village is about a five minute walk, and the public beach (for our teenagers) was only about a 1/4 mile away.

Key Largo is a 1BR/1Bath unit on the second floor. It is pretty small, but worked well for us and would for couples as well. It has a small kitchenette, living room, and bedroom.

Marathon is across the hall on the second floor and has 3 BR's and two baths. The master BR is very large, the other two basically just fit beds and dressers (King in one, two twins in the other). The kitchen is good sized and has an average amount of amenities. The living room/dining room isn't real big, but we did not spend a lot of time there. The living room has a slider with a distant view of the gulf.

The location has a small backyard with propane grill and three sets of tables and chairs. We used this area to grill out several days. Some additional/upgraded chairs would be a good idea. The units are pet friendly and we brought our family dog with us. The location does not have any grass, but we were able to take him on walks nearby to do his business.

Overall we enjoyed this place. The units are not luxurious, but are in decent shape and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in the "Island Unit" which is also the honeymoon suit. It is advertised as sleeping 4 people, with a queen size bed and sleeper sofa in the lounge. The unit is in an excellent location within a stone throw from the beach and town centre. This unit is on the top floor so be aware you need to use a flight of stairs, no lift available.

On arrival the unit was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and light. However for a self catering unit the kitchen facilities are very poor and extremely basic. There is no cooker as such, the original 2 ring hob has been removed and a portable 2 ring hob is now in its place. It has a short electrical lead so can only positioned under the wall units, so be aware not to leave these rings unattended or the wall units could be damaged by heat. There is only an old fashioned hob whistling kettle, again as this boils it fills the wall units with steam, plus wakes up anyone else wanting to have a lie in. We asked for an electrical kettle but was told they don't have them available in this resort! The toaster has a very short lead, so has to be plugged in next to the hob, again under the wall units. Be careful not to burn the toast or the whole kitchen could go up in flames. The oven and microwave are on a mobile trolley next to the bedroom door. You cant use both at once or the fuses trip out. The oven was worse than useless, the only success we had was cheese on toast, anything else was either raw or burnt with nothing in-between. The cutlery and crockery are mismatched and very tired. We had two odd wine glasses, three odd dinner knives plus one odd fish knife (?) Odd forks and spoons, plus one odd grapefruit spoon, the kitchen knives are blunt, there are no cooking pans that fit the oven, however there is a blender! We called into the office and express our disappointment in the kitchen facilities, and was told if we wanted better we would need to book a luxury unit. However, they did go to great lengths to get us matching wine glasses. We reported a faulty bathroom tap that was fixed for us. The on site laundry is in a lean too behind one of the other units, the machines are rusty, and the water was cold. It is a great shame. with a little bit of effort this could be a really lovely unit, there is room to expand the kitchen and move the fridge freezer out of the way of the bathroom door. I have concerns with the safety of this unit, I could only find one entrance and exit, with no obvious fire escape route apart from the main door. The cooking facilities in my opinion are dangerous. There is no drainer on the sink, only an old plastic dish drainer that wasn't very clean. The information folder was full of bold, capital letter shouty instruction with very little useful information. The staff ignored us and didn't even make eye contact when we encountered them. I personally would not go back to this unit unless it had been modernised.

Room Tip: If you don't want to cook, this unit would be fine as it is close to the town centre and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Once again Banyan Tree Resort in Siesta Key, Florida does not disappoint. The office staff is fantastic, very friendly, and extremely helpful with anything one may need, want, or questions answered. Thank you Kathi and Jane!! Once again very clean, comfortable, inviting, and a screened-in front porch allowing one to soak up the ambience of my favorite place…Siesta Key. Special thanks to the cleaning staff. Yes, they do a thorough cleaning after each departure.
“Crescent” is a free standing 1 bedroom cottage located at 5259 Menorca near the corner intersecting Calle Miramar. I love the location because it in one block to Ocean Blvd., which means the heart of Siesta Village. A 3-5 min. walk to Beach Access 7 and then down a winding path and at the end greeted by the white beach leading to the blue water meeting the sky. Fantastic!!!
The inviting cottage of mint green coastal color with white trim, white picket fence with an arbor arched near the entrance as shells lead to the screened in porch. No pool, but why ---- when you have the Gulf beckoning you?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have been renting here for many years and never had a problem. I arrived Friday and the office was closed so could not pay. I told them I would drop off a check they said it had to be cash! Never had this before. The reason for the trip is a fishing charter so we leave early Saturday morning and don't get back till late. I called and said I would bring cash Sunday. By the way we rented 3 units so I had to find a way to come up with a lot of cash in 2 days. They don't take electronic payment either. I arrived Sunday an realized I was $9.56 short and I would come back. The reply no we need to get this taken care of. Meanwhile they have 600.00 worth of security deposit, and my Amex card info. Needless to say this will be the last year for us here. With as many rental options that are available this poor service is reprehensible. My checks have never given them problems before. For your money I would find another place and have less hassle

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bobert0670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgirl01, Manager at Banyan Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

The Guest booked on 8/27/13 and we e-mailed the forms to hold the booking for his 3 night stay. The letters instructed him to sign and return the contracts with the 30% deposit within 7 days to confirm the booking. After sending 2 reminders we received the 30 % deposit on 10/29/13. We then emailed letters showing the final balance, and stated that they were due 30 days prior to arrival. After sending reminders, we still had not receive the balances and notified him we would hold the balance due as a courtesy being a previous guest, until arrival, at which time he would pay cash. We have an email from him 12/13/13 1:10 pm asking for the balance again, so he could bring the right amount of cash to the office the following morning. That night at 8:45 pm, we received a follow up e mail stating they had to be on a boat the next morning at 6:30 am, so he would not be able to bring the balance to the office until Sunday morning. We called him at noon on Sunday asking him to come to the office to pay the balance as he was departing Monday morning. He was very upset that we expected him to come and pay the balance in cash as he had agreed. We never deposited his security deposit check of $600.00 and we were only holding the balance of his bookings with his credit card, which he agreed to pay cash on arrival. Had we received his final payment in the form of a check in the time allotted, we would have been happy to deposit it without any hesitation, but due to being a last minute cod and that he agreed to pay cash on arrival, that is what we expected. Our policy has always remained the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We - my husband and I stayed in the Dolphin Nov '13 and arrived very late at night. Key was in lockbox as indicated and lights were on so was nice to arrive to. Unit was clean, neat and tidy. Noted right away however that there was no bathtub - which was a disappointment to me - the shower was like a closet in the bedroom but it did have amazing pressure, nice hot water so was just fine. The outside of the building could have used some good cleaning/pressure washing including the chairs, lounges, BBQ, etc. The pool area was very clean however was not heated (and is supposed to be in Nov). There were bikes available for our use and they were great, we used them for most of the week. There was a room air conditioner that was very loud so we only used it once or twice; then later in the week there seemed to be central air turned on (perhaps in the office?) that we did not have control over however the temperature was kept very comfortable.
There was a lot of emphasis on the "rules", eg if you do such and such or don't do such and such, your deposit will be retained. The biggest rule for us was the fact that there was no food or drink allowed at the pool...what is a pool vacation without a cold beer poolside?!? We were however very close to the most gorgeous beach in the US so we would just head down there for the afternoon. Also very close to the village - really just a minute walk. Overall a good stay; would have been more relaxing with less emphasis on rules.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShakeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just spent a week in the "Tropical Treehouse" unit at 6151 Midnight Pass Rd on Siesta Key.
It was great! The owners live on site and were very gracious hosts to us and our children.
The unit was very clean and cozy and plenty of room for us and our 2 children.
There were lawn/beach chairs, coolers, beach toys, etc. available for us to use as needed without having to buy or rent these items during our trip.
Our unit faced Midnight Pass Rd and did not have a view of the beach, but that's ok with us. The best view of a sunset on Siesta Key beach is FROM the beach not from indoors!
Just a short drive from any of the beach accesses, the village, the marina, etc. Only a couple of miles from 'mainland' Sarasota too.
The private pool was a huge benefit as well. Not once did we share the pool with anyone else (even though we only used it a few times in the evenings). It wasn't too deep for our 8 and 9 year old children and was clean and warm at all times.
This is one of the best stays we've had on any vacation. We HIGHLY recommend this unit, and I'm sure the other 2 rentals at this address are just as good even though we didn't see inside. Much of the quality in a stay like this revolves around the actual owners involvement in their rental homes...and in this case I can tell you the owners are very involved and were onsite and very pleasant to converse with...without being intrusive in any way.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Rent a unit like this with full kitchen to save a lot of money on eating. We went to Publix and Win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiny House Siesta
Tiny House Siesta
#19 of 21 in Sarasota
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Resort

Address: 1901 Baywood Dr, Siesta Key, FL 34231-4716
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siesta Key voted number #1 beach welcomes you! We have provided all the comforts to make your stay on Siesta Key truly a memorable vacation. Upon arriving, just park your car and start to enjoy the lush tropical surroundings, walk to Siesta Key Beach and visit the Siesta Key Village shops and restaurants. Enjoy the atmosphere of a small, relaxing beach community. Civic Beautification Award winner 2 years in a row!! Receivers of the Award winning white glove award from superior small lodging. We are proud Members of the BBB, Siesta Key Chamber of Commerce, Sarasota Chamber of Commerce, and Visit Florida & Florida USA. Clearly charming tropical surroundings make for a truly memorable vacation. Enjoy the endless gulf breezes as you lounge by your pool or on your own private screened porch, sunny patio or just strolling on the beach. The Siesta Key "Banyan Tree Beach Resort and Vacation Rentals" offers accommodations for every budget. We have efficiency, 1, 2 or 3 bedroom units (some that can open up together for larger parties) some with Private Heated pool. We have 2 fishing piers on canal. We are located in the Village and just a short walk to the beach. If Sarasota or Siesta Key is your vacation destination, be sure to stay at The Siesta Key "Banyan Tree Beach Resort and Vacation Rentals". It's a beautiful day in our neighborhood; won't you come and play with us? --1 Block to "#1 award winning beach" --1 Block to "Village" shopping --Spacious accommodations constantly updated --Air conditioned and heated --Cable TV/DVD/Wi-Fi --Private Phone --Fully equipped Kitchens with microwaves --Coffee pots, toasters, blenders, dishes, pots and pans --Sheets and towels provided --Laundry facilities on premises --Mostly ground floor accommodations --BBQ Grills, Beach Chairs --Sparkling clean --Assigned Parking --Fishing Pier on Grand Canal -- --No smoking inside the accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Hotel Siesta Key
Banyan Tree Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing