We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We just had the most serene and romantic week at Turtle Beach Resort! I have been wanting to vacation there for years now, and we finally found the time this week to go. It was everything I thought it would be, and more.
After reading some of the other posts on this website, I was concerned about the cleanliness of the cottages since I am highly allergic to dust, but after staying there, in two different cottages (Southwest and Country Cottage) I realized that those customers must have been unhappy people and looking for reasons to complain because it was perfectly clean and came with the most incredibly comfy bathrobes :)
It is enchantingly romantic, but also makes you feel like you're home. The owner, gave us the places to go for dinner, brunch, day and night time activities and was very helpful to any inquiries we had on the matters. We had some INCREDIBLE meals and were able to purchase our own groceries and even prepare full meals in the cottages since they come with full kitchens!!
This resort far exceeds any Ritz Carlton or other 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything is included which brings another level of relaxation to the resort. My husband got to do work emails with the free wireless, we went on bike rides and relaxed in our personal hottub!! The owners are so accommodating and friendly and treat you as if you were an old friend. We're already planning our next stay because it feels like our second home!

Room Tip: Ask for water view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    52
    22
    36
    31
See reviews for
66
216
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

After a long, oppressive winter there was nothing better than escaping for a quick weekend to Turtle Beach Resort! We try to go every year towards the end of the winter to feel like human beings again--- this time was especially magical with great weather and all the improvements made to the property. We checked in late-- around 8PM-- and our room was so cozy and tropical with dim lighting and bubbling private hot tub outside under the stars... It was so quiet and peaceful right from the start. Our cottage was steps from the water, and outside our door was a wall of the most gorgeous bright purple Bouganvilleas. David and Gail were so friendly and helpful as always, and the new landscaping and refurnishing in the unit made it feel like Siesta Key met Miami Beach... It almost makes me want to go through winter again just to go back to TBR!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own personality....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaGirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saratoga ny
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

was so excited to stay here for a date night as we had a sitter. we arrived at ck in 1pm. planning on visiting beach. we were told sorry , we have no beach chairs left. the resort had only a handful of rooms and caters mostly to couples. how do you not have enough chairs? we walked 5 hot minutes to turtle beach. sand was brown and very hot. our umbrella from the resort turned out to be broke. we walked back to hotel to cool off in pool. water was warmer than bath water and scum lined the pool. outdoor cushions are all stained with sweat? body oil? just gross. our room was very dark and had an air of "who cares?" it was dirty and run down. there was dog hair all over black bedding. the old tube tv had a snowy picture. three light bulbs in room were out. the light bulb over the hot tub did not work either. we called the office and were told they would replace the bulb tomorrow!!!!! we were only there one night and needed the light at night. probably better off not seeing the hot tub with the light on anyway. for $300 per night in the off season, i think somebody could walk 500 feet and change a bulb. we love small independent and quirky places. we never stay in chain hotels and would never expect this to be the ritz. but we want reasonable service and cleanliness especially at this price. management should be ashamed. after the response with the light bulb, seemed pointless to bring anymore concerns to anyone's attention. will never ever stay here again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank amymiazga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I did ALOT of research before chosing the location and resort/hotel I would stay at for my 4 day vacation. I only get so much time away and had very high expectations. Let me tell you I could not have been happier with my stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. This trip was part a solo stay for me to regroup and relax after recent cancer treatment and halfway thru my stay it was also a getaway for me and that special someone. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel welcome. Very knowledgable of the area, Patrick gave me some leads on some great places to eat in the area and things not to miss. For the next four days we enjoyed biking and walking around Turtle Beach, laying out by the pool and watching the most amazing sunsets from our private hot tub that overlooked the bay and the Gulf. We stayed in the Sunset Suite at the Inn. The room itself had everything you could ask for and we felt right at home. Waking up to hearing the birds outside and watching the fish jump out of the water was just the R & R I was searching for. You will be nothing but 100% pleased with your stay here and we cannot wait to get back. Such a charming place. Thank you so much for making this a vacation I will remember forever. I am already planning a trip back! There is a reason you have so much return business!

Room Tip: Sunset Suite has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess830410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter haven, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I'm 37 and my fiancé is 25. I've travelled all over the world for business and a little leisure. I estimated that I've stayed in a hotel room for over two years total. I only state this because I've never felt compelled to write a review until I stayed at Turtle Resort.

Personally we both loved the place and will return soon. I prefer unique little places like TR. I value privacy, views, comfort, and character over all else. I guess that's because I've been in so many faceless hotels with faceless people in them.

We stayed in the Country Cottage. It was PERFECT! A little two bedroom joint with a kitchenette. On the side, with absolute privacy, there is a hot tub and hammock. Did I mention that it is literally directly on the bayside with a nature preserve of small mangrove islands? I mean it was literally on top of the seawall. We thought that was very unique to be so close to the water.

The hot tub was clean and we spent a lot of time in it. A big thunderstorm came through in the afternoon and we watched it rage outside from the warmth of the jacquizzi. The hammock was great too.

I read some of the reviews and was surprised to see the harshly negative reviews. I think you can tell from the writing, at least the two bad ones I read, that the people who wrote them would be no fun to hang out with. Those kind of people are exactly why I don't like big hotels.

I had the opposite experience. The place was clean, comfortable, PRIVATE, and most definitely memorable. We got engaged there. Now Dave the owner and I have something in common....we both have wives way prettier than we deserve. However, the manager Pat is the guy who made the trip happen and hosted us during the stay and really knows the meaning of hospitality.

I'd stay at TR over a 4 star Hilton every time. It's not new, big, modern, and does not have room service or a big parking lot...but that is exactly why I like it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

My wife and I wanted a few days away with the kids before the stress of Thanksgiving festivities. We came across a place that looked like the relaxing time we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised to find it was everything and more. The room we stayed in was the Carribean with a private pier to fish off (which we did using the resort's fishing poles), a private hot tub, and two good sized bedrooms. The room had a cottage feel and overlooked the intercoastal waterway just feet from our private porch. We had a kitchen and full living room and nice dining table to play board games on. We road bikes (which the resort provides for no charge) to the beach on the Gulf of Mexico side, which was just minutes down the road. We also used the free canoe and paddled across the intercoastal to the small island nearby. To say it was relaxing would be an understatement, the kids had a blast and never once asked what was on TV. I have already told several friends to look into it and my family will certainly be back to Turtle Beach as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We spent our 16th Wedding Anniversary in the Caribbean Cottage. The cottage was clean and quaint wtih fantastic views of the bay. The Caribbean Cottage, by far has the best views and privacy (from the other cottages) with its own dock, patio and bayview hot tub. But be aware that the unobstructed views go both ways and the boaters troll by close enough to acknowledge your presence with a wave and a smile. The one-way glass on the cottage windows helps to mantain some privacy. The best and most unexpected experience was sitting at the end of our private dock each evening watching the manatee and dolphins frolic only yards away. Even though we loved the privacy of our dock there are many communal docks on the property that afford everyone the same unique experience. The property of the Resort is much more quaint and picturesque than the new Inn across the street. Also the communal spaces of the Resort are more generous and take better advantage of the water views than those of the Inn. One warning however, the Resorts pet friendly policy ensures that the communal areas will be overrun with unleashed dogs. On our visit the dog next door howled constantly when the Owner's left him alone in the cottage and then growled at us each time we walked by. The complimentary bikes are old and poorly maintained so don't rely on them to get you to town. The real ammenity worth mentioning however are the canoes which allow you to explore the local waters, secret beaches, and mangroves.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,424 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Captiva Beach Resort
Captiva Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 9049 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect family vacation getaway with spacious cottages that offer full kitchens, living, and dining areas. Enjoy the beautiful private outdoor space included with each cottage that includes a large hot tub facing the water. Our pet-friendly resort is a two-minute walk to the beach and offers complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, bicycles fishing gear, beach chairs, and umbrellas. If you're looking for a weekend away from the kids, visit our romantic sister property The Inn at Turtle Beach for peaceful accommodations. Plan your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing