We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Paradise Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
“Quiet Paradise Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We simply did not want to leave, booking it for an extra day at the end of our stay! If you are into simple pleasures, nature, privacy, great views, and are yearning quiet time alone with your significant other - this is the place to be! The rooms are nicely decorated, the kitchen is a plus, the private enclosed patio with an outdoor jacuzzi made ROMANCE easy! We loved the added amenities of the free use of canoes, kayaks, bicycles, fishing gear, and hammocks for outdoor relaxation. Fully took advantage of the complimentary wine, simply delicious! Dave and his wife were very sweet and accommodating, down to earth staff and generous. Great discounts at Miguel's Restaurant courtesy of the Inn- EXQUISITE French cuisine!! We intend on returning during the summer for a week! Siesta Key is just across the Island, and you get there very quickly. Siesta has the better beach, but we prefer the quiet serenity that Turtle Beach has to offer. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: Love Unit 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cossett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    50
    21
    35
    29
See reviews for
64
201
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The resort is awesome! It's big enough to have everything you could hope for, and small enough that you get that cozy feel, and you can still feel like you basically have the place to yourself. It's situated right on the water, and the property is beautifully landscaped, has 2 nice sized pools, hammocks hanging in the trees looking out at the water. They have kayaks and canoes that you can take out at no charge. The owners are super nice, and very accommodating. We got in late, and they hung around to make sure we got into our room okay and had everything we needed. Dave gave us LOTS of great places to check out. Both he and his wife are very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are really nice, and very clean. The kitchen has everything you could need, and our personal favorite.. each room has its own fenced-in patio with a private hot tub. I am reserving the seabreeze for later this summer. Thanks, Had a GREAT time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

THE TURTLE BEACH RESORT, Siesta Key, Florida
Cost for the Rainforest room at the Turtle Beach Resort = $2,600 for the week (not including tax).
We stayed at The Turtle Beach Resort on Siesta Key, FL in March 2012. Our first experience was with a very nice man named Patrick, who took our reservation and our initial deposit in May 2011.
Our next dealing in November 2011 was with the Innkeeper, Gail, who surprised us by speaking negatively to us over the telephone about one of her own employees. This was disheartening, but we put it aside to focus on our upcoming stay at what we understood to be the romantic Turtle Beach Resort.
We arrived after hours (at night) and we were welcomed by a very nice “welcome” letter attached to the gate to our courtyard. We settled into our room and turned in early.
The next morning, we woke up early to experience the sunrise from our private back patio, but were disappointed that we not only couldn’t see the sunrise from our room/patio, but barely had a view of the water. We also didn’t have access to get to the water from our back patio, as it was blocked off by a picket fence, with no gate.
A plus about this resort was the free use of the canoes…something that we really enjoy.
Unfortunately, for the price of our stay, there are many things we feel need to be improved upon. For example, at our room alone, the refrigerator door was rusted, the baseboards in the bathroom had one coat of paint and very obviously needs a second, the toilet paper holder was loose and falling off, the hanging plants inside the Jacuzzi cabana are almost dead and the roof above the Jacuzzi cabana has rotten wood (hard to get into the romantic mood with rotten wood hanging over your head), an outside light fixture was missing a bulb, The fascia over the front door was rotten and missing cover/screen , the back patio/deck had mold all over it, the drawers of the bedroom dresser were very hard to open/close, the window treatment in the living room had no pull-rod/adjuster and the landscaping was very barren to say the least. We had our own private hammocks on both the front and back patios, but they were very mildewed and not inviting to sit on. The neighbor had a hound dog that only barked in the middle of the night or anytime we were on the patio. There were decking boards on the path to the pool that were not fastened down and could cause injury.
We did not let this ruin our week, as we took advantage of Turtle Beach, located just a short walking distance away and we canoed to the “private” beach, just a short 15 minute canoe ride from the docks of our resort. We had a romantic dinner at Ophelia’s, located just a few steps away and visited the business district of Siesta Key – a fun time for sure!
Although we probably wouldn’t consider staying here again, we hope that the Owners of this resort take this input and improve on the negatives for future positive guest experiences!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank randallives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Turtle Beach Resort, The Inn side of the resort, in late February 2012. Overall we give this resort a thumbs up, but are unable to give a 5 star review for a couple reasons. First, the pros, and there are certainly more pros than cons:

1) The room was very clean. We are clean freaks and it easily passed the white glove test. The room was decorated nicely, the fridge and kitchen area were nice perks, and the private hot tub just outside the room was great.

2) The location of the resort is on the south end of Siesta Key, which we thought was much quieter than the northern areas where Siesta Key Beach and Siesta Village are located. The resort is in a cozy, romantic location on the island in our opinion. There are sidewalks that line the relatively quiet street that we used often, especially in the evening. Turtle Beach is just a few blocks walking distance away. Turtle Beach is not the greatest for walking, but it is beautiful, quiet, and the sunsets are awesome.

3) Dave, the owner, stopped by one day to offer his tips for dining and sight seeing. A very nice guy. One of his suggestions was to visit Myakka State Park, which was an excellent tip. Florida nature at it's best!

4) Free Wi-fi. Got to have it. Signal was excellent.

5) Free use of washer/drier at the main resort location.

Cons:

1) The pricing for this resort appeared just a bit high in our opinon, although to be fair, we did not do a lot of price comparison shopping on the island. What might be an indicator, however, is that out of the 6 rooms available at the Inn, we were the only guests for a good share of the week. By the end of the week, there were a few more guests. Given late Feb is the peak tourist season for the area, this appeared somewhat odd. It was nice not having neighbors, however. There is no maid service, which was not a big deal for us, but for the price it did seem a little unsual.

2) The courtyard was cute, but little things we noticed like the community grill not being cleaned, uninstalled shingles laying on the roof of the gazebo, the small pool with leaf/grass laying on the bottom, stained lounge chairs, and a fair amount of bird droppings on the dock made us question attention to detail.

Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Turtle Beach Resort to our friends -- the resort is very nice and we had a great time there. We would, however, probably look around to compare other properties on the Island next time.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank cyclone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I am a flight attendant with a major airline and have stayed in hotels for more than 20 years. Some were beautiful and in some I didn't want to unpack. For $350/night, I was expecting a lot more. Pros - Dave was very accomodating, helpful and genuinely a nice, interesting man. The staff was great. Canoes and kayaks were free and available. But for that amount of money, I don't think I should have to ask for a second bar of soap. The room was very dark - furnished with heavy, oversized furniture you would expect to see in the cold northeast, not Florida. Dark burgandy drapes hung from the window on an angle. The sheets were grey and thin.(We stayed for 5 nights and they were never changed). We stayed in room #6. They tell you it's the closest one to the dock which makes it seem desirable. However, it is the only room with someone above you and no matter how small they are, you will be awakended by them walking in their unit. The heavy old green comforter was put in the closet as soon as we got there. I had to line the drawers of the dresser with hand towels before I put my clothers in. There were 2 hangers in the bifold closet. The kitchen had a toaster oven that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. I would not even think about eating with the silverware. The pictures of the grounds look beautiful but the outdoor furniture seat cushions were so old that you didn't want to sit on them without a towel. The pool is like a postage stamp. Also, you are not on Siesta Beach and the sand at Turtle Beach is just like the beaches on the eastern shore. If someone hadn't told me to drive and see Siesta Beach I would have missed one of the most beautiful spots in the US. If I had paid $150 for this room I'd say I got what I paid for. It is definitely not worth more than that. Maybe that is why you have to leave a non-refundable deposit of half the amount and pay the balance at check in. If you actually saw the room before you paid the balance you'd gladly pay a cancellation fee and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't choose #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A330FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed here this past summer as a last-minute weekend getaway. The resort is awesome! It's big enough to have everything you could hope for, and small enough that you get that cozy feel, and you can still feel like you basically have the place to yourself. It's situated right on the water, and the property is beautifully landscaped, has 2 nice sized pools, hammocks hanging in the trees looking out at the water. They have kayaks and canoes that you can take out at no charge. The owners are super nice, and very accommodating. We got in late, and they hung around to make sure we got into our room okay and had everything we needed. Dave gave us LOTS of great places to check out (too many to do in the short time we were there). Both he and his wife are very knowledgeable about the area.
The rooms are really nice, and very clean. The kitchen has everything you could need, and our personal favorite.. each room has its own fenced-in patio with a private hot tub. Perfect place to get away, great location, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdebbie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Beach front location, private and affordable! For the price you get access to parking on the key (not easy to come by) for a 2 minute walk to the beach. Took a canoe ride through the scenic Inter-coastal with marine life everywhere for your viewing pleasure. Champagne sipping in your own private hot tub! Dinner at MIguel's that the friendly and professional owners David and Gail suggested (less than 40 bucks for 4 course meal and the food was to die for!). Worth every penny and we will be back for a visit soon! I would Recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, no kids on that side of the units so very peaceful. Any of the rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
5.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
7.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.5 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 9049 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect family vacation getaway with spacious cottages that offer full kitchens, living, and dining areas. Enjoy the beautiful private outdoor space included with each cottage that includes a large hot tub facing the water. Our pet-friendly resort is a two-minute walk to the beach and offers complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, bicycles fishing gear, beach chairs, and umbrellas. If you're looking for a weekend away from the kids, visit our romantic sister property The Inn at Turtle Beach for peaceful accommodations. Plan your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing