We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were looking for a quite romantic place to spend our 30th wedding anniversary and decided on Turtle Beach Resort after looking at the beautiful pictures on the website. This is by far one of the worst places we've ever stayed at and couldn't wait to leave. We the "resort" is divided into the family and adult sections. We stayed at the adult section of the "resort". The "resort" is surrounded by a 6 foot wooden privacy fence and each unit is partitioned off from the others by a wooden privacy fence. You have to open a wooden gate to get to your room. The entire place is painted dull pink and reminds me of a 1970's style porno motel. Each unit has its own a Jacuzzi outside the room but behind your gate. Nice Jacuzzi but the area around it was littered with dead bugs. Our unit had a bedroom, living room / kitchen area and a very small bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The decanter of wine that was in the room was all sticky on the outside and we didn't even consider drinking from it. An unopened bottle would have been much better. The coffee was the same way, a large container that who knows how many people have had their hands in it before, we didn't drink any of that either. There resort does not provide room service, none at all. Get your own towels, empty your own trash, etc. There is a room by the dock where they keep the towels and supplies that you have to go get on your own, the door stays open 24 hours which means bugs and who knows what can get all over the towels, which by the way were stiff, rough and smelly. We stayed for 2 nights as we couldn't find another place to stay locally. On the plus side, the view is very nice and walking distance to Turtle Beach and Siesta Key Beach is a short drive away. When we checked out, the Owner's only response to our complaints was "you should have said something" but didn't offer anything to make up for the experience. All this for $313.00 a night. I could have stayed at the Ritz Carlton for that and I would have at least gotten room service at a Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CAM32901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gailkippy, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Regarding your disappointing review we were happy to hear that you did enjoy our basic promise of privacy, beautiful views, close proximity to the best beaches in the world, comfortable bed, and private hot tub. The dead mosquitoes you encountered were the result of the heavy rains recently and our attempt to control them,so you would enjoy your private hot tub mosqito free.

Our fresh fluffly white towels are in covered totes outside the laundry room. Guests do not need to enter the laundry room.

We are not the Ritz and our guests love it and prefer it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    50
    21
    35
    29
See reviews for
65
204
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I had a great visit to the Inn at Turtle Bay. The folks there made us feel like family. The privacy and peacefulness of the Turtle Bay are priceless. The room was clean and had all the basics. Hot tub was great. The outside area was great for relaxing in the sun and eating outside. The pool is small but serves its purpose, as a nice little cool off. Bikes, canoes and kayak were available. The fishing equipment and beach equipment were in bad shape and need to be replaced but that was really our only issue. The Turtle Beach is beautiful and really private and you are only 2 miles from the awesome Siesta Key Beach.

Room Tip: If you want daily maid service, security guards and a bunch of rules, this is not the place for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtown51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the Resort itself. I had visions of somewhat decrepit buildings judging by some of the comments and pictures. This is not an inexpensive place to stay but for my husband and myself, being on the water is priceless. That being said, I was nervous about what it would be like regardless. It was much nicer than I expected! We stayed in the Montego Bay right on the water and it was quite nice. VERY CLEAN!!! I was worried about that. The only negative I could put on that would be the paint in the bathroom was not a professional job. However, if you are comparing the Ritz to Turtle Beach as far as accommodations, you can't. The value is strictly in the location for this resort. You can get much nicer accommodations for the money you pay per night but to be able to sit and watch the sun rise and moon glisten over the water while sitting on your deck......priceless! Not to mention, you have kayaks and canoes at your finger tips without extra charge. I would definitely stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Montego Bay is right on the water. Loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mom38St_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlebeachresort, Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate the feedback you provided and the opportunity it provides us to improve our product and services. Since your departure, we have repainted the Montego Bay bathroom. We hope to see you again soon at Turtle Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere in Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My family and I went down to Sarasota for my doctoral graduation (an 8 and a half hour drive) a few weeks ago and a friend recommended that we stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. My family has not stopped thanking me for the best trip of their lives and its been three weeks since we were there. This was the most relaxing weekend of my life. There are two beautiful beaches very near-by - one within walking distance and one just a five minute drive away. The staff was awesome - friendly, responsive, and super helpful. When I read other reviews before I made my reservation I was skeptical when I saw several reviews who said that they were reluctant to tell others just how amazing this resort is for fear that it would be 'discovered' by so many others that it became hard to book. Now I find myself feeling the same way. This is a hidden treasure. I am currently planning an extended return trip and I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but you may want to ask if your cottage is beach side or bay side. They also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We reserved the whole resort for family and friends to have a weekend getaway, for a destination wedding in Siesta Key. Tropical storm Andrea blew through with a direct hit the day before we were to arrive. When we arrived on Friday, Turtle Beach Resort was immaculate -- they had cleaned all evidence of the storm, and it was as if it had never happened there. Matthew was on duty in the office; he was very hospitable and smoothly facilitated each person's arrival as well as a couple of special requests that we had. Several of our friends asked, "How did you find this place? It's wonderful." When we arrived, one gate was not closing correctly, so we asked for maintenance to adjust it -- they were there, fixing it before I even got back to my cottage! I really cannot say enough good things about this resort. Private hot tubs and hammocks, bikes, pleasant pool, covered deck, kayaks, fishing gear, grill, ... we used it all. It has a beautiful bay view, very relaxed atmosphere, away from the "beachy" traffic yet easy to get to Siesta Key's beautiful white beaches. A couple of relaxing restaurants are walking distance; full kitchen and plenty of room to eat at "home" if you prefer. Bottom line: Our group of 35 people had three generations there Friday-Sunday, and I heard not one complaint about the resort.

Room Tip: If you want absolute privacy, I recommend Rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanDela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

After going to a crappy place that we found online, we left the hotel and came upon the cottages at siesta key. They were so kind that we were able to view them before deciding to stay. My Anniversary turned out wonderful thanks to Turtle Beach Resort Cottages. I could not have been happier and will definitely be back for a girls night. See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhairdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the cottages for my best friend's wedding. It was exactly what she had in mind, perfectly whimsical and full of plenty of toys for adventures (kayaks, canoes, and bicycles). Will always remember the moments we created here and what a beautiful back drop the destination was! Also, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlynSHEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
7.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.5 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 9049 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect family vacation getaway with spacious cottages that offer full kitchens, living, and dining areas. Enjoy the beautiful private outdoor space included with each cottage that includes a large hot tub facing the water. Our pet-friendly resort is a two-minute walk to the beach and offers complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, bicycles fishing gear, beach chairs, and umbrellas. If you're looking for a weekend away from the kids, visit our romantic sister property The Inn at Turtle Beach for peaceful accommodations. Plan your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing