We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many things to like but we thought over-prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Many things to like but we thought over-prices”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We were here recently as a family wedding was nearby and we made a long weekend of it.

The pros: if you are intrigued by "old Florida", this is it. Felt like going back in time. Beautiful views on the bay, we really enjoyed sitting by the pool and relaxing. We liked that we were on the quieter side of the island and there are many free taxis if you want to get into the busier areas. Owners very friendly and helpful. For boaters, this could be a stop if you are boating up/down the intercostal as they have a dock and you wouldn't need a car. The entire place very beautifully landscaped and many nooks and crannies for privacy.

The cons: know that the experience is much more akin to renting a house/condo that renting a room at a resort. No maid service, no coffee station in the morning, no room service. So, just know that is what it is. To me, that made the "resort" title a bit of a misnomer. Our room felt a little tired - mattress felt saggy, bathroom felt like it could use an update, towels a little thin. Just felt a little dated - but reconcile that with the "old Florida" experience if that is what you are looking for.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and the area, just felt the price was high for the experience and thus the rating. If I knew the area better and could compare rates with the experience of others on the water I might have a different rating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank CandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    50
    21
    35
    29
See reviews for
65
207
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I've become a regular here, and I wouldn't stay any where else in Siesta Key---truly the area's best kept secret. This place is perfect for those looking for a quiet getaway (perfect place for couples), and for those who want their own space and freedom to enjoy the amenities and what the area has to offer. The property is very private and beautifully landscaped with an incredible waterfront view, quaint pool and BBQ area along with docks complete with unlimited canoe/kayak access. Each cottage on the property is unique in style and has its own fenced-in courtyard area, with private hot tub.
If you are looking for a secluded little beach nook with a relaxed, kick-back, home-away-from-home feel, you've found the perfect place!

Oh, and the owners are the sweetest, kindest, most gracious hosts! They help make this place truly special!

Room Tip: Tell the managers how many people you're travelling with and what your priorities are for your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank underseaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I had made reservations for my husbands Birthday and had to cancel unexpectedly. Gail, the owner of Turtle Beach Resort was kind enough to refund my total deposit minus a $50.00 processing fee. This is not their usual policy and her kindness went beyond my expectations as an owner of a resort. Gail treated me like I was her family so sweet, understanding, and kind.
This sincere treatment I received from someone I have never met was greatly appreciated.
Thank you Gail

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went for a midweek getaway and was thrilled. Love the fact dog friendly, my Lucie loved it had gated courtyard she could hang out in. Stayed in jasmine cottage. The manager and the owners were so helpful and kind. Couldn't ask for better hosts. Have canoes, kayaks, heated pool and beautiful views. Will be sure to return. Room was clean and comfortable, highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

That a wonderful find. We were looking for a weekend getaway on the west coast of Florida and were so happy we found turtle beach resort. The location is fantastic. Our room had a view of the bay and was an easy walk to the beach and three restaurants (one very nice one). The resort is so relaxing with the private hot tubs and canoes and kayaks and fishing poles all for the use of the guests. Lots of open space on the bay front to relax. Be warned though there is not daily maid service. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Great variety for different needs ( couples/families). We are a couple and loved the privacy of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky99Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The owners and manager of The Inn are amazing. They went out of thier way to make us feel at home. The pictures do not do this place justice. It is gorgeous, very beautifully layed out with amazing views of the bay and only a short stroll to turtle beach. Close to some fantastic restraunts and to top it all off WE SLEPT GREAT! That bed was to die for. Already planning our next trip!!! Recommended 1000%
Justin, Samantha and Dingo

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sross45601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

By great luck I was able to secure a two bedroom cottage at the Turtle Bay Resort in Siesta Key
for a two night stay during the high season, at the last minute for a family member's wedding.
We flew into Tampa and drove to Sarasota / Siesta Key. We got to the Resort late in the evening.
No problem. They posted a welcome note for me and my family, and kept the light on for us.
The next morning I went out early to get coffee and breakfast for my family. Seeing the sunrise
over the bay was magnificent. We sat on the dock over the water under a beautiful sunrise.
Later that morning we were greeted by Matt, the day manager. There are so many things to do
there including kayaking, canoeing, fishing, bicycling - with all the kit supplied by the Resort at
the perfect price: free. Plus, Matt has great suggestions for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as how to access the best beach on Siesta Key.
Our room was spacious, the living area, kitchen and dining areas were spacious. The bedrooms, though slightly small, were decorated beautifully and the beds were very comfortable, with good pillows (not the cheap foam crap), and the comforter was very soft.
Bedding was ultra clean, fresh and smelled wonderful.

The bathroom was simple, but tiled beautifully. The shower was immaculately clean, as
were all the floors throughout the room. And a generous supply of towels to boot.

My wife and sister-in-law are very picky about hotel rooms, but they both loved it. We stayed
for a weekend, but all agreed we should have made it a week.

I look forward to staying there again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bacibosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
7.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Beach Resort
Address: 9049 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect family vacation getaway with spacious cottages that offer full kitchens, living, and dining areas. Enjoy the beautiful private outdoor space included with each cottage that includes a large hot tub facing the water. Our pet-friendly resort is a two-minute walk to the beach and offers complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, bicycles fishing gear, beach chairs, and umbrellas. If you're looking for a weekend away from the kids, visit our romantic sister property The Inn at Turtle Beach for peaceful accommodations. Plan your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing