We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skeevy!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Reviewed 20 August 2008

The location of this place is great..across the street from beautiful Siesa beach and right on the main drag. The place looks tropical and retro from the outside. The Jacuzzi Suite bathroom was clean...but the room was horrible..especially the BEDS! They were old and stained and the blankets had HAIR on them! Our room was a non smoking room , but smelled of stale smoke. There were guests outside of our room that were up until 3am partying loudly. I do NOT reccomend this place for families..maybe for spring breakers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rysesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2008

My husband were looking for a reasonably priced accommodation for a 1 night stay on Siesta Key. We live in the area and wanted a decent place to stay so we could hook up with close friends who were staying at another resort on the key (the rate at their resort exceeded what I wanted to pay for a place to sleep.)

When we checked in it was clear the place is older but that's OK. There are many quaint older spots - that's part of the charm of Siesta Key! It isn't totally commercialized like some of the other keys.

The gentleman at the desk was very gracious and knowledgeable. I watched him give other guests great information about the area and how to get around easily on the key.

We'd been assigned a room across from the Blase Cafe - it would probably be a great spot for those who planned to spend the night over there but we were tired and just wanted to get a good night's sleep w/o the noise generated by an enthusiastic crowd of martini drinkers. He was very sympathethic and gave us another room - the one farthest from the cafe'.

The bottom line is.... the staff have great customer service skills but the place is old and in desperate need of of a total remodeling. The a/c is antiquainted, noisy and runs constantly. The bathroom, while spacious is outdated - mold/mildew in the shower and in the faucets; mirrors need to be replaced. The drapes seemed fairly new but there was a bare curtain rod on the window facing the street - take it down or put something (hopefully color-coordinated) on it. The floor has old crappy carpet - bring your flip flops - and an interesting slant that makes you wonder if the subfloor is sturdy. There was a stove and refrig - the stove was so rusted I didn't have the guts to look in the fridge. The exterior wrought iron railing is disintegrating - there's been an obvious feeble attempt to cover the rust with paint - but the handrail was almost rusted through in some places.

As 1 reviewer mentioned - this reminds me of a room that would be more than OK for spring breakers but not for an area that attracts families and professionals.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Key_ser_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

After having read the recent unfavorable reviews of the Siesta
Beach Resort and Suites, my partner and I arrived with
some trepidation of what we would find.

We were greeted in a professional and friendly manner
by the receptionist. To our surprise we were given
a complimentary upgrade, which we were informed the
property tries to do for guests when available, to a
suite.

Our suite, 207, was extremely comfortable and afforded
a partial view of the beautiful Siesta Key Beach. It also
gave us a wonderful porch which overlooked the
entertaining street life and art fair going on the weekend
we were in Siesta Key.

The hotel is superbly located, both next to the Siesta Key
Village (with great restaurant and shopping venues) and
and the glorious beach for which the island is so well
loved.

I did not have an opportunity to see any of the non-suite
accommodations, so I cannot comment on other
guests' reviews.

However, I can say we spent a wonderful 4 nights in a
most comfortable suite, in a hotel that could not have
been better located to enjoy the pleasures that
Siesta Key has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiBeachFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

My husband planned a romantic getaway as a suprise... He did hours of research online to find somewhere that had a jaccuzzi tub in the room and was impressed with the photos online.

When we arrived in the room- it was a bit small, no biggie. It was not directly on the beach, no biggie. We were still going to make the best of it.

The toilet was running and after calling maintenance- 2.5 hours later- they were able to resolve the problem. They found a broken crack pipe flushed in the toilet. Yes- true story. We requested another room but they were going to charge us more money for a room with less ammenities. When we asked for a discounted rate after being freaked out that there were drug users in the room the night before and the lost time/ aggrivation- they refused.

We left and found another hotel to save our weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artschoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We thought we were lucky to be able to prebook a room at a ' Resort hotel' on Siesta Key before we set off fro Orlando and as the price quoted at $220 a night we had expected at least the equivalent of a 3 star motel.
A single claustrophobic room behind the reception area , no parking space, a small window looking on the back of a pillar, worn and faded bed linen. In 20 years of visits to the States this was the worst accomodation we have ever experianced.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We stayed here on our first trip to the Sarasota area. I'm 40 something, and haven't stayed in a place this bad since college! What was described to me on the phone as a great "suite" was actually two tiny rooms. The tile floors and bathroom upgrades are a waste, as the bathroom is still tiny (not like shown on the website, or at least ours wasn't). The bedroom barely had room for the bed, nightstands and armoire. The flat-screen TV which was emphasized in my phone conversation with the reservations agent was mounted on the wall NEXT TO THE EXTERIOR DOOR! Hardly a comfy spot for TV watching, and the two old wicker sofas were so uncomfortable we didn't even bother. The room was fairly clean, which is the only positive I could find. The pool and courtyard area could be nice, but the landscaping is old and not attractive. The one bright spot was discovering the Blase Cafe, which is in the building next door. The downside of the location of this great bar, however, is that I suspect many of the people at the motel were kept awake at night by the loud music.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GolfMominKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Our room was clean (we had a studio 2 full bed room), and we liked the location of the room we as we had our own little porch with a table and 4 chairs (well...we shared it with 1 room). The only thing that didn't work right was the ceiling fan. Either that or I couldn't figure it out!

That and we couldn't get adjoining rooms as we were promised.

The room had a sink, frig and microwave in the 'kitchenette' area. Tile floors and bathroom. Cute little stained glass window in the room.

It's not right ON the beach but darn close (close enough to run to your room if you need to use the bathroom if you don't wait til the last second).

Housekeeping was very efficient and smiley (I made sure to leave them a tip!), and the front desk accommodated a few extra requests for us cheerfully.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tk4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
700 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 5311 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, FL 34242-3327
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Beach Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Siesta Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Beach Resort And Suites
Siesta Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Beach Sarasota
Siesta Beach Key
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing