We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Haven”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the Antigua cottage, it was a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom cottage with 2 parking spaces + guest parking outside it. A few steps away from the pool, and a few more steps along to the fishing dock and Heron Lagoon. The fishing was great, and we lost count watching them jump right out of the water!!
We took the canoes out onto the lagoon, they came free with our cottage rental.
Turtle Beach was the closest public beach (about 0.3 miles) and that was great for sunsets and collecting shells. The sister resort of the waterside was called the beachside. That was about 1 mile away where they let you use the pool, park for free and walk down onto the beach.
If you don't mind a little drive to the beach then the waterside will work, but if you must be right on the beach then choose to stay at the beachside. They had more units at the beachside as well, it was bigger, but in my opinion bigger isn't always better.
The waterside was perfect for me. Quaint, clean, cute, friendly, affordable and I will definitely be back. Great value too.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aquaholic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Please enjoy the complimentary use of our canoes and kayaks at our "Waterside Cottages" on Heron Lagoon, directly on our property! Or, if you want to walk to the beach, try our "Beachside Villas!"

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Awful no air conditioning there was a unit on the wall it did not work.
Smelt awful even after I sprayed Chanel perfume everywhere.
Did not sleep the first night heat was awful. Next night slept on sofa didnt smell as bad as the bedroom. Do not be tricked by the photos everything old and in need of a makeover.
After our two nights of hell couldnt wait to get the hell out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lmidge39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

All A/C's ALWAYS work as this is Florida and we know you can't live without it! Guest apparently didn't know how to turn it on and didn't ask us, as we went in right after they left and it turned right on? No sign of any odd smell in there either, not sure if it was something they cooked, but we can assure you we would NEVER rent out a unit with any issues, and if there is ever anything that needs our attention we will attend to it right away as soon as you ask...PROMISE!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

My dad and I were driving along the coast with really no idea where to stay. I found this place on tripadvisor as one of the last possible places with anything open for the evening. The reviews were mixed but most seemed positive so we decided to give it a try. We arrived and it definitely looks rundown from the outside and in many ways is. However the rooms were quaint in the decor but large and had a marvelous breeze. The staff we met was very friendly and the other visitors, who seemed to be snow birds there for a longer stay were welcoming. It felt immediately like the beachy experience we were looking for instead of staying the generic holiday inn off the highway. The pool was dissapointing but I understand that you can also use the pool at the beachside condos which we did not take advantage of.

What my father and I really enjoyed was the fishing dock on the lagoon. It was so peaceful and quiet and we sat there on the lounge chairs and read our books and had a cocktail while watching the fish jump. Very relaxing! The other perks were the close walk to the beach and Turtles restaurant where the food was "ok" but the atmosphere would be perfect for drinks and a simple appetizer.

All in all for $125 on a saturday night it seemed to be more than what it was worth at first glance but looking back a week later we had an amazing time and enjoyed the peace and quiet and overall atmosphere. I'm sure the price also reflects it being the time of spring break and in relation to what other hotels were charging the rate was cheap.

I would recommend it to friends who aren't too high maintenance and like a bit of adventure with a change from the ordinary run of the mill chain hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dylpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

"The rooms were quaint in the decor, but large and had a marvelous breeze!"
"The staff we met were very friendly..."
"It felt immediately like the beachy experience we were looking for..."
"The fishing dock on the lagoon was so peaceful and quiet..."

Just a few of the many great things about our little resort!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The location is wonderful, a short walk to the Gulf beach and also to "town" center. The management was friendly and very responsive to any requests for assistance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

We "thoroughly" enjoy hearing that our guests enjoy their stays too...THANKS!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I chose this location and lodging from among the online offerings. I was not very well informed, but I must say that I was more than lucky with this facility. I wanted to be in Siesta Key and with the beach close by. As it turned out, I was in a comfortable one bedroom unit, only a short walk from a beautiful beach and where the mangagement (a Brit and his wife) were very friendly and accomodating. Everything is laid back,, relaxed, and most important, private. Within short walking distance to small 7/11 and other convenient stores, post office, neighborhood bars, etc. Facility is being renovated and updated regularly with good taste. The owner, who does the work himself, very obviously enjoys his work. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tilton115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

"Everything is laid back, relaxed, and most important, private. Within short walking distance to small 7/11 and other convenient stores, post office, neighborhood bars, etc..."

Perfect description of our accomodations/location...well done!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Banana Bay Club is exactly what I envision when I think of a beach trip. I want to be close to water (or right on it, in the case of their lagoon location), I want to be able to walk right into the room with my sandy feet, and kick back and relax. If you're so inclined, you can even meet other folks that are staying there.

Banana Bay is not about the lap of luxury, but it is about a comfortable stay at a beach cottage. You're within walking distance to the shops, bait store, bank, whatever you might need and yet when night hits, it is the quietest most peaceful place. You can talk a very short walk to the beach and you'll be in love.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iammontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

"...it is about a comfortable stay at a beach cottage. You're within walking distance to the shops, bait store, bank, whatever you might need and yet when night hits, it is the quietest most peaceful place. You can take a very short walk to the beach and you'll be in love."

We can't argue with this guest, he nailed it right on the head, come try us out and see for yourself!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Our extended family spent Christmas week here:We had Bay Breeze; Key Lime; and Captiva. BB has 3 bedrooms; large living area; carpeted throughout with lovely view: Very well supplied and comfortable: KL was equally well fitted out and comfortable: Captiva was in the row of 4; and according to our son more spartan: Wifi worked well in BB and KL: All units have coax internet connections too:
Definitely BB and KL and the unit under the office facing the lagoon are the best: We would certainly come back another time,
We rented bikes; cribs booster seats and toys fro, the agency suggested by BBC: Very pleased: The owners and Jimmy were very helpful:

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Once again our waterfront 3BR/2BA "Bay Breeze House" and adjacent 2BR/2BA "Key Lime Cottage" get rave reviews for a large family as well as our quaint 1BR Cottages and the best of the best: "Sunset Cottage" directly on the edge of the lagoon with full water views! Make your next family reunion, birthday celebration, bridal or weddding shower a special one by spending it with us in paradise!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,554 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range: £106 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing