We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and dog friendly”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in Villa #7. It is a nice studio villa that was recently renovated. The building itself is better than most beach locations we have stayed with dogs. It is about 1/2 lock from the beach. The Siesta Keys beach is not dog friendly but did find a water spot on bird key that was dog friendly. We no complaints about the property and enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed the beach (especially the powdery sand and crystal clear water).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank tattskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Another satisfied pet owner! We love pets and welcome them in select units! Please check us out if you are wanting to bring along your 4 legged friends, as we understand your pet is a family member and they deserve vacations too!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

we have stayed here 3 or 4 times and it is excellent, beautiful surrondings with great room and comfy beds. jimmy and david are extremly helpful with anything you might need. we brought friends from australia and they fell in love with it and want to come back. you will have everything you need in each for cooking and they have beach chairs for the beach as well. it is only a half a block from the beach. if you want a vaction in florida this is the place.

Room Tip: beach villa upstairs is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vicskangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

It's true, if you are looking for a great place by the beach, than look no further than Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key. We're happy to hear that our fully-furnished studio "Villa # 7" has become another guest's favorite as it is one of our more popular units because of the privacy, full kitchen, large 4-post king bed and nice front deck...ask for Villa 7, if not try the new "Villa # 5!"

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Banana Bay Club is the perfect getaway! My family and I Live in Sarasota, but we felt like we were in the islands.The beach is leisurely stroll away, without having to fight for a parking place. The resort has a home away from home feel to it, instead of the antiseptic feel of a hotel. The manager Jimmy was extremely helpful, and made our stay one we will treasure. Thank you for the memories Banana Bay Club. Tim Wong and family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Outbacker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

We gladly welcome local residents to escape it all and try us out for a weekend and then tell your friends and family and bring them all back for a weekend, a week, 2 weeks even a month!
We have 7 Cottages on Heron Lagoon and 13 Villas near Crescent Beach, there's something for everyone...literally!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Excellent location for a relaxing beach weekend. The rooms are quaint, cozy and comfortable. We stayed at the units on the lagoon and had a great view of the water and rolling tarpon. The patio was great for grilling out, relaxing outside in the evenings and fishing off the dock. Fully equipped kitchens and the outside bbq grilled help to save on food costs. Great selection of nearby restaurants if you opt to go out for dinner. The lagoon was perfect for a cruise in the free kayaks. The pool was a bit small, but was never overcrowded. The free wireless and friendly staff was a bonus. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Never a complaint from our "Sunset Cottage" as it has everything you need and it is a great hidden gem amongst all the units on Heron Lagoon! It's perfect for a couple's getaway, but there is also a queen sleeper sofa in there in addition to the king bed, so you can bring along the kiddies as well!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed in the Sunset suite again and had a great time. I only stayed two nights this time. I live in Tampa so it's just the right drive to get away. This place is always clean and Quiet. We found a place called Turtle beach just south of the property. No parking and hardly no people. We took the kayaks out again on this trip and grilled every night. We cant wait to come back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank knoll72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

So far so good for the "Sunset Cottage!" You can't beat the location, the rates or the service!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My son and I just returned home from a four night stay at the Beachside Villas and thoroughly enjoyed our time. We found our room to be clean, well maintained and all the necessary linens and kitchenware clean. The only downside to our entire stay, which was entirely outside the resort's responsibility, was that the beach chairs for rent, are only for rent if you stay at a resort on SaraSea Circle. Unfortunately, that greedy group takes up the majority of beach space as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SunyinFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

"Clean & well-maintained!" Couldn't have said it any better!

Thanks!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the Antigua cottage, it was a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom cottage with 2 parking spaces + guest parking outside it. A few steps away from the pool, and a few more steps along to the fishing dock and Heron Lagoon. The fishing was great, and we lost count watching them jump right out of the water!!
We took the canoes out onto the lagoon, they came free with our cottage rental.
Turtle Beach was the closest public beach (about 0.3 miles) and that was great for sunsets and collecting shells. The sister resort of the waterside was called the beachside. That was about 1 mile away where they let you use the pool, park for free and walk down onto the beach.
If you don't mind a little drive to the beach then the waterside will work, but if you must be right on the beach then choose to stay at the beachside. They had more units at the beachside as well, it was bigger, but in my opinion bigger isn't always better.
The waterside was perfect for me. Quaint, clean, cute, friendly, affordable and I will definitely be back. Great value too.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aquaholic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Please enjoy the complimentary use of our canoes and kayaks at our "Waterside Cottages" on Heron Lagoon, directly on our property! Or, if you want to walk to the beach, try our "Beachside Villas!"

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,551 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range: £106 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing