We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all round satisfaction”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all round satisfaction”
Reviewed 27 March 2009

we stayed in the tropical suite which was very spacious and overlooked the pool. staff were very helpful and friendly. could use a coat of paint but that did not deter from our enjoyment of our stay

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridaatchristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Try Banana Bay Club Beachside Villas or Waterside Cottages for a perfect vacation on Siesta Key! Thank you, The Owners :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    23
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I stayed for one Friday night, and used the room on the lagoon to propose to my fiance. Needless to say, she said "yes" and we had an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and the atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet. Great location, great room and a great time!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
You have no choice here at Banana Bay Club Siesta Key but to relax and enjoy! Thank you, The Owners :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol U.K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We were a party of 4 and we stayed at the Banana Bay club - waterside for a week in the Bay Breeze house.
It was the most relaxing week spent by the poolside we've had in a really long time. Really great. From the moment we arrived the staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel really welcome.
The accomodation was really spacious and clean and right on the Heron Lagoon as well as just a stones throw from Siesta Key where we enjoyed a few too many of the bars [ loved the Daquiri Deck!]. As well as going out we also had some lazy nights on our almost private deck drinking sundowners, I also caught my first ever fish just as the sun was setting, apparently the fish come out to feed then!
Although we didn't go kayaking the kayaks were made available to us as well as all the rest of the facilities at the sister resort - Banana Bay 'Beachside' we were able to park the car there and walk to the beach, my friend told me it has been voted one of the best beaches in the world.
I would definately go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday destination with a relaxed beachy feel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JTazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Our secluded, waterfront 3BR/2BA Bay Breeze House is our largest Cottage on Heron Lagoon and sleeps up to 8! Come see for yourself and we know you'll love it! Thank you, The Owners :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLAtourist1
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Our vacation on Siesta Key was outstanding thanks to this bungalow style property. Five of us stayed in the largest unit on the property, which featured three bedrooms. One with a comfy king size mattress, another with two double beds, and the third featured a nice pullout couch. The unit was equipped with a full size fridge and a very nice size kitchen stocked with everything you have at home. The large family room opened up to a deck with a view of the lagoon and fishing dock. We spent many nights sitting out back in this peaceful atmosphere using the barbeque grills provided. This property featured many activities including a swimming pool and canoes to use on the tranquil, mangrove lined lagoon. The location is also just short ride to famous Siesta Key beach and the shopping located on the island. I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone visiting Sarasota.

  • Liked — Clean accomodation and quiet atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLAtourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The Sunset Suite (unit 6) was great. We had a wonderful stay in a private and very quiet room right on the lagoon. Our room was clean, comfortable, and just what we wanted for our vacation. If you are looking for an affordable vacation to Siesta Key with a comfortable place to stay that won't break the bank then look no further.

Thanks for the great week Banana Bay Club!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — It was so quiet and comforatble, and made us feel so relaxed.
  • Disliked — It was a little off the main strip, but it was an easy drive to 1 of 3 beaches on the key.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwaller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Banana Bay Club Siesta Key offers 2 great, unique and separate locations! Thank you, The Owners :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

The Sunset Room was fabulous! We have an awesome view of the water. It was very quiet, as we were separate from the other guests. The kitchen was large and very well stocked. We loved the kayaks and enjoyed walks down to the beach and restaurants. The walks were great for us because we like to exercise. The restaurants are about 1 mile away. It was perfect to walk off a nice dinner at Clayton's. The manager was very helpful and checked in on us several times. He went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and approachable also. We loved it so much we are going back again for Thanksgiving. This time we will stay at the Beachside Apts. We toured them last time and are sure we'll enjoy that stay also.

  • Liked — private beach; screened in porch
  • Disliked — distance to restaurants
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Choose from studios, 1BR's, 2BR's, 3BR's or even a 4BR! Thank you, The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resort on Siesta Key :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

This was, by far, the best mini vacation I've had. I stayed at the Beachside resort in the Tropical. Though its not directly on the beach, its just a short walk. The resort is adorable, clean, fully stocked with everything you might need. The Tropical has a small balcony perfect for sitting and watching the world go by. The property is planted out with tropical foliage that really gives it an "escape" feel. Both the owner (?), Jimmy, and on-site manager, David, were great. I would highly recommend Banana Bay and look forward to my next visit!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No one there at check in
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treegirl8939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Any weekend spent here with us at Banana Bay Club Resorts is a Great Weekend! Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,394 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Property: Flip Flop Cottages
Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing