We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Holiday!”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fabulous Holiday!”
Reviewed 26 October 2004

The Banana Bay Club in Sarasota is a fabulous relaxing place to stay if holidaying in Sarasota. It is a small resort with studio appartments, one and two bedroomed appartments and a house that sleeps 6. It is quiet and the surroundings are peaceful and there is a lagoon at the end of the resort. The owners cannot do enough for you and are enthusiastic and hardworking and do everything they can to please guests. We were extremely pleased with the standard of accommodation and ameanities. The prices were very reasonable too. My husband and I are DEFINITELY going back - Soon!!

Thank you Banana Bay!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Welcome all to Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    23
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 October 2004

The BEST vacation in 20 years!! 7 "laid-back" cottages nestled on a beautiful, peaceful lagoon loaded with fish and gorgeous birds!

The owners-Dave & Gina and Mgr-Debbie, treated us like treasured friends.

We fished from the dock just outside our back door, watched beautiful sunsets every night, and just totally enjoyed every minute. The property was so peaceful/beautiful we hardly left it for the entire 2 weeks!

We stumbled upon this place surfing the web and loved it so much we booked next year's vacation before we left!! Check out BananaBayClub.com. The pictures there are accurate - but the property is even more gorgeous when you get there and the proprietors are the warmest folks we've ever met!!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
You don't need a map to find this treasure, just go to Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2004

Banana Bay has it all. Fantastic setting, romantic sunset, friendly staff, where nothing was to much to ask. The place is family friendly, there were 12 of us in total there for a birthday bash. We couldnt have asked for anything more, a trip we wont forget :)

Helpful?
4 Thank laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you to all of our wonderful guests! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2004

It was August 2004 and I was hitting 30 with the help of my wife Laura, son Thomas, mum, dad, brother, father-in-law, Auntie - amongst others!! After spending an exhausting week in Orlando where better to stay than the quiet and tranquil Banana Bay Club at Siesta Key in Sarasota. Beautifully situated on a lagoon and only a matter of minutes away from the beach itself, this place had everything to help us relax - and that's just what we did!!

The place comprises of around 6 or 7 chalets, a small pool and is decked out to a large lagoon to the rear, giving a nice personal feel to the place. The chalets are lovely and spacious and had everything we needed as there were 10 of us to please!

We could spend time around the enclosed pool area (safe if you have small children) or if you were my father-in-law you can sit and basque by the lagoon for hours upon end. Sarasota or Siesta Key village are less than 10 minutes drive away and have everything you need as far as eating, drinking are concerned and let's face it that's all you want to do when you on your holidays isn't it?
The owners are very friendly and compliment the laid back feel of the place.

If you can't relax and enjoy Banana Bay then you can't relax anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you to all of our wonderful guests! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 September 2004

I found the rooms extremely comfortable and were equipped with everything you could need.

The staff were very helpful, courteous and friendly.

My stay there was very relaxing, which is just what I needed.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Always glad to make great vacations happen! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2004

Part of the family came down for a graduation. We rented the two units on the bay. It was wonderful. It was like we had the place to ourselves, with large decks, pool and boats. Bring you own fishing pole. Very private. The largest unit is huge and could probably sleep 8. Great for a family. Not new, but very clean. If you don't want to be right on the beach, this is the place to stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Banana Bay Club Siesta Key Resorts on the quiet south end of beautiful Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 January 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Banana Bay Club and we are semi retired. We visit the gulf coast every year for upto a month and we are quite active so the banana bay club was great for us. We usually stay in a few different places every few nights and travel around. By chance we drove by the banana bay club and we called in and were fortunate they had a cancellation and were able to accommodate us. Our original plan was to stay for 3 nights but six nights later we were still there. We would have stayed longer but unfortunately the room was already booked out. We really enjoyed our stay and found the new British innkeepers very pleasant and helpful. We have already booked for another week next year. The owners have just completed a total update on all new beds, furniture, decorations and were havin high speed internet input in each apartment. I believe it will be free to their guests. Already dreaming of those beautiful sunsets for next year.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
When visiting Siesta Key, drop by to check us out! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Property: Flip Flop Cottages
Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing