We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round!!!”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We will be Back!
Fabulous location, service and accommodation.

Mr and Mrs Wrankmore

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammyashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

By the beach or on Heron Lagoon, your choice...either way it's paradise! Thank you, The Owners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

we stayed in the tropical suite which was very spacious and overlooked the pool. staff were very helpful and friendly. could use a coat of paint but that did not deter from our enjoyment of our stay

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floridaatchristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Try Banana Bay Club Beachside Villas or Waterside Cottages for a perfect vacation on Siesta Key! Thank you, The Owners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I stayed for one Friday night, and used the room on the lagoon to propose to my fiance. Needless to say, she said "yes" and we had an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and the atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet. Great location, great room and a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

You have no choice here at Banana Bay Club Siesta Key but to relax and enjoy! Thank you, The Owners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We were a party of 4 and we stayed at the Banana Bay club - waterside for a week in the Bay Breeze house.
It was the most relaxing week spent by the poolside we've had in a really long time. Really great. From the moment we arrived the staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel really welcome.
The accomodation was really spacious and clean and right on the Heron Lagoon as well as just a stones throw from Siesta Key where we enjoyed a few too many of the bars [ loved the Daquiri Deck!]. As well as going out we also had some lazy nights on our almost private deck drinking sundowners, I also caught my first ever fish just as the sun was setting, apparently the fish come out to feed then!
Although we didn't go kayaking the kayaks were made available to us as well as all the rest of the facilities at the sister resort - Banana Bay 'Beachside' we were able to park the car there and walk to the beach, my friend told me it has been voted one of the best beaches in the world.
I would definately go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday destination with a relaxed beachy feel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JTazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Our secluded, waterfront 3BR/2BA Bay Breeze House is our largest Cottage on Heron Lagoon and sleeps up to 8! Come see for yourself and we know you'll love it! Thank you, The Owners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Our vacation on Siesta Key was outstanding thanks to this bungalow style property. Five of us stayed in the largest unit on the property, which featured three bedrooms. One with a comfy king size mattress, another with two double beds, and the third featured a nice pullout couch. The unit was equipped with a full size fridge and a very nice size kitchen stocked with everything you have at home. The large family room opened up to a deck with a view of the lagoon and fishing dock. We spent many nights sitting out back in this peaceful atmosphere using the barbeque grills provided. This property featured many activities including a swimming pool and canoes to use on the tranquil, mangrove lined lagoon. The location is also just short ride to famous Siesta Key beach and the shopping located on the island. I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone visiting Sarasota.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLAtourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The Sunset Suite (unit 6) was great. We had a wonderful stay in a private and very quiet room right on the lagoon. Our room was clean, comfortable, and just what we wanted for our vacation. If you are looking for an affordable vacation to Siesta Key with a comfortable place to stay that won't break the bank then look no further.

Thanks for the great week Banana Bay Club!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwaller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Banana Bay Club Siesta Key offers 2 great, unique and separate locations! Thank you, The Owners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

The Sunset Room was fabulous! We have an awesome view of the water. It was very quiet, as we were separate from the other guests. The kitchen was large and very well stocked. We loved the kayaks and enjoyed walks down to the beach and restaurants. The walks were great for us because we like to exercise. The restaurants are about 1 mile away. It was perfect to walk off a nice dinner at Clayton's. The manager was very helpful and checked in on us several times. He went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and approachable also. We loved it so much we are going back again for Thanksgiving. This time we will stay at the Beachside Apts. We toured them last time and are sure we'll enjoy that stay also.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Choose from studios, 1BR's, 2BR's, 3BR's or even a 4BR! Thank you, The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resort on Siesta Key :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,587 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
714 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range: £114 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing