We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous find on Siesta Key!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous find on Siesta Key!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I stayed at the Beachside Resort of the Banana Bay Club after I found their website online. We were checked in by David, who was happy answering all our questions about the local area. He gave us maps and even a coupon for a local breakfast place called Clayton's Siesta Grille.
We stayed in Villa 4, which was a 1 bedroom villa with a King bed in the bedroom, a small closet, bathroom with a shower, full kitchen with fridge freezer, range, sink etc. And a living room with a sleeper sofa, big TV, books etc and cute tropical furnishings.
There was a deck to sit out on that overlooked the pool and grill area. It was very private, and quiet.
The location really was perfect for us, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and a 5 minute walk to the village. who doesn't want to get out and walk off their ice cream vacation calories?!
free parking on the front and free wifi in the Villa.
it was a great beach vacation spot, very good value for money, and not once did we feel like we were being charged for everything we did!!!
definitely a place to go, relax, swim & enjoy some sunshine and the best Florida beaches.
I would say this feels more like a home away from home rather than a 'hotel'. If you want daily maid service, and staff all over you then this isn't the place for you, but if you just want to do your own thing then I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FromMOtoFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
"...it was a great beach vacation spot, very good value for money, and not once did we feel like we were being charged for everything we did!!!
definitely a place to go, relax, swim & enjoy some sunshine and the best Florida beaches."

Great description of what we offer!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    23
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned home after 3 nights at Banana Bay Beachside.
Booked the Tropical Villa, just as described on the website. I thought it was nice and clean, had all the features I expected. All features are fully explained on their website so things shouldn't be a suprise to anyone. We consider ourselves pretty self-sufficient, low maintenance travelers, so the Banana Bay is just right for us. We enjoyed the pool area although it could be cleaned up a little. Only because of a few pieces of battered, rusty furniture and maybe a few more gas and charcoal grills than might be needed!
The short walk to the beach is just that, 2 min. to the beach access and another 2 or 3 min. down the path to Crescent beach. In the guest laundry area by the pool there are some beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use, GREAT IDEA by the owners!
We were able to take advantage of a special low season rate and found it to be an excellent value and a great location. Next time we plan on vacationing in the area we will check the Banana Bay Club first! Not the Ritz, but not $300 a night either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaicanicemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We have updated this unit and replaced all pool furniture and grills!

Come see for yourself and ENJOY!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed here July 4th weekend with my family which includes two young daughters. It was the last place in Siesta Key with vacacny which allowed dogs. Although seemingly overpriced, I booked it anyway.
The good news is they allow you to bring dogs. All of the dogs were well behaved, on leashes and their owners cleaned up after them. Which is more than I can say for whoever runs the hotel.
Our room smelled like the basement of a fraternity house and had similar decor, including dirty brown broken couches, dusty lamps, and sticky tables.. The bathroom was small, moldy and not clean.
The place was run down, the pool area had broken down furniture and sevearl rusted barbeque grills strewn about.
I'm not sure what the deal was, but this was by far the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Siesta Key itself is a great place to visit - just don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fixitfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Although our poolside loungers weren't brand new at the time (we admit that, and have gotten all new ones since then) and 1 grill was being repaired as someone tipped it over that weekend (coincidence?) none of the comments about the unit are true at all, as these guests were in "Villa # 4" which you can view for yourself at our website. We charge high-season rates for holidays and these guests were upset that we couldn't do a deal for them, but they still went ahead and booked with us, then simply complained about everything the whole time. We gladly welcome last minute bookings, but you are also welcome to book through our website ahead of time to make sure you get exactly what you want.

Thank you,

The Owners at Banana Bay Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Thank you for allowing us to stay with you. We stayed in the Sunset Suite, the view was amazing, great fishing, very comfortable, and CLEAN. I read the bad reviews before arriving and was a bit concerned, but after arriving I was so pleased we chose your location. It was quiet, and all of the other vacationer's there were so pleasant to talk with. It is not a full service hotel, nor does it claim to be one. That is why we liked it. There was a phone number if you should have any problems, but we did not need it. Plus it is very pet friendly, which is hard to find. THANKS AGAIN.

Susan Barrett/Berkley MI

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogs151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
"Thank you for allowing us to stay with you. We stayed in the Sunset Suite, the view was amazing, great fishing, very comfortable, and CLEAN. I read the bad reviews before arriving and was a bit concerned, but after arriving I was so pleased we chose your location. It was quiet, and all of the other vacationer's there were so pleasant to talk with. It is not a full service hotel, nor does it claim to be one. That is why we liked it. There was a phone number if you should have any problems, but we did not need it. Plus it is very pet friendly, which is hard to find. THANKS AGAIN!"

This whole review was worth repeating!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Waterside - VERY CLEAN and freshly painted but OLD. No telephones in apartment. No sprinkler system and no owners or management on property after 3:00 p.m. No much sound proofing between adjoining doors. Non-refundable if cancelled. Slept on sofa bed which was not very comfortable even for a sofa bed. Again, I must say it was very clean

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Current owners have taken over since this and have made many improvements and upgrades as well as a new office manager shortly after this as well! We welcome all to view our most recent reviews which more fairly represent us and give the newer, better Banana Bay Club a try! Thank you! The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key! Please be sure to also check-out the listing on Trip Advisor for our most recent reviews for our other location: Banana Bay Club Beachside Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We just got back from Siesta Key and I wanted to write a review regarding the Banana Bay Club. We are a family of 7 (5 teenagers) and we stayed on the water side in the Bay Breeze House. I would say that for the price we really enjoyed our stay. The house was very large and clean and well equipped with towels, and kitchen supplies. We liked the deck outside of the house and the Lagoon was beautiful. We enjoyed the free kayaks and row boats. Although the house could use some sprucing, such as fresh paint and some rusting and wood rot....we really didn't care. I was just pleased to see that there was clean linen on the beds, the kitchen was very clean, the floors were clean and the furniture was clean. There is a musty smell to the place so bring some "Fabreze". We had plenty of hot water for showers. The price just can't be beat for this house. I did not have to deal with a cleaning deposit as when you rent a house or supplying linens and towels and TP. I will admit I was concerned when I saw that one review calling the place a "dump". Maybe our expectations weren't as high....but it was really nice and relaxing...a great place to just hang out and chill....and again the house was very clean.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanwith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
For GREAT vacation time, try Banana Bay Club's Resorts on Siesta Key! Thank you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Banana Bay Club "Beachside" for our anniversary weekend. It was a last minute trip and the owners, Gina and David, were very accomodating. They even gave us some recommendations for our anniversary dinner! The room was great! We loved the fact that it had a kitchen and a patio to sit and relax outside. It was a little cool for swimming but the pool looked very nice. We also loved being so close to the beach...it was literally just a 2-3minute walk. We've stayed in the Village before but actually preferred being down by the Point-of-Rocks. It felt more like a beach get-away. You could hear the waves crashing from our unit. There were restaurants and shops withing walking distance and it was just a short drive to the Village. We would definitely recommend the Banana Bay Club to our friends and family and are looking forward to our next visit there.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfiejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Our specialty is relaxed, simple, enjoyable accomodations! Thank you, The Owners :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Property: Flip Flop Cottages
Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd., Siesta Key, FL 34242 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing